Switch Theme:

Unit Coherency question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Norn Queen






As shown in the diagram, is this RAW legal?
https://i.imgur.com/g3Udtp9.jpg

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/22 11:57:25


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, that's legal. I can see it potentially causing problems for new players as it seems as though it's designed to allow for fire teams to be split off from the main unit whereas gamers with experience of previous editions will assume it should still work how it always has.

I've not seen anyone actually do this yet and I believe it's an unintended loophole, but I think GW need to FAQ it to make the intent clearer.
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




It's 7th edition Aegis line all over again…
Raw it's legal, but probably not intended.
I sure hope that every person trying to pull that off gets one of the small 2-person team assaulted, and end up with all the other ones completely useless.

And good luck keeping track of which models are in the same unit.
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

By raw it seems legal. Also stupid. Like tactically stupid. The first two-man-team to eat a casualty would cause the entire spread out unit to become non-coherent.

Also incredibly likely to not be rai.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
As shown in the diagram, is this RAW legal?
https://i.imgur.com/g3Udtp9.jpg


I'd appreciate if people could try to look through the first page (at least) of the forum and try the search function to make sure a topic hasn't already been covered. It seems like the same questions keep getting posted over and over and over again.

The word 'group' has a meaning. So in that example, the unit has not finished as a group, it has finished as multiple groups.

Yes, the semantics of this can be argued over ad nauseam, but since nothing has changed on the wording of coherency in the last several editions except not including a diagram this time around, this is completely a non-issue.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Also, try reading the part before the part you underlined. Do those models look like they are part of A (i.e. singular) group?

The answer is, of course, no. This is, IMO, neither RAW or RAI. You have to consider the whole sentence.

-three orange whips 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Sure but it's 1 unit so if I can't see your lascannon, but 2 of those other guys walk out in front of my Predator. Wounds still get allocated to the entire unit.

If two of them get assault and 2 are all the way across the table and you fail 4 saves the 2 all the way across the table die.

Because there is no rule allowing them to split into separate units. So they count as 1 unit if I can hit 1 of them I can hit all of them no matter where they are.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






FAQ fixed this problem anyway.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: