Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:21:35
Subject: Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
CWE FAQ
Q: If the Warlord of my Battle-forged army is an Autarch, can I use the Path of Command ability to refund Command Points when I spend them on Stratagems used during deployment (for example, Cloudstrike, Webway Strike, etc.)?
A: Yes, but only if your Autarch Warlord is on the battlefield when the Stratagem is used.
April NEW
TACTICAL RESTRAINT
There are several Warlord Traits, Relics, psychic powers and abilities that give you a chance to gain or refund Command Points. Each player can only gain or have refunded a total of 1 Command Point per battle round as the result of such rules, regardless of the source, and Command Points that are spent on Stratagems that are not used during a battle round, such as those that are used ‘before the battle’, can never be refunded.
YMDC save me from the copy pasting of rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:22:51
Subject: Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So, what's your confusion?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:24:28
Subject: Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
One rule says you can't gain Command Points back from out of round events. The other says you can! What applies?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/06 18:24:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:26:49
Subject: Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
ThatMG wrote:One rule says you can't gain Command Points back from out of round events. The other says you can! What applies?
Contradictory FAQs from GW? That's unpossible! It's just GW being GW and not bothering to proofread.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:32:41
Subject: Re:Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
since both are still present in the april FAQ then i'd say you can regain cps with the autarch's ability for stratagems used before the battle begins.
the april FAQ set a global rule where you can't.
But the CWE FAQ sets an exception for the autarch.
I always view rules as the most specific overriding the more generic ones.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/06 18:33:41
Subject: Re:Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Not everyone plays Matched Play games. For those who play Open and Narrative games, the Tactical Restraint rule does not apply.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/06 18:35:51
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/07 13:31:06
Subject: Re:Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
VladimirHerzog wrote:since both are still present in the april FAQ then i'd say you can regain cps with the autarch's ability for stratagems used before the battle begins.
the april FAQ set a global rule where you can't.
But the CWE FAQ sets an exception for the autarch.
I always view rules as the most specific overriding the more generic ones.
Can't generally trumps can in games like this. If you don't refund CPs, you've obeyed both rules. If you do, you've broken one. The rule says you can and not that you must.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/05/08 17:03:46
Subject: Re:Craftworld Comand Point confusion!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I agree with Ghaz.
The Autarch-specific FAQ is a perfectly valid clarification of the general rule.
Tactical Restraint is not a general game rule, but a specific additional restriction that is added to the game for matched play (and only matched play) specifically.
|
|
 |
 |
|