Kriswall wrote:
BaconCatBug wrote:Nixalys wrote:So my buddies and I are gonna do a 2v2 soon and we know theres technically no official 2v2 matched play rules but we were curious if my buddy who is playing
TS and took Ahriman who gains the "daemon keyword" if he takes a disc of tzeentch upgrade, would benefit from my herald of tzneetch's locus of tzeentchs buff that gives "tzeentch daemons" +1
str. Basically we weren't sure since Ahriman is gaining the daemon keyword as opposed to specifically, the daemon FACTION keyword and were just curious. Thank you!
If it's an Aura, it applies to any type of DAEMON. If it's a Chaos Daemons Stratagem, it only applies to Faction Keyword DAEMON as per the Special Snowflake
FAQ.
So to directly answer your question, yes, Ahriman on Disc of Tzeentch is affected by the Locus of Trickery Aura because he is a TZEENTCH DAEMON.
What's a Special Snowflake
FAQ? I checked Warhammer-Community and that didn't seem to be one of the options.
WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX: CHAOS DAEMONS Official Update Version 1.4 wrote:Q: When a Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Daemons uses the Daemon keyword, can it be used to affect any unit with the Daemon keyword, or only units with the Daemon Faction keyword?
A: These Stratagems can only affect units with the Daemon Faction keyword.
Compare this to the Tyranid Codex which got full fledged errata.
WARHAMMER 40,000 CODEX: TYRANIDS Official Update Version 1.2 wrote:ERRATA
[...]
Add the following section before ‘Abilities’:
‘Tyranids Units
In the rules described in this section we often refer to ‘Tyranids units’. This is shorthand for any Tyranids unit that also has the <Hive Fleet> keyword. A Tyranids Detachment is therefore one which only includes units with both the Tyranids and <Hive Fleet> keyword.
Note that although Genestealer Cults are devoted to the Hive Mind and will willingly fight alongside their xenos masters, they deviate significantly in terms of organisation and tactics, not to mention physiology! Genestealer Cults units therefore cannot make use of any of the rules listed in this section (this includes the Detachment abilities, Stratagems, bio-artefacts, psychic powers, Warlord Traits and Tactical Objectives described in this section), and instead have their own rules.’
Furthermore,
GW themselves state in the Designers Commentary that Daemons Stratagems should work on any DAEMON keyword, since once the game begins they are not differentiated.
Designers Commentary wrote:Q: What is the difference between a keyword and a Faction keyword?
A: The only real difference is that Faction keywords are used when building an army; when Battle-forging an army, for instance, you will often only be able to include units in the same detachment if they share the same Faction keyword. Also, if you are playing a matched play game, you will need to have an Army Faction – this is a Faction keyword that is shared by all of the units in your entire army (with the exception of those that are Unaligned). [colour=yellow]Once the battle has begun, there is no functional difference between a keyword and a Faction keyword.[/color]
The Daemons
FAQ ignores the rules and
GW's own
FAQs, the Tyranid
FAQ changed the rules. The Daemons
FAQ is thus a "Special Snowflake"
FAQ.