Switch Theme:

Several Questions/Scenarios around the Fight Phase  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal






Halifax, NS

Scenario 1:
- Unit A declares a charge against Unit B
- Unit A successfully charges and wipes out Unit B
- At the end of the Fight Phase they consolidate within 1" of Unit C
- Given that this is the end of the Fight Phase, does Unit C get to fight, or do they have to wait until their turn?

Scenario 2:
- Unit A declares a dual charge against Unit B and Unit C
- Unit A successfully charges Unit B but remains outside of 1" from Unit C
- Unit A has 12 attacks but declares 6 attacks against Unit B and 6 attacks against Unit C
- Unit A wipes out unit B and consolidates into within 1" of Unit C
- Can unit a use the 6 declared attacks against unit C or was declaring the 6 attacks invalid to begin with?

Scenario 3:
- Same as Scenario 1 except Unit A utilizes a strategy that let's them Fight a second time at the end of the Fight Phase.

Scenario 4:
- Same as Scenario 2 except Unit A utilizes a strategum that let's the Fight a second time at the end of the Fight Phase.

Scenario 5:
- Unit A declares a dual charge against Unit B and a nearby enemy character.
- The charge roll is enough to reach Unit B but not the character
- The enemy character near Unit B and declares Heroic Intervention and piles into Unit A
- Can Unit A target the Character that Heroically Intervened in the Fight Phase for attacks?

Scenario 6:
- Unit A is 3" away from Unit B when they declare a charge.
- Unit A rolls 8" on the charge. Enough to completely envelope the enemy unit
- Can Unit A choose not to engage all of its unit in the charge?
- Can Unit A instead move 1 model from the unit within 1" of Unit B and use the rest of the unit to move 8" towards another enemy unit so long as they stay within coherency?


Scenario 7
- It's the end of the Fight Phase and Unit A chooses to Consolidate towards the nearest enemy unit.
- Does Unit A have to move all it's models in the move? Can it instead just move some of its model and have others remain stationary (so long they keep coherency)?

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






1) You don't consolidate at the end of the fight phase, you consolidate immediately after the Resolve Close Combat Attacks step. If you're talking about Khorne Berserkers and their Fight Again stratagem, Special Snowflake FAQ allows any units you consolidate into to attack the Berserkers despite it being the end of the Fight phase.

2) You can't declare attacks at units more than 1" from your unit.

3) See 2)

4) See 3)

5) Yes, because the Character was a target of the charge in the Fight phase and unit A charged. Heroic Interventions take place in the Charge phase, and you're within 1" in the Fight phase.

6) Correct. Unlike Pile In and Consolidate, Charge Moves have zero restriction on what direction they can go other than the fact the first model must get within 1" and you have to keep coherency. Keep in mind you cannot move within 1" of a unit you did not declare as a charge target.

7) Again, you don't consolidate at the end of the fight phase, you consolidate immediately after the Resolve Close Combat Attacks step. Consolidate moves are "up to" three inches, so you can choose to move models 0" if you so desire.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/02/02 13:58:10


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Subsequent question, can you heroically intervene in your own turn, for example to avoid overwatch?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 AndrewC wrote:
Subsequent question, can you heroically intervene in your own turn, for example to avoid overwatch?

Cheers

Andrew
No-only in your opponent's Charge Phase.

Edit: Do note you can Heroically Intervene even if no charges were made-but not in your own turn. Only the enemy's.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/02 17:06:45


Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 JNAProductions wrote:
 AndrewC wrote:
Subsequent question, can you heroically intervene in your own turn, for example to avoid overwatch?

Cheers

Andrew
No-only in your opponent's Charge Phase.

Edit: Do note you can Heroically Intervene even if no charges were made-but not in your own turn. Only the enemy's.
This. Don't forget that when you HI you don't need to move within 1" of an enemy when you HI, just start within 3" of an enemy model and move closer to the closest enemy model.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: