Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 14:20:29
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Summoning asks that you give up your movement. If I disembark I still get my movement afterwards.
That means I can disembark and summon in the same turn?
I'm sure the FAQ will cover this.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 14:28:24
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Summoning asks that you don't move, disembarking units count as moving IIRC.
If that recollection is correct, the answer is no you cannot summon when you disembark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 14:46:37
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Same would go for deep striking too, I suppose.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 14:58:27
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
It specifically has a whole sentence in the disembarking from vehcles bit about the fact you count as moving
lol smon its a 12 pg ruleset, always pays to read first
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/17 14:58:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 16:35:34
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
You deepstrike at the end of the turn so it's not possible for a different reason.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/17 22:46:26
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its definitely nebulous and should be FAQ'd. Yes, a disembarking unit counts as having moved, but they also are able to move normally if they want to after disembarking.
IMHO, when you have a true grey area like this, then until GW FAQs it otherwise, the best bet is to play with the more restrictive ruling (that you cannot summon after disembarking).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 03:24:03
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
yakface wrote:
Its definitely nebulous and should be FAQ'd. Yes, a disembarking unit counts as having moved, but they also are able to move normally if they want to after disembarking.
IMHO, when you have a true grey area like this, then until GW FAQs it otherwise, the best bet is to play with the more restrictive ruling (that you cannot summon after disembarking).
Well said, I agree.
My prediction is that the FAQ WILL allow us to summon after disembarking.
|
hey what time is it?
"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."
-Ghaz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 03:41:40
Subject: Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
End of the Disembark part under Transports "Note though, that even if you don't move disembarking units further in your Movement Phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy Weapons" So no you cannot disembark and summon as your Character is considered moving for the turn as far as trying to summon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/18 03:42:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 03:41:41
Subject: Re:Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.
The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.
|
-----
brian ® |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 03:45:32
Subject: Re:Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
alienux wrote:The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.
The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.
If you count as moving the it makes no sense that you can summon
|
2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 03:49:17
Subject: Re:Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
alienux wrote:The fact that it says you can "act normally" after disembarking, and specifically says you can move, leads me to believe summoning is OK.
The part about saying that you count as having moved is there for rules that are affected by you having moved, as it says in the book, such as for heavy weapons. I don't think that puts any restriction on using your movement itself for rules that allow you to substitute something for movement.
You are not "substituting" your movement to summon. Summoning is very specific in that the Character trying to summon cannot have moved during the Movement Phase. Disembarking states that it counts as having moved even if the Character does not move in the Movement Phase. You do not get to Summon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/18 15:53:20
Subject: Re:Can I summon demons and disembark in the same turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BomBomHotdog wrote:
You are not "substituting" your movement to summon. Summoning is very specific in that the Character trying to summon cannot have moved during the Movement Phase.
Ahh, didn't understand that from reading what the OP wrote about summoning. If that's the case, yeah, it seems like you wouldn't get to summon.
|
-----
brian ® |
|
 |
 |
|