| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/29 20:34:48
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The rules for re-rolls state "You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls happen before modifers (if any) are applied." The Command Re-roll Stratagem states "You can re-roll any single dice."
If I roll for a charge, then use a command re-roll on one of the charge dice, how does a rule allowing me to re-roll the charge distance (For example, the Ork rule ’Ere We Go!). Does the ’Ere We Go! not work anymore since I can't re-roll twice, does it let me re-roll the dice that wasn't already re-rolled or does it let me re-roll both dice regardless?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/29 20:42:42
Subject: Re:How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
In 7th you could reroll a single die and then the entire pool if able
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/29 23:17:53
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"You can never reroll a dice more than once"
So if you roll a charge, two dice, you could re-roll using command point one of the dice but not both, due to the specific wording of the cp reroll of "single dice".
You then may never reroll that dice.
Hypothetically you could re-roll the other dice from ere we go, but ere would go already allows you to reroll either or both of the dice so it's rather a silly hypothetical.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/29 23:59:32
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
blaktoof wrote:"You can never reroll a dice more than once"
So if you roll a charge, two dice, you could re-roll using command point one of the dice but not both, due to the specific wording of the cp reroll of "single dice".
You then may never reroll that dice.
Hypothetically you could re-roll the other dice from ere we go, but ere would go already allows you to reroll either or both of the dice so it's rather a silly hypothetical.
’Ere We Go! doesn't say you can reroll individual dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 00:17:50
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
Rerolls "some abilities allow you to Rerole a dice role, which means you get to rerolls some or all of the dice". My group have been interpreting that to mean that if you could rerolls one dice in a test you could reroll them all
Command reroll any single dice -meaning some or all the dice
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/30 00:19:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 10:56:11
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
U02dah4 wrote:Rerolls "some abilities allow you to Rerole a dice role, which means you get to rerolls some or all of the dice". My group have been interpreting that to mean that if you could rerolls one dice in a test you could reroll them all
Command reroll any single dice -meaning some or all the dice
You cannot use Command Reroll to reroll multiple dice
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 11:07:29
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
single dice!
that means just one dice!
people seem to bend the rules to there own advantage.
learn to read people.
Rerolls "some abilities allow you to Rerole a dice role, which means you get to rerolls some or all of the dice". -> it is just an explenation on WHAT re rolls mean. not on how you take them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 15:27:58
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well, some of the confusion may come from "dice" being PLURAL and DIE being singular. So a "single dice roll" could mean 2 dice.
I say "could" because you obviously can reroll a single die. I think they used the plural in favor of "a single die or dice"
EDIT: Or they meant the "concept" of rolling dice, which is almost always used in the plural.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/30 15:28:34
-three orange whips |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 16:40:58
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
3orangewhips wrote:Well, some of the confusion may come from "dice" being PLURAL and DIE being singular. So a "single dice roll" could mean 2 dice.
I say "could" because you obviously can reroll a single die. I think they used the plural in favor of "a single die or dice"
EDIT: Or they meant the "concept" of rolling dice, which is almost always used in the plural.
GW uses 'dice' to mean 'die'. It's tricky right now because many writers (and readers) accept that dice can be used as a singular. Strictly speaking, that's wrong, but if enough people do it, it becomes right.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 17:27:30
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
BaconCatBug wrote:blaktoof wrote:"You can never reroll a dice more than once"
So if you roll a charge, two dice, you could re-roll using command point one of the dice but not both, due to the specific wording of the cp reroll of "single dice".
You then may never reroll that dice.
Hypothetically you could re-roll the other dice from ere we go, but ere would go already allows you to reroll either or both of the dice so it's rather a silly hypothetical.
’Ere We Go! doesn't say you can reroll individual dice.
yes it does, its on page 178 of the main book. If you are allowed to reroll a dice roll, you can choose all or some of the dice.
|
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 19:14:32
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
davou wrote:
yes it does, its on page 178 of the main book. If you are allowed to reroll a dice roll, you can choose all or some of the dice.
It says "Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again."
It does not mean that ALL the rules that allow you to re-roll allow you to re-roll all the dice. Some of the rules allow you to re-roll a single die roll (like the command point) and some allow you to re-roll all the dice rolled (like 'Ere we go!).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/30 19:15:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 19:45:32
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Moosey2Juicy wrote: davou wrote:
yes it does, its on page 178 of the main book. If you are allowed to reroll a dice roll, you can choose all or some of the dice.
It says "Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again."
It does not mean that ALL the rules that allow you to re-roll allow you to re-roll all the dice. Some of the rules allow you to re-roll a single die roll (like the command point) and some allow you to re-roll all the dice rolled (like 'Ere we go!).
No, it deals with what a re-roll is. and it clearly says that you can re roll either all of not all of the dice when you're allowed a re roll. ere we go would need to specify both dice to over-ride this, in the same way that command point specifies one die. There's a thread about this on the forums already.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/30 19:46:06
ERJAK wrote:
The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 20:24:18
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
3orangewhips wrote:Well, some of the confusion may come from "dice" being PLURAL and DIE being singular. So a "single dice roll" could mean 2 dice.
I say "could" because you obviously can reroll a single die. I think they used the plural in favor of "a single die or dice"
EDIT: Or they meant the "concept" of rolling dice, which is almost always used in the plural.
That is standard British English and is present in many European game rules. Dice, like sheep, is both the singular and plural.
|
These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/30 20:31:53
Subject: How do command point re-rolls interact with multi-dice ability rerolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
3orangewhips wrote:Well, some of the confusion may come from "dice" being PLURAL and DIE being singular. So a "single dice roll" could mean 2 dice.
I say "could" because you obviously can reroll a single die. I think they used the plural in favor of "a single die or dice"
EDIT: Or they meant the "concept" of rolling dice, which is almost always used in the plural.
I'd agree with you if it did indeed say a single dice roll, but it says a single dice.
Which is one dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|