Switch Theme:

Dark angels and Grim Resolve on first turn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk





My apologies if this has been asked before or FAQd. Since Grim Resolve from the Dark Angels codex states that the unit must not have moved in its PREVIOUS movement phase, does that mean that the ability cannot be used on the first turn?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I say grim resolve cant be used on the first turn, because there was no previous movement phase. Others disagree.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/749357.page
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Long thread short, it comes down to how you interpret the rule. The rule says it applies only if you did not move in your previous movement phase.

One side says you have to have had a movement phase to have not moved in your movement phase.

The other side says if you have not had a movement phase then you have not moved in your movement phase.

Both sides have weight, so we really need an FAQ. Until then, discuss with opponent before the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/11 15:55:37


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





It will be FAQ'ed and will absolutely apply to the first turn. Play it like that.
   
Made in fr
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






Shrapnelbait wrote:
My apologies if this has been asked before or FAQd. Since Grim Resolve from the Dark Angels codex states that the unit must not have moved in its PREVIOUS movement phase, does that mean that the ability cannot be used on the first turn?


RAI is obvious with Grim Resolve, if they have moved they don't get it. If they are yet to move they do. First turn would apply as they have not yet moved.

5500
2500 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





For what it's worth, I agree the default should be to let it apply first turn too. It makes more sense to me.

It's not exactly super powerful either, it's only going to apply to turn 1 Overwatch or Auspex Scan (or similar effects), which are usually at a reduced BS anyway.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 SeanDavid1991 wrote:
First turn would apply as they have not yet moved.


How did they get on the battlefield without moving ?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 SeanDavid1991 wrote:
First turn would apply as they have not yet moved.


How did they get on the battlefield without moving ?
They were Set Up, which because it didn't happen in a Phase, doesn't count as Reinforcements, so they don't count as moving.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/13 16:14:46


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
They were Set Up, which because it didn't happen in a Phase, doesn't count as Reinforcements, so they don't count as moving.


Still grim resolve requires a previous movement phase in which they didnt move. No previous movement phase, no grim resolve. Thats RAW. You are the strict RAW guy. How can you turn away from RAW ?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
They were Set Up, which because it didn't happen in a Phase, doesn't count as Reinforcements, so they don't count as moving.


Still grim resolve requires a previous movement phase in which they didnt move. No previous movement phase, no grim resolve. Thats RAW. You are the strict RAW guy. How can you turn away from RAW ?
At no point did I say that was my opinion, I was providing a potential opinion.

My official opinion is that there is not enough information to make a 100% unambiguous RaW answer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/13 16:34:51


 
   
Made in fr
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
They were Set Up, which because it didn't happen in a Phase, doesn't count as Reinforcements, so they don't count as moving.


Still grim resolve requires a previous movement phase in which they didnt move. No previous movement phase, no grim resolve. Thats RAW. You are the strict RAW guy. How can you turn away from RAW ?
At no point did I say that was my opinion, I was providing a potential opinion.

My official opinion is that there is not enough information to make a 100% unambiguous RaW answer.


I agree RAW is ambiguous buuuuuut...

Common sense though. It's very simple..
Have I moved at all this turn?

yes No grim resolve

no Grim resolve

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/13 16:58:39


5500
2500 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Common sense might say that since one of the requirements of Grim Resolve is that you haven't moved in the prior movement phase. Since there hasn't been a movement phase you can't claim the basic requirement for fulfilling this tactic.

One man's common sense is another man's "Huh!?"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/13 17:28:27


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: