Switch Theme:

Assault Confusion  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)







Sorry, probably somewhere on the forum but didn't find it;

Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C
Unit B goes first, wipes out the unit
What can Unit A do? Pile in, consolidate or nothing?

Another one

Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C.
Unit B almost wipes out Unit C, however one model at the end of a long congo line is left.
Unit A does not have enough pile in to get within 1". What can unit A do?

Another

Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C.
Unit B goes and almost wipes out Unit C
Unit A activates and it can get within 1" with a pile in to Unit C. However, another enemy unit Unit D is actually closer than it's original hand to hand target (Unit C)
What can Unit A do?

Thanks!

Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C
Unit B goes first, wipes out the unit
What can Unit A do? Pile in, consolidate or nothing?
If Unit A didn't charge, it does nothing. If unit A did charge, it can consolidate.

Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C.
Unit B almost wipes out Unit C, however one model at the end of a long congo line is left.
Unit A does not have enough pile in to get within 1". What can unit A do?
If Unit A has no models within 1" and didn't charge, it does nothing. If unit A did charge, it can consolidate.
Unit A and Unit B are in hand to hand with Unit C.
Unit B goes and almost wipes out Unit C
Unit A activates and it can get within 1" with a pile in to Unit C. However, another enemy unit Unit D is actually closer than it's original hand to hand target (Unit C)
What can Unit A do?
If Unit A has no models within 1" and didn't charge, it does nothing. If unit A did charge, it can pile in (remember you have to move closer to the closest enemy model) and thus moves towards unit D, though if it charged and didn't declare D as a target it can't hit it. If it didn't charge, then it can pile in towards D and make attacks towards D.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)







 BaconCatBug wrote:
If it didn't charge, then it can pile in towards D and make attacks towards D.


I assume you meant "If it DID charge, then it can pile in towards D and make attacks towards D."?

Other than that, I got everything, thanks very much for the help.

P.S. Just to further that point, other than eating overwatch, there is no harm in declaring multiple targets as your charge target(s) in case the first unit wipes out the initial target. IE;

I charge Unit C with my Unit Z
I charge Unit C AND Unit D with my Unit Y
Both Unit Y and Unit Z only make contact with Unit C due to screening/movement issues
Unit Z wipes out Unit C
Unit Y now activates, piles into Unit D, makes attacks then consolidates

The obvious unit would be Khorne Zerks that would be benefit the most...but other units can too in certain setups. Right O?

Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






No, I meant if it didn't charge. If it did charge it can hit D. If it didn't charge, and has some models within 1" of C, the models closest to D can pile in towards D and hit it.
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Little Rock, Arkansas

No, he meant what he said. On the turn you charge, you are always a valid unit to be chosen in the fight phase, but you can only attack things you charged. On other turns, you are only a valid choice if an enemy is within 1", but you can attack anyone you can get your hands on.

20000+ points
Tournament reports:
1234567 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Unit A in all cases can both pile in and consolidate the turn that it charged.

BCB had everything correct, I just wanted to clarify this point.

Assuming unit A charged with the above applied by scenario:

Scenario 1) Unit A may "pile in" towards nearest enemy unit(skirting around and ending the move slightly closer in radial distance but along a different vector is allowed), it can then Consolidate.

Scenario 2) Unit A may pile in towards unit C, if they get any models within 1" they can attack. It can then consolidate.

Scenario 3) BCB actually has the last sentence wrong, if Unit A didn't charge it cannot Activate. But if it did charge C it can Pile in to D but not attack, the Consolidate closer to D. If Unit A also declared D as a Charge Target, then it can pile into D, attack, and then Consolidate.

Any unit that successfully charged can pile in and consolidate no matter the distance from the enemy when they activate. If a unit started the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit, but is no longer within 1" of any enemies when it is their turn to activate; they are not a valid unit to activate and can do nothing.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
For 3 it really has to be shown with models or vassal.

If A didn't charge, could pile in towatd either unit, but starts outside of 1"; it does nothing and cannot activate.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/28 19:41:28


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)







Ok I think I understand. If I can put it in my own words to make sure (The below assumes I mean towards the closest enemy model when I state Pile In or Consolidate);

If a unit didn't charge and is not within 1" of an enemy during the Fight Phase, it does nothing.
If a unit did charge, it will always get a Pile In and Consolidation. If they get within 1" of an enemy and that enemy was one of their charge targets, they can attack as well.
If a unit did not charge and one of its members start within 1" of an enemy, all models in that unit get a Pile In and Consolidate as normal and can attack whomever they want (Provided they are within 1" of an enemy or within 1" of a friendly within 1" of an enemy).


Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Yes.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: