Switch Theme:

Targetting Big Gunz  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





The ork big gunz have a rule that says units of grot gunners cannot be targeted by shooting attacks unless they are the closest enemy in range. The big gunz sheet also says grot gunners and their big gunz are treated as 1 unit. Is the unit "big gunz" or "grot gunners"? ie, do the big gunz benefit from the grot gunner rules or do the grot gunners have a rule that doesn't work?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

StrikerTommy wrote:
The ork big gunz have a rule that says units of grot gunners cannot be targeted by shooting attacks unless they are the closest enemy in range. The big gunz sheet also says grot gunners and their big gunz are treated as 1 unit. Is the unit "big gunz" or "grot gunners"? ie, do the big gunz benefit from the grot gunner rules or do the grot gunners have a rule that doesn't work?


It took me a while to wrap my head around it to, but its one of those cases where, they are one unit when you pick them in your army list, but once you put them down on the table, the gunners and gun are totally separate units from then on out.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Arashen, Segmentum Pacificus

 yakface wrote:
StrikerTommy wrote:
The ork big gunz have a rule that says units of grot gunners cannot be targeted by shooting attacks unless they are the closest enemy in range. The big gunz sheet also says grot gunners and their big gunz are treated as 1 unit. Is the unit "big gunz" or "grot gunners"? ie, do the big gunz benefit from the grot gunner rules or do the grot gunners have a rule that doesn't work?


It took me a while to wrap my head around it to, but its one of those cases where, they are one unit when you pick them in your army list, but once you put them down on the table, the gunners and gun are totally separate units from then on out.



This. This makes the most sense. Treat them as separate units on the table although they operate in tandem.

I saw with eyes then young, and this is my testament.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





I think i get it now. so a unit of 5 big gunz with 10 gunners would become 10 units? the 5 gunz and 5 sets of 2 gunners?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

StrikerTommy wrote:
I think i get it now. so a unit of 5 big gunz with 10 gunners would become 10 units? the 5 gunz and 5 sets of 2 gunners?


Yep, its terribly written in the rules, because it says to treat them as a 'single' unit, which is horribly confusing.

I think this happened because they took the general version of the rule, probably from something like the Deff Dread datasheet (where saying 'each Dread operates as single unit' makes perfect sense) and tried to adapt it.

They really, really should have re-worded it to say: 'each Big Gun and each 2-model group of Grot Gunners acts as a separate unit.'

But based on the 'Artillery' rule next to it (which refers to a 'Grot Gunner unit'), I think we can safely assume they were trying to say that each gun and crew unit operate as its own individual unit.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: