Switch Theme:

+1 modifiers and extra effects  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




If i have a rule that has additional bonuses if my wound or hit roll is in a certain range, say 4+, and i give my unit +1 to hit, does that mean that now rolls of a 3 also trigger the bonus effect? I know -1 modifiers trigger stuff like overheating so just wanted to check.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






MagicCookie54 wrote:
If i have a rule that has additional bonuses if my wound or hit roll is in a certain range, say 4+, and i give my unit +1 to hit, does that mean that now rolls of a 3 also trigger the bonus effect? I know -1 modifiers trigger stuff like overheating so just wanted to check.
A physical roll of 3, yes. But the roll is modified to a 4 and thus triggers. If the effect ignores modifiers it will say an "unmodified roll of x".
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Yes.

Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.
   
Made in fi
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Helsinki, Finland

 Stux wrote:
Yes.

Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.


Do you mean an unmodified roll of 6? Because i'm sure thats allowed with Rolls of 6+. For example, I use tau stratagem focus fire on a target (getting +1 to wound), and fire at the target with rail weapon (extra mortal wounds at 6+). Which will trigger at 5+.

Wh40k, necromunda, Mordheim 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Spreelock wrote:
 Stux wrote:
Yes.

Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.


Do you mean an unmodified roll of 6? Because i'm sure thats allowed with Rolls of 6+. For example, I use tau stratagem focus fire on a target (getting +1 to wound), and fire at the target with rail weapon (extra mortal wounds at 6+). Which will trigger at 5+.
He is saying that if an ability triggers only on a 6 (and not an "unmodified 6"), not a 6+, then +1 to hit won't help since it will be a 7. AFAIK there aren't any effects like that and the ones that interact with overwatch specifically call out working on specific numbers (such as the Mordian trait).
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Maybe there aren't any, in which case it would irrelevant!

But yeah, keep an eye out for the '+' to be sure.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: