Switch Theme:

Fire and Fade with open-topped vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




My question here is around using the Fire and Fade stratagem alongside open-topped vehicles with a unit inside.

As an example:

A Starweaver with a Troupe inside packing fusion pistols.

The Starweaver moves up to something like 10" away from a unit, and fires its shuriken cannons into the unit.

It then used Fire and Fade to move 7", ending up 3" from the enemy unit.

The embarked Troupe then fire their fusion pistols into the enemy unit.


My question is, does this work? The stratagem says that the unit moves after it has fired, but does this have to be after the embarked unit has fired as well, or can I do as described above, shooting with the vehicle, moving into pistol range with FnF, then shooting with the passengers?

Thanks in advance guys.
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Nothing in the open-topped rule forces you to shoot with the embarked unit right after the vehicle shoots. They can both be selected independently during the shooting phase.
So yes fire and fade on a starweaver before the embarked unit shoots is a valid move (and don't forget the weaver can advance and still shoot because of its assault weapons).
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




That was my understanding of the rule too. Thanks for your input.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Fire and Fade requires the 'Asuryani' keyword on the unit to be eligible.

Starweaver does not have 'Asuryani' keyword, and therefore your particular set up is not legal.

As far as the interaction goes - last I checked, there are no open-topped transports with Asuryani keyword, so I think the point is irrelevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/12 16:55:39


 
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





 skchsan wrote:
Fire and Fade requires the 'Asuryani' keyword on the unit to be eligible.

Starweaver does not have 'Asuryani' keyword, and therefore your particular set up is not legal.

As far as the interaction goes - last I checked, there are no open-topped transports with Asuryani keyword, so I think the point is irrelevant.


Harlequins have their own Fire and Fade stratagem (like Webway strike) that can only be used on Harlequins units.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 Lord Perversor wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
Fire and Fade requires the 'Asuryani' keyword on the unit to be eligible.

Starweaver does not have 'Asuryani' keyword, and therefore your particular set up is not legal.

As far as the interaction goes - last I checked, there are no open-topped transports with Asuryani keyword, so I think the point is irrelevant.


Harlequins have their own Fire and Fade stratagem (like Webway strike) that can only be used on Harlequins units.
I see that now.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: