Switch Theme:

Overcharging plasma on multi wound Castellan  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





Overcharging plasma says you suffer a mortal wound on a 1 after shots have been resolved.

For a Castellans 2d6 shooting, let's say it's on 4 wounds.

Are we supposed to resolve each shot one by one, until that last mortal wound takes it down, or go as the rules state all in and count up Mortals afterward?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Nightlord1987 wrote:
Overcharging plasma says you suffer a mortal wound on a 1 after shots have been resolved.

For a Castellans 2d6 shooting, let's say it's on 4 wounds.

Are we supposed to resolve each shot one by one, until that last mortal wound takes it down, or go as the rules state all in and count up Mortals afterward?
It doesn't say "after shots have been resolved", it says "For each hit roll of 1, the bearer suffers 1 mortal wound after all of this weapon’s shots have been resolved."

You can't just skip important words. You roll all the shots individually, then after all the shots have been resolved you've rolled four 1's to hit, you take 4 mortal wounds.

Also, "Do we follow what the rules say" is a bit of a tautology, no?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/23 13:23:47


 
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





Ok. Maybe I should be more specific. Castellan is at 4 wounds. If you roll 4 ones immediately, out of let's say 9 shots, are your other shots wasted, or do you roll another 5 shots.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

You get to make the full amount of attacks. As per the wording, the MWs don't happen until all of your attacks have resolved. That means you go through all 9 to-hits, Wounding, Saves, and Damage. Then, when you have finished with all of that, you apply any MWs you might have incurred.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/24 02:11:57


 
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





Ok, thank you.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Nightlord1987 wrote:
Ok. Maybe I should be more specific. Castellan is at 4 wounds. If you roll 4 ones immediately, out of let's say 9 shots, are your other shots wasted, or do you roll another 5 shots.
It doesn't matter whether you fast roll or not, either way you get to make your full allotment of attacks before resolving the mortal wounds.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






The rule explicitly states MW's are dealt after the all of the weapon's shots have been resolved.

If you have nine 1-shot plasmas, after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, rest of the shots are lost since you've dealt 1 MW per instance of rolls of 1.
If you have one 9-shot plasma, you resolve all 9 shots prior to dealing out MW's.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 skchsan wrote:
The rule explicitly states MW's are dealt after the all of the weapon's shots have been resolved.

If you have nine 1-shot plasmas, after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, rest of the shots are lost since you've dealt 1 MW per instance of rolls of 1.


Irrelevant when i fast roll. When i fulfill the requirements for fast rolling i can hit roll all of them, and do all the wound rolls, then my opponent allocates wounds, makes his sv, and suffers damage. After all of this the shots have been resolved and i suffer the MWs, and die. But this is theoretical, because no model has nine one shot plasma guns.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 skchsan wrote:
The rule explicitly states MW's are dealt after the all of the weapon's shots have been resolved.

If you have nine 1-shot plasmas, after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, rest of the shots are lost since you've dealt 1 MW per instance of rolls of 1.
If you have one 9-shot plasma, you resolve all 9 shots prior to dealing out MW's.

read your post again, you state by saying that the MW's are dealt after all shots have been resolved. So after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, you won't be dead until the other 5 shots have been resolved

 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






terry wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
The rule explicitly states MW's are dealt after the all of the weapon's shots have been resolved.

If you have nine 1-shot plasmas, after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, rest of the shots are lost since you've dealt 1 MW per instance of rolls of 1.
If you have one 9-shot plasma, you resolve all 9 shots prior to dealing out MW's.

read your post again, you state by saying that the MW's are dealt after all shots have been resolved. So after 4 consecutive 1's to hit at 4W remaining, you won't be dead until the other 5 shots have been resolved
All of the weapon's shots, not all of the model's weapons' shots.

On each successive to hit roll of 1 for a weapon that has 1 attack, your attack sequence ends, and you move on to resolve the mortal wound. After repeating this sequence 4 times, you've lost your remaining 4W, and your shooting phase for the chosen unit/model ends.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/24 18:46:32


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 skchsan wrote:


On each successive to hit roll of 1 for a weapon that has 1 attack, your attack sequence ends, and you move on to resolve the mortal wound. After repeating this sequence 4 times, you've lost your remaining 4W, and your shooting phase for the chosen unit/model ends.


Unless you fast roll. I can suffer 9 MW, but i still get to shoot all 9 guns.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 p5freak wrote:
 skchsan wrote:


On each successive to hit roll of 1 for a weapon that has 1 attack, your attack sequence ends, and you move on to resolve the mortal wound. After repeating this sequence 4 times, you've lost your remaining 4W, and your shooting phase for the chosen unit/model ends.


Unless you fast roll. I can suffer 9 MW, but i still get to shoot all 9 guns.
Sorry but we can care less about how you game for advantage. Don't open this can of worm again.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

He's technically right, "gaming for advantage" or no. By RAW, you're allowed to group similar attacks together. If you only have 4 Wounds left, roll all 9 shots together, and 4 of them are 1s, you still fully resolve the 5 shots that weren't 1s before you apply the MWs to your unit. Don't know if I'd call it gaming for advantage myself (no more than I'd call tri-pointing "gaming for advantage"), but it IS allowed by the rules.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
He's technically right, "gaming for advantage" or no. By RAW, you're allowed to group similar attacks together. If you only have 4 Wounds left, roll all 9 shots together, and 4 of them are 1s, you still fully resolve the 5 shots that weren't 1s before you apply the MWs to your unit. Don't know if I'd call it gaming for advantage myself (no more than I'd call tri-pointing "gaming for advantage"), but it IS allowed by the rules.
Ok, then since:

...In order to make several attacks at once, all of the attacks must have the same Ballistic Skill
(if it’s a shooting attack) or the same Weapon Skill (if it’s a close combat attack). They must also
have the same Strength, Armour Penetration and Damage characteristics, and they must be
directed at the same unit.

And there is no stipulation within the blurb for Fast Dice Rolling that all attacks must be made from the same unit, since the blurb is a blurb and not a "true" part of texts within the shooting phase sequences, why don't I shoot all of my plasmaguns, one from unit A, another 2 from unit B, another 3 in unit C, etc.,in range or not, all at once?

After all, fast dice rolling concerns about only 5 things:
1. same BS/WS
2. same S
3. same AP
4. same D
5. same target

It doesn't say you have to be in range, or the attack has to come from the unit you've activated?

Technically, I'm right, no?
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Unfortunately, you're incorrect because, by RAW, the first step in the attack sequence is "choose a unit to attack with". So, by RAW, you can't fastroll multiple units at the same time (though plenty of folks do so anyway). Try again. You almost had a point there.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
He's technically right, "gaming for advantage" or no. By RAW, you're allowed to group similar attacks together. If you only have 4 Wounds left, roll all 9 shots together, and 4 of them are 1s, you still fully resolve the 5 shots that weren't 1s before you apply the MWs to your unit. Don't know if I'd call it gaming for advantage myself (no more than I'd call tri-pointing "gaming for advantage"), but it IS allowed by the rules.
Ok, then since:

...In order to make several attacks at once, all of the attacks must have the same Ballistic Skill
(if it’s a shooting attack) or the same Weapon Skill (if it’s a close combat attack). They must also
have the same Strength, Armour Penetration and Damage characteristics, and they must be
directed at the same unit.

And there is no stipulation within the blurb for Fast Dice Rolling that all attacks must be made from the same unit, since the blurb is a blurb and not a "true" part of texts within the shooting phase sequences, why don't I shoot all of my plasmaguns, one from unit A, another 2 from unit B, another 3 in unit C, etc.,in range or not, all at once?

After all, fast dice rolling concerns about only 5 things:
1. same BS/WS
2. same S
3. same AP
4. same D
5. same target

It doesn't say you have to be in range, or the attack has to come from the unit you've activated?

Technically, I'm right, no?


Well, you are still locked into the shooting sequence, you have already gone through Choose Unit, Choose Target and Choose Weapon, to there doesn't need to be a stipulation that all attacks must be made from the same unit, since at the stage you're at in the shooting process it can only involve one unit.

And what's this crap about a "blurb" being a blurb for Fast Rolling Dice? You've quoted the rules for fast rolling dice, it's not just a blurb.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
Unfortunately, you're incorrect because, by RAW, the first step in the attack sequence is "choose a unit to attack with". So, by RAW, you can't fastroll multiple units at the same time (though plenty of folks do so anyway). Try again. You almost had a point there.
Please provide me a citation where it says I can't. Are the rules for fast rolling specifically mentioned in the first step of the shooting phase sequencing? So if I have a plasmagun in squad A, with BS4/RP 2/18"/S8/AP-3/D1, and a plasmagun from squad B, with BS4/RP 2/18"/S8/AP-3/D1 and they're both being fired at the same target, do they not:
1. have the same BS?
2. have the same S?
3. have the same AP?
4. have the same D?
5. firing at the same target?

But I digress - the point of this exercise was to show that both the fast rolling rule works in tandem with the rest of the rule, just as you describe. By "choosing" to fast roll your overcharged plasmas in order to circumvent a possible outcome which may be unfavorable to you is exactly the definition of gaming for advantage, RAW or not.

You are choosing to ignore the cautionary excerpt, that the "rules for resolving attacks have been written assuming you will make them one at a time". By RAW, you are supposed to roll for attacks individually because the rules were written so that you make 1 attacks at a time.

A S8/AP-3 attack that blew up in your face is not a similar attack as S8/AP-3 attack that didn't.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/24 20:45:53


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

By your logic, an attack that misses is not similar to an attack that hits. The only restrictions on fastrolling are listed in the fastrolling sidebar. Anything else is your house rules.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
Unfortunately, you're incorrect because, by RAW, the first step in the attack sequence is "choose a unit to attack with". So, by RAW, you can't fastroll multiple units at the same time (though plenty of folks do so anyway). Try again. You almost had a point there.
Please provide me a citation where it says I can't.


It's at the beginning of Fast Dice Rolling.

"The rules for resolving attackes have beenwritten assuming you will make the one at a time.

However, it is possible to speed up your battles by rolling the dice for similar attackes together."

Resolve attacks is step 4 in the shooting sequence. You are dealing with one unit firing at this point. If you are trying to group more than one unit you are ignoring what the shooting sequence states and what fast dice rolling states.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/24 20:59:37


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
By your logic, an attack that misses is not similar to an attack that hits. The only restrictions on fastrolling are listed in the fastrolling sidebar. Anything else is your house rules.
A declared attack is a declared attack, whether missed or not. The rules are written so that things play out one by one. Which makes sequencing important part of the game. If a model is equipped with both a weapon that causes itself to blow up and a weapon that doesn't, it is wise for you to resolve the latter attack prior to the former, because the rules are written so that attacks are made one at a time.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Fast rolling doesn't absolve you from keeping track of the order you fired the weapons in.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 doctortom wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
Unfortunately, you're incorrect because, by RAW, the first step in the attack sequence is "choose a unit to attack with". So, by RAW, you can't fastroll multiple units at the same time (though plenty of folks do so anyway). Try again. You almost had a point there.
Please provide me a citation where it says I can't.


It's at the beginning of Fast Dice Rolling.

"The rules for resolving attackes have beenwritten assuming you will make the one at a time.

However, it is possible to speed up your battles by rolling the dice for similar attackes together."

Resolve attackes is step 4 in the shooting sequence. You are dealing with one unit firing at this point. If you are trying to group more than one unit you are ignoring what the shooting sequence states and what fast dice rolling states.
I was playing the devil's advocate.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

They are. But they also provide rules for resolving attacks simultaneously. Which you want to conveniently ignore, because it doesn't fit the narrative you want to present. If you have a single unit with 9 Plasma Guns, you are, by RAW, allowed to fastroll them. The same as you'd be allowed to fastroll 9 guns that DON'T explode in your face. The fastroll rules don't distinguish between these two weapon types.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
Unfortunately, you're incorrect because, by RAW, the first step in the attack sequence is "choose a unit to attack with". So, by RAW, you can't fastroll multiple units at the same time (though plenty of folks do so anyway). Try again. You almost had a point there.
Please provide me a citation where it says I can't.


It's at the beginning of Fast Dice Rolling.

"The rules for resolving attackes have beenwritten assuming you will make the one at a time.

However, it is possible to speed up your battles by rolling the dice for similar attackes together."

Resolve attacks is step 4 in the shooting sequence. You are dealing with one unit firing at this point. If you are trying to group more than one unit you are ignoring what the shooting sequence states and what fast dice rolling states.
I was playing the devil's advocate.


Better to do it on some point that isn't easily demonstrably false like saying it doesn't prevent you from grouping different units' fire together.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
They are. But they also provide rules for resolving attacks simultaneously. Which you want to conveniently ignore, because it doesn't fit the narrative you want to present. If you have a single unit with 9 Plasma Guns, you are, by RAW, allowed to fastroll them. The same as you'd be allowed to fastroll 9 guns that DON'T explode in your face. The fastroll rules don't distinguish between these two weapon types.

...However, it is possible to speed up your battles...
The purpose of fast rolling dices is to speed up your games, not to change the outcomes of the dice rolls.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

The purpose of Assault Weapons is to allow you to fire after Advancing, but by a strict RAW reading, they don't. You're asking what the RAW is in regards to this situation. I'm just providing it for you. I ain't even saying this is HIWPI. Just what the rules say.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
The purpose of Assault Weapons is to allow you to fire after Advancing, but by a strict RAW reading, they don't. You're asking what the RAW is in regards to this situation. I'm just providing it for you. I ain't even saying this is HIWPI. Just what the rules say.
Irrelevant. The RAW states fast rolling is for speeding up the game. I'm not saying this is HIWPI - just what the rules say. If you are fast rolling to change the outcome of a roll by making the attacks non-sequentially, you're gaming for advantage via mallicious interpretation of RAW through selective reading and rules stapling.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Again, gaming for advantage or no, it is allowed. Unless you purport to be able to read the mind of your opponent and know if they're fastrolling for advantage or just to speed things up, you kinda just gotta take em at their word.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 flandarz wrote:
Again, gaming for advantage or no, it is allowed. Unless you purport to be able to read the mind of your opponent and know if they're fastrolling for advantage or just to speed things up, you kinda just gotta take em at their word.
If you let your opponent fast roll his OC plasma on you, that's on you. If you want to "speed up" your casualties, that is. I suppose thats one way of interpreting 'speeding up' a game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/24 22:03:22


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

You don't have to allow anything. Fastrolling attacks is allowed, regardless of the other person's consent. The other parts of the attack sequence aren't (I believe), but to-hit rolls are. In other words: "Your compliance is not a factor".

Really, the best argument that's come up is BCB's one that you still have to track the order of the attacks. Unfortunately, unless the targeted unit is destroyed, you still have to resolve all attacks which hit a target, even if the attacker is "destroyed" by his own attacks.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: