Switch Theme:

Armour piercing (for dummies)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





Sweden

Hi!

Time for me to get stupid again. I'll excuse myself by stating I've never played a single game yet and think you guys seems so helpful.

I'm reading in the rule book about saving throws and armour piercing.

Lets take the Stormsword from Astra Militarum for example. It has a Sv of 3+. Since it's a tank I'm fantasising that the armour would protect from single bullets etc.

But at the same time the rule book states (on page 181 on resolving attacks) ยง4 "Saving throw: The player commanding the target unit then makes a saving throw by rolling a dice and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration characteristic of the weapon that caused the damage. For example, if the weapon has an Armour Penetration of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save characteristic of the model the wound was located to, then the damage is prevented and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model's Save characteristic, then the model suffers damage. A roll of 1 Always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply."

Since a lasgun has the AP of 0, could it still wound the Stormsword if the controlling player rolls a 1 or a 2? Given the guardsman rolled a 6 to wound (S3/T8)?
And would the melta guns AP of -4 cause that the Stormsword couldn't make a save throw against a wound from the melta gun?


Have I intepreted the rules correctly?

IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Both are correct. You would get a 3+ save vs Lasguns (imagine the beam of light hitting at just the right angle to reflect within and do some damage), and a 7+ save (before any other modifiers) against the meltagun (which is an anti-vehicle weapon).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in se
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





Sweden

Thank you very much! I'm feeling I'm starting to get the hang of this enough to play my first game now

IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Jedborg wrote:
Thank you very much! I'm feeling I'm starting to get the hang of this enough to play my first game now


Count yourself lucky you are learning 8th. You would spend the better part of a year trying to wrap your head around 7th.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Lance845 wrote:
Jedborg wrote:
Thank you very much! I'm feeling I'm starting to get the hang of this enough to play my first game now


Count yourself lucky you are learning 8th. You would spend the better part of a year trying to wrap your head around 7th.
I spent 20 years playing this game (on and off admittedly) and even I couldn't begin to understand all of what 7th vomited up.

To address the OP, you have both situations correct, although technically the Stormsword would have a 7+ save against the meltagun attack. That being said, you normally cannot pass a 7+ roll on a D6, but lots of special rules could interact with a 7+ save, the main one being cover bonus, which could improve it to a 6+ or better, or add to the roll you make making a 7 possible on a D6.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: