Switch Theme:

sneaking units into CC - pile-in to other units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






if I were to have a large unit positioned within 3" of 2 different units, can I declare a charge on one and move the first few models closer and the rest insignificantly so (up to my charge roll), and then pile-in to within 1" of the other unit (which is the closest enemy unit to the model moving), thereby tying them up in combat, but negating my ability to attack them (as I did not declare a charge on them)?

I'm wondering if this is a legitimate way to avoid overwatch from a unit which is scary in shooting but weak in CC, EG a unit with a lot of flamers.

This could be an option for a very cheeky use of Da Jump, using 30 boys to appear strung-out 9.1" from a gunline, declare a charge on a single unit in the middle, take a little overwatch, charge move towards enemy lines (thus moving closer to the target of the charge, if not directly at them) and then pile-in to the nearest enemy unit, being the one directly in front of them. Yes, they will have to tank the hits as they can only attack the unit they charged, but as long as they leave 1 model in CC with each unit when removing casualties, then they will have tied up the whole firing line for a turn.

not a very sporting tactic I know, and one I would only reserve for someone who's obviously tailored against me or uses dirty tactics of their own, but seems legitimate.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, this is a common tactic used at tournaments. In fact, only a single model (the first model moved) from a unit needs to complete the charge move within 1" of the target of the charge. The rest can be moved anywhere within the charge range! HOWEVER note that if you charged then you can only make attacks against units that you targeted with the charge, but your opponent's units (that did not charge) can activate to attack so long as an enemy unit is within 1" of them.

A great tactic then is to target one thing with a charge (for example, a unit of Guardsmen) and then use your charge range to surround an enemy unit that's not good at fighting (like a Leman Russ Tank). You fight the Guardsmen, but pile in/consolidate into the tank to get the surround on it. The tank gets to fight back, but it never made overwatch shots, you never had the risk of destroying it, and now it can't leave combat with you on your opponent's turn and so the unit that charged is safe from shooting!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Yes.

You pile in and consolidate towards the nearest model. you cannot attacked them in CC as they were not charge, but Tagging units like this is a big thing for CC armies.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Yarium wrote:
In fact, only a single model (the first model moved) from a unit needs to complete the charge move within 1" of the target of the charge. The rest can be moved anywhere within the charge range!

You cannot get within 1" of enemy units that you did not declare a charge against as part of your charge move though. That has to be done using pile in or consolidate moves.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As the others have said, perfectly legal and perfectly sporting. The rules allow you to do it, therefore it is fine to do.
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Procrastinator extraordinaire





London, UK

Perfectly legal and is used extensively in the tournament scene. I wouldn't call it bad sportsmanship to do it.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Ok, I had thought this was some element of RAW abuse or exploitation, but it sounds like it's a common enough tactic!

I'll certainly be trying to tag some tanks next game!

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: