Switch Theme:

Transports surrounded by infantry  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




If my opponent surrounds my Rhino with Howling Banshees, is there really nothing I can do? Can't get the guys out, can't drive my giant tank over a handful of girls, when the rhino dies, everyone inside dies too?
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




You could potentially disembark through the Banshees. If they're all in btb then you should be able to put your models down so that they're 1" away from the Banshees but still within 3" of the transport.

But otherwise, yeah.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

You cant move through enemy models no
If they blow it up and you cant get 3" out and not be within 1" of them yes they (any models that can't) die.

There is nothing (as far as i can tell) that says you can't move within 1" of a model when you disembark, you could argue disembarking is not a normal move. Disembark simply says put the models within 3" and not within 1" of an enemy.

someone might have a counter argument to this but something like

M - 2.9" from rhino
1.9" gap
B - 1" base (old base)
R

Its does say the count as moving for rules purposes but up to that point you are just 'setting them up' so in theory you could argue they didnt move within 1" of the enemy when you disembark.

I'v not seen this lap around technique actually happen yet, i can't see how you'd easily do it with one unit unless they approached the rhino in some massive C formation. two or three units sure... but then he's dedicated all that stuff to a rhino with some duders in

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/06/20 17:40:58


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Seems reasonably easy to surround? Only takes like 10 models to surround while maintaining coherency, and Banshees get +3" to their charge, so they should have plenty of distance.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Hormagaunts get a 6" pile-in and a 6" consolidate as well, so the end result is akin to a Venus flytrap snapping shut.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

well it is but you have to move closer than where you were

so its more like dropping sand from above... its all situational though and finite with model positioning

who said 8th wasn't nuanced!

 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Latro_ wrote:
well it is but you have to move closer than where you were

so its more like dropping sand from above... its all situational though and finite with model positioning

who said 8th wasn't nuanced!


I don't believe you have to move directly towards the closest enemy model. You just need to end the move closer to the closest enemy model. If you start 2" away, you could end 1" away on the other side of the tank. You're closer. That works. With enough movement, you can easily wrap around a tank.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Kriswall wrote:
 Latro_ wrote:
well it is but you have to move closer than where you were

so its more like dropping sand from above... its all situational though and finite with model positioning

who said 8th wasn't nuanced!


I don't believe you have to move directly towards the closest enemy model. You just need to end the move closer to the closest enemy model. If you start 2" away, you could end 1" away on the other side of the tank. You're closer. That works. With enough movement, you can easily wrap around a tank.


I believe this is correct. As long as you end closer, you can go anywhere around it.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yeah, if the transport is surrounded by like a single layer of enemy models on smaller bases (such as the standard GW base, which is just a hair under 1" in diameter), then RAW you're technically able to disembark your models and place them so that they're more than 1" way from the enemy but still within 3" of the transport.

I think its stupid, but I guess you could imagine that the guys somehow climb out the top of the vehicle and jump over the surrounding enemies?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/20 21:37:46


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in pl
Fresh-Faced New User




When rhino or other transport is destroyed can't you put a few models in it's place?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

kiciek wrote:
When rhino or other transport is destroyed can't you put a few models in it's place?


Nope, you have to disembark the unit before removing the transport model. So if you're surrounded when the transport is destroyed, the only way any guys are surviving are if you're okay with the 'teleporting' through enemy models RAW deal (assuming there is enough room to place your models within 3" of your transport and 1" away from enemy models).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




yakface wrote:
Yeah, if the transport is surrounded by like a single layer of enemy models on smaller bases (such as the standard GW base, which is just a hair under 1" in diameter), then RAW you're technically able to disembark your models and place them so that they're more than 1" way from the enemy but still within 3" of the transport.


Assuming the enemy models are indeed in base contact. Now that we don't need to be in base contact anymore, I usually keep my models ~1/2" away, just to avoid hitting other models with all the bits that stick out (very common problem with harlequins). Now I have a tactical reason to do it


kiciek wrote:
When rhino or other transport is destroyed can't you put a few models in it's place?

If it doesn't explode, you're supposed to disembark the passengers before removing the transport. So no, you can't place them where the transport used to be.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/21 09:20:56


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

fresus wrote:
If it doesn't explode, you're supposed to disembark the passengers before removing the transport. So no, you can't place them where the transport used to be.

Even when a vehicle explodes you still disembark models before removing the transport.

1) You resolve the explosion.
2) Disembark passengers.
3) Roll to see if any passengers died.
4) remove the transport.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




 yakface wrote:
fresus wrote:
If it doesn't explode, you're supposed to disembark the passengers before removing the transport. So no, you can't place them where the transport used to be.

Even when a vehicle explodes you still disembark models before removing the transport.

1) You resolve the explosion.
2) Disembark passengers.
3) Roll to see if any passengers died.
4) remove the transport.


Oh you're right. Since the explosion is resolved before disembarking, I wrongly assumed the transport was also removed before disembarking.
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

If this happens can the passengers disembark out of coherency?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Nithaniel wrote:
If this happens can the passengers disembark out of coherency?


Disembarking is not specifically described as being movement, just that models that have disembarked count as having moved. So take that as you will.

Personally I'd feel dirty about teleport disembarking through enemy models. I'd feel kind of okay about disembarking out of coherency, but I'd be compelled to immediately move the unit back into coherency if at all possible (but that's just me).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

Yeah it makes sense. So out of coherency seems to be technically aloowed.

When it says 'within 3" ' does that mean all of the base is within 3" or any part of the model within 3".

In 7th I think the rules clarified that the whole base had to be within the distance but I can't find anything in the 8th rules that states it either way.
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




I believe it just says that every model has to be within 3". Usually this construction just means that any part of the base has to be within the specified distance -- this is just like a range measurement. The rules will use something like "wholly within" or "entirely within" if they want all of the base to be inside the distance.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: