Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 16:43:37
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If i have a rule that has additional bonuses if my wound or hit roll is in a certain range, say 4+, and i give my unit +1 to hit, does that mean that now rolls of a 3 also trigger the bonus effect? I know -1 modifiers trigger stuff like overheating so just wanted to check.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 16:56:49
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
MagicCookie54 wrote:If i have a rule that has additional bonuses if my wound or hit roll is in a certain range, say 4+, and i give my unit +1 to hit, does that mean that now rolls of a 3 also trigger the bonus effect? I know -1 modifiers trigger stuff like overheating so just wanted to check.
A physical roll of 3, yes. But the roll is modified to a 4 and thus triggers. If the effect ignores modifiers it will say an "unmodified roll of x".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 16:57:04
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Yes.
Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 19:44:41
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Stux wrote:Yes.
Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.
Do you mean an unmodified roll of 6? Because i'm sure thats allowed with Rolls of 6+. For example, I use tau stratagem focus fire on a target (getting +1 to wound), and fire at the target with rail weapon (extra mortal wounds at 6+). Which will trigger at 5+.
|
Wh40k, necromunda, Mordheim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 19:59:39
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Spreelock wrote: Stux wrote:Yes.
Bare in mind that if an ability triggers on a 6 specifically, it will not trigger on a 7. There is no rule to count a roll above 6 as a 6, even though there is a rule to count a roll below 1 as 1.
Do you mean an unmodified roll of 6? Because i'm sure thats allowed with Rolls of 6+. For example, I use tau stratagem focus fire on a target (getting +1 to wound), and fire at the target with rail weapon (extra mortal wounds at 6+). Which will trigger at 5+.
He is saying that if an ability triggers only on a 6 (and not an "unmodified 6"), not a 6+, then +1 to hit won't help since it will be a 7. AFAIK there aren't any effects like that and the ones that interact with overwatch specifically call out working on specific numbers (such as the Mordian trait).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/27 20:44:57
Subject: +1 modifiers and extra effects
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Maybe there aren't any, in which case it would irrelevant!
But yeah, keep an eye out for the '+' to be sure.
|
|
 |
 |
|