Switch Theme:

Can a unit choose not to fight in melee?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Idaho

Simple enough question. Is a unit that is locked in combat forced to fight during the fight phase or can they simply choose not to fight the enemy unit that is within 1 inch?
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

This was answered in an FAQ, and GW says "no. You have to fight."
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight




Idaho

Cool thanks
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Pg 4 of the 40k Rulebook Errata PDF, at the bottom right.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Note that if you dont want to do much damage for some reason, you always have the option of fighting with the basic Close Combay Weapon, that every model is considered to have. That strength user, no AP, 1 damage.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





one more thing, while you are forced to fight, you don't have to pile in. So if some of your guys aren't in range to fight, you can just leave them so they can't fight

 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Note that if your playing againgst someone who uses ITC rules a lot, they do have the option to not fight.

However, if they choose not to fight, you also have an option to tell them to just pick up the unit in response.



RAW though, you do have to fight.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

terry wrote:
one more thing, while you are forced to fight, you don't have to pile in. So if some of your guys aren't in range to fight, you can just leave them so they can't fight


A unit that has charged must fight, because the FAQ says so. Even if it isnt within 1" of enemy models, because of casualties suffered from previous fights. They are eligible to fight, because they charged, therefore they must pile in, and fight. Core rules say you may pile in, but this FAQ overrides that, and says they must fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so – you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





But the pile in may still be 0, so your point is irrelevant.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
terry wrote:
one more thing, while you are forced to fight, you don't have to pile in. So if some of your guys aren't in range to fight, you can just leave them so they can't fight


A unit that has charged must fight, because the FAQ says so. Even if it isnt within 1" of enemy models, because of casualties suffered from previous fights. They are eligible to fight, because they charged, therefore they must pile in, and fight. Core rules say you may pile in, but this FAQ overrides that, and says they must fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so – you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).
No where does that say you have to pile in.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Technically, you always pile in and consolidate. However, a 0" pile in and a 0" consolidate are completely legal.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The FAQ says that eligible units must fight. So you must pile in with your charged unit, and get within 1", otherwise you cant fight.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Some models may not be able to but the unit can.

You are under no obligation to pile in or consolidate. From the Core Rules:


2. Pile In
You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.



6. Consolidate
You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.


Note the use of 'may', which is not an obligation. Know your Core Rules, p5!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





To me 'must fight' means that they must go through the steps of the fight phase. This means that they can make a 0" pile in and fail to get in contact with any units, rendering the remaining steps redundant.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Bilge Rat wrote:
To me 'must fight' means that they must go through the steps of the fight phase. This means that they can make a 0" pile in and fail to get in contact with any units, rendering the remaining steps redundant.


This. Fighting and making attacks in the Fight phase are two very different things.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You don't even need to 'make a 0" move'. 'May' means such moves are entirely optional.

p5freak is incorrectly assuming conflating 'unit must Fight' with 'all models possible to get within 1" of the enemy must'... something which isn't stated or implied anywhere in the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/24 14:30:35


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JohnnyHell wrote:
You don't even need to 'make a 0" move'. 'May' means such moves are entirely optional.

p5freak is incorrectly assuming conflating 'unit must Fight' with 'all models possible to get within 1" of the enemy must'... something which isn't stated or implied anywhere in the rules.


Exactly this.

This is just another instance of making an absurd assertion about RAW that has no weight. We would do better to not engage and all just move on.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Bilge Rat wrote:
To me 'must fight' means that they must go through the steps of the fight phase. This means that they can make a 0" pile in and fail to get in contact with any units, rendering the remaining steps redundant.
Exactly, you have to go through all steps for every eligible unit but movement during those steps is always optional.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Eihnlazer wrote:
Note that if your playing againgst someone who uses ITC rules a lot, they do have the option to not fight.

However, if they choose not to fight, you also have an option to tell them to just pick up the unit in response.



RAW though, you do have to fight.

well itc rules are a form of house rules, so should be agreed upon

 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 p5freak wrote:
The FAQ says that eligible units must fight. So you must pile in with your charged unit, and get within 1", otherwise you cant fight.


A) nowhere it says you must pile. Furthermore it doesn"t change how pile is done and 0" pile is legal.

Anybomy claiming otherwise is deliberately lylng to either mislead or cause trouble

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Did anyone of you even bother to read the FAQ i quoted ? Read the red part. To fight means to do close combat attacks. You cannot choose not to pile in, or to pile in 0", because that would mean you dont get to fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so
– you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

According to the battle primer, "eligible units" include the following: units that have charged and units within 1" of an enemy unit. If you remove models to place yourself outside of 1" of an enemy unit, you don't have to pile on and fight, because that unit is no longer an "eligible" unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Did anyone of you even bother to read the FAQ i quoted ? Read the red part. To fight means to do close combat attacks. You cannot choose not to pile in, or to pile in 0", because that would mean you dont get to fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so
– you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).


Thats not at all what the FAQ response says, nor does fighting in the context of the 40k ruleset equate to making close combat attacks. They are two fundamentally different things, and you are deliberately (and entirely incorrectly) conflating them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/24 17:42:19


 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Did anyone of you even bother to read the FAQ i quoted ? Read the red part. To fight means to do close combat attacks. You cannot choose not to pile in, or to pile in 0", because that would mean you dont get to fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so
– you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).
Yes, if your in range of an enemy model you have to attack with all your attacks. That doesn't say I need to pile in to ensure I have someone in range to attack in the first place.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Ordana wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Did anyone of you even bother to read the FAQ i quoted ? Read the red part. To fight means to do close combat attacks. You cannot choose not to pile in, or to pile in 0", because that would mean you dont get to fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so
– you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).
Yes, if your in range of an enemy model you have to attack with all your attacks. That doesn't say I need to pile in to ensure I have someone in range to attack in the first place.


Exactly. You don't have to make strategic decisions to get to a point where you're eligible to roll dice. They're just saying that rolling the dice isn't optional.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
The FAQ says that eligible units must fight. So you must pile in with your charged unit, and get within 1", otherwise you cant fight.


What you quoted said nothing about having to move individual models. In fact, the main rules say for pile in that youmay move each model up to 3". GW has defined that when they say a model may do something it is not required that they do it. Check your core rules.

EDIT: I see others have pointed this out. But, to address your response to them, I point again to the pile in rules which say you may more up to 3". There is no requirement that you have to get within 1". That is something you are remembering from the charge phase and from previous editions. It is perfect okay for models to move 0" in the pile in step at this fulfills the requirement that they may move up to 3".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/24 18:21:06


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 p5freak wrote:
The FAQ says that eligible units must fight. So you must pile in with your charged unit, and get within 1", otherwise you cant fight.
Eligible UNITS must fight. MODELS not within eligible range CANNOT swing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/24 19:21:39


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

P5freak is just plain wrong here, as all the other posts show. He’s been told numerous times so should probably just reread the existing replies rather than everyone type the same thing out again fifty more ways.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 p5freak wrote:
Did anyone of you even bother to read the FAQ i quoted ? Read the red part. To fight means to do close combat attacks. You cannot choose not to pile in, or to pile in 0", because that would mean you dont get to fight.

Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally,
a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot
‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit
charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight
before any non-charging models in the Fight phase
(barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat
attacks if it can do so
– you cannot choose for it not to do so
(though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close
combat attack).

Right. I think I get what you're trying to say: the FAQ dictates that the models must make all of its close combat attacks if possible. Your reasoning for not allowing a no-or-0" pile in is that by doing so, the model is not making all of the close combat attacks it is possible to make. In other words, the model must do everything it can to make all of its attacks.

That interpretation would make sense, if not for this more specific ruling:
Q: When piling in and consolidating, does a model have to
move as close as possible towards the nearest enemy model, or do
they just need to move closer to it?
A: If a model moves at all when piling in or
consolidating, it only has to end its move closer to
the nearest enemy model than where it started. It
is not necessary to move as close as possible (i.e.
base-to-base contact).
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Cheexsta gets what I'm saying. Two contradicting FAQs, thanks GW

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/25 02:38:55


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: