Switch Theme:

Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Summoning asks that you give up your movement. If I disembark I still get my movement afterwards.

That means I can disembark and summon in the same turn?

I'm sure the FAQ will cover this.

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Summoning asks that you don't move, disembarking units count as moving IIRC.

If that recollection is correct, the answer is no you cannot summon when you disembark.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Same would go for deep striking too, I suppose.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

It specifically has a whole sentence in the disembarking from vehcles bit about the fact you count as moving

lol smon its a 12 pg ruleset, always pays to read first

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/17 14:58:47


 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Same would go for deep striking too, I suppose.


You deepstrike at the end of the turn so it's not possible for a different reason.

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Its definitely nebulous and should be FAQ'd. Yes, a disembarking unit counts as having moved, but they also are able to move normally if they want to after disembarking.

IMHO, when you have a true grey area like this, then until GW FAQs it otherwise, the best bet is to play with the more restrictive ruling (that you cannot summon after disembarking).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





 yakface wrote:

Its definitely nebulous and should be FAQ'd. Yes, a disembarking unit counts as having moved, but they also are able to move normally if they want to after disembarking.

IMHO, when you have a true grey area like this, then until GW FAQs it otherwise, the best bet is to play with the more restrictive ruling (that you cannot summon after disembarking).



Well said, I agree.

My prediction is that the FAQ WILL allow us to summon after disembarking.

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




End of the Disembark part under Transports

"Note though, that even if you don't move disembarking units further in your Movement Phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy Weapons"

So no you cannot disembark and summon as your Character is considered moving for the turn as far as trying to summon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/18 03:42:11


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.

The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.

-----
brian ® 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




 alienux wrote:
The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.

The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.


If you count as moving the it makes no sense that you can summon

2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




 alienux wrote:
The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.

The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.


You are not "substituting" your movement to summon. Summoning is very specific in that the Character trying to summon cannot have moved during the Movement Phase. Disembarking states that it counts as having moved even if the Character does not move in the Movement Phase. You do not get to Summon.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






BomBomHotdog wrote:

You are not "substituting" your movement to summon. Summoning is very specific in that the Character trying to summon cannot have moved during the Movement Phase.


Ahh, didn't understand that from reading what the OP wrote about summoning. If that's the case, yeah, it seems like you wouldn't get to summon.

-----
brian ® 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: