Switch Theme:

Re-rolling dice when inside a transport/building  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Fresh-Faced New User




Greetings fellow hobbyists.
There has been a question that has been bugging me for a long time.
Let's suppose I have a unit of dark angels scouts that are inside a land speeder storm.
This unit (scouts) has the ability to re-roll ones if they stay still.
Therefore do they get to re-roll ones if the LSS does not move.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Alexisfairos wrote:
Greetings fellow hobbyists.
There has been a question that has been bugging me for a long time.
Let's suppose I have a unit of dark angels scouts that are inside a land speeder storm.
This unit (scouts) has the ability to re-roll ones if they stay still.
Therefore do they get to re-roll ones if the LSS does not move.
If the re-roll is sourced from another model, no.

As for Grim Resolve proccing for open topped vehicles, there are two sides of a debate here at dakka, so bring some salt.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/10/03 20:08:56


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Core rules pg.9 transports :

Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked.


No, they cant re-roll 1s, because they are embarked on a transport, not even when standing still. The open topped rule tells you what they can do. Which isnt using grim resolve.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It all comes down to whether a units own datasheet "effects" it or "affects" it. It it "effects" it, it works. If it "affects" it, it doesn't work.

I'm not a certified expert on English Grammar, but to me "affects" is an effect of external source, while a thing "effects" itself if the effect is coming from itself.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

You affect something (verb) with an effect (noun).
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:

I'm not a certified expert on English Grammar.......


You can be 100% sure GW isnt either.....Only they know the intend of the embarked units on a transport rule.
   
Made in cz
Regular Dakkanaut




Distance-based rules are blocked by the impossibility to measure the distance, but is there anything saying that other rules do not kick in?

After all, there are abilities on unit datasheets that are confirmed to work on the embarked units, like Instinctive Behaviour.

   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 alextroy wrote:
You affect something (verb) with an effect (noun).


Indeed, you can also 'effect change' (using it in proper verb context), but you can't 'effect' a unit - that would be 'affect'. This is literally not what it 'all comes down to'.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: