Switch Theme:

Cadre fireblade in big FAQ+ number of pulse shots  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Do fire warriors with 'volley fire' from a fireblade get two shots at max range?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






I strongly suspect this was a typo, but can fire warriors now RAW fire 2 shots at max range because of an example in this FAQ? Seems in a bit of a weird place seeing as it doesn't actually change the fireblades datasheet...


Q: With regards the Cadre Fireblade’s Volley Fire ability, what
exactly is meant by ‘may fire an extra shot’?
A: It means the player can make one more hit roll for
each model. Note that for a model with a pulse rifle (a
Rapid Fire weapon) this means that it would make two
hit rolls unless the target is within half range, in which
case it would make three hit rolls.

Fully Painted Armies: 2200pts Orks 1000pts Space Marines 1200pts Tau 2500pts Blood Angels 3500pts Imperial Guard/Renegades and 1700pts Daemons 450pts Imperial Knights  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Well, considering FAQ is not RaW...

However, the FAQ is a Special Snowflake which means that yes, until GW hire a proofreader, you can fire two shots at max range with Volley Fire now.
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Ahh come on, we don't need to wait for them to hire a proofreader. If we all write in and proof read for them they'll change it in 6 months time! Until then... Go firewarriors! You just got Beta Bolters Pulse Rifles.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



Shropshire UK

Would argue their answer didn't say it has two shots. But their example did. And as they didn't change the text of the rule. RAW doesn't get ignored by a incorrect example

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






moonsmite wrote:
Would argue their answer didn't say it has two shots. But their example did. And as they didn't change the text of the rule. RAW doesn't get ignored by a incorrect example
The entire reason Special Snowflake FAQs exist is to ignore the RaW, even if the answer is incorrect by RaW.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

FAQs carry the same weight as the rules, and can change them. How many threads do you need to be told this in? Quit soapboxing.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






You cannot however fire twice at full range.


An example of something in a FAQ does not equate a rules change and mearly shows that the person who wrote the rule does not himself understand the rules.

Since the Cadre fireblades ability only allows 1 extra shot at half range, what the example spoke of makes no difference whatsoever.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Eihnlazer wrote:
You cannot however fire twice at full range.


An example of something in a FAQ does not equate a rules change and mearly shows that the person who wrote the rule does not himself understand the rules.

Since the Cadre fireblades ability only allows 1 extra shot at half range, what the example spoke of makes no difference whatsoever.
You can, because FAQ says so. Is it stupid? Yes, but GW has made it clear FAQs can ignore the rules.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
You cannot however fire twice at full range.


An example of something in a FAQ does not equate a rules change and mearly shows that the person who wrote the rule does not himself understand the rules.

Since the Cadre fireblades ability only allows 1 extra shot at half range, what the example spoke of makes no difference whatsoever.
You can, because FAQ says so. Is it stupid? Yes, but GW has made it clear FAQs can ignore the rules.

No that's your interpretation of the FAQ ignoring the rules. As far as the writer is concerned as the rules team they are clarifying the rules not necessarily changing anything but your incorrect interpretation.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The FAQ does not say so. That's your misinterpretation.

It has an example at the bottom of the rules clarification that acts as though you can, but there were no actual rules changes or permissions in the answer that state that you can.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Eihnlazer wrote:
The FAQ does not say so. That's your misinterpretation.

It has an example at the bottom of the rules clarification that acts as though you can, but there were no actual rules changes or permissions in the answer that state that you can.
It says "Note", not "For Example". That means it is a rule change.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Can be read in multiple ways. You can read it as just an example of what means "firing an extra shot" when applied to a rapid fire weapon, and not directly related to the Fire Cadre ability, because it does not specify again the context in the answer.

It doesn't say:

"A: It means the player can make one more hit roll for
each model. Note that for a model with a pulse rifle (a
Rapid Fire weapon) affected by a Fireblade Cadre Volley Fire ability this means that it would make two
hit rolls unless the target is within half range, in which
case it would make three hit rolls."

Yes, it is a dumb reading of the example, but as dumb as the reading proposed in this thread. So since there is no single way to read this, you go by the standard rules.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Im just glad that their rule has expanded so that Gun Drones get an extra shot per weapon. My flying dustbin lids just got better!

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Im just glad that their rule has expanded so that Gun Drones get an extra shot per weapon. My flying dustbin lids just got better!


doesn't the FAQ say one extra hit roll per model. not per weapon.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Can make an additional hit roll could be interpreted different ways.

The last sentence of two shots or three at half, However I is very clear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 02:55:52


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Type40 wrote:
Im just glad that their rule has expanded so that Gun Drones get an extra shot per weapon. My flying dustbin lids just got better!


doesn't the FAQ say one extra hit roll per model. not per weapon.


Nope they rewrote it

Q: How many shots does a model armed with multiple pulse
weapons fire when affected by a Cadre Fireblade’s Volley Fire
ability? Is it one extra shot with each with each of those weapons,
or one extra shot with just one of those weapons?
A: These models fire one additional shot for each weapon.
For example, a Drone armed with two pulse carbines
(an Assault 2 weapon) would fire three shots from each
weapon (for a total of six shots from that model).

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
The FAQ does not say so. That's your misinterpretation.

It has an example at the bottom of the rules clarification that acts as though you can, but there were no actual rules changes or permissions in the answer that state that you can.
It says "Note", not "For Example". That means it is a rule change.


You know that's not true right? You're making an unsupported assumption about how GW write their rules. The idea there's a difference between "Note" and "For Example" is something you've just made up.

This is definitely a messy situation though. I suspect they simply didn't read the rule properly before writing their clarification. The text reads to me like a helpful reminder that's turned out to not be so helpful.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 08:45:40


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: