Switch Theme:

Characters not so vulnerable in transports afterall  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





After hearing that characters in transports could simply die on a roll of 1 if the vehicle explodes, I was a little concerned. However, the rules don't really read that way. You roll a D6 for each model of all models embarked, not by unit, and any 1's you choose a model to be destroyed. So, you can always pick from an embarked unit and preserve a character embarked (unless you roll all ones!). That would suck otherwise....what an unheroic death!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/04 17:03:47


 
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




That's a 2nd ed death.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Alaska

I'm happy they changed it so we can choose who dies. It did seem like an unheroic death.

On the other hand, I started imagining something along the lines of:
Battlewagon gets blown up in deployment zone.
Roll a one for Ghaz
Ghaz isn't killed, but after he climbs out of the wreckage he take a moment to stare at the enemy so far away and all the other Battlewagons leaving him the dust.
"Zog this, I'm goin' home!" He dejectedly stomps off the battlefield pausing every once in a while to let some grots have it with his twin big shootas.

YELL REAL LOUD AN' CARRY A BIG CHOPPA! 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Tucson, AZ

That's IF they're still inside when it's reduced to 0 wounds, and IF you roll a 6 on your explodes roll. They don't explode all that frequently. And even when they do, you're correct; you add a die to the pool for each embarked model, and for each 1 rolled in the pool, you have to remove a model as a casualty. So the die aren't assigned to the individual models before the rolls are made. You shouldn't lose a character from a vehicle explosion unless you roll ALL 1s ...then everything dies. Unless a character is aboard a transport all by itself when it happens to explode. But again, super rare even then.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/05 00:26:34


- Imperial Fists - 7290
- Deathskulls - 6150

Take a look at my fully painted armies and terrain! - http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/548464.page 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

 wtwlf123 wrote:
That's IF they're still inside when it's reduced to 0 wounds, and IF you roll a 6 on your explodes roll. They don't explode all that frequently. And even when they do, you're correct; you add a die to the pool for each embarked model, and for each 1 rolled in the pool, you have to remove a model as a casualty. So the die aren't assigned to the individual models before the rolls are made. You shouldn't lose a character from a vehicle explosion unless you roll ALL 1s ...then everything dies. Unless a character is aboard a transport all by itself when it happens to explode. But again, super rare even then.


Nope, it's not only when the transport explodes. It's when the transport loses its final wound, regardless of whether it explodes or not.
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





I also think it does specify each unit. Which makes any ICs inside their own unit.
   
Made in au
Speed Drybrushing





Newcastle NSW

Can transports carry multiple units now?

Not a GW apologist  
   
Made in us
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





 Nightlord1987 wrote:
I also think it does specify each unit. Which makes any ICs inside their own unit.


it doesn't
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Rolsheen wrote:
Can transports carry multiple units now?

Yes, they can. Partly because Independent Characters are a thing of the past. No Captains being part of the Sternguard Squad Drop Podding on your units. It will be a Sternguard Squad AND a Captain Drop Podding on your units.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: