| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 15:54:55
Subject: Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice
|
So on page 213 of the BRB paragraph 2:
"Whenever a model makes any kind of move, it can be moved across aircraft models (and their bases)
as if they were not there, and they can be moved within an enemy aircrafts engagement range,
but it cannot end the move on top of another model (or its base),
and it cannot end the move within engagement range of any enemy aircraft models."
Further on in heroic interventions, pile ins and consolidations it even tells us to ignore aircraft when performing them.
So far I have not found anything in the charge phase section or regarding the fly keyword that grants an exception to this. it cannot end the move within engagement range of any enemy aircraft models.
Opinions?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 16:06:54
Subject: Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't have the book yet but my understanding is that the text for the FLY keyword states that it supersedes the ones you quoted.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 16:25:21
Subject: Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bilge Rat wrote:I don't have the book yet but my understanding is that the text for the FLY keyword states that it supersedes the ones you quoted.
CHecking the free online basic rules. Nope.
There is an exception for FLY that you don't ignore aircraft for heroic intervention/pile in/consolidate but no where does it say a model with FLY can charge an aircraft.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 16:31:50
Subject: Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice
|
Ordana wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:I don't have the book yet but my understanding is that the text for the FLY keyword states that it supersedes the ones you quoted.
CHecking the free online basic rules. Nope.
There is an exception for FLY that you don't ignore aircraft for heroic intervention/pile in/consolidate but no where does it say a model with FLY can charge an aircraft.
^This is true.
But as I originally stated, even then it doesn't actually allow you to end in engagement range.
So far I still haven't found an exception (I have the book and am studying it now).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 16:41:36
Subject: Re:Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Wow, some people cant be bothered to check YMDC, to see if this hasnt been covered yet.
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/790230.page
In short, the restriction you posted only applies in the movement phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/25 16:42:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 16:51:25
Subject: Re:Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice
|
Calm down dude. I scrolled through and missed it, which happens.
Furthermore, that thread you shared doesn't change anything really. Your claiming the section it's listed under (movement) somehow is the answer despite that same section listing heroic interventions, pile ins and consolidations which all exclusively happen in the charge and assault phases respectively. Which entirely shoots down that argument.
The charge phase gives you permission to move within engagement range, and so does the aircraft rule ironically. The trouble is the aircraft rule specifically states units cannot end within engagement range and there is no illicit exception to that statement in the book. Mind you the aircraft is also in the advanced section.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 17:08:12
Subject: Re:Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Rules from a specific phase only apply to that phase, unless the rule says something else.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 17:27:59
Subject: Re:Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice
|
p5freak wrote:Rules from a specific phase only apply to that phase, unless the rule says something else.
Which they do. They specifically call out three types of move that occur in both the charge and/or melee phase.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/07/25 20:25:14
Subject: Re:Aircraft CANNOT by engaged in 9th?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Red Corsair wrote: p5freak wrote:Rules from a specific phase only apply to that phase, unless the rule says something else.
Which they do. They specifically call out three types of move that occur in both the charge and/or melee phase.
Yes, the rules for pile in, consolidate, and heroic intervention from the movement phase apply in the charge phase. But not the one about engagement range of AIRCRAFT. This restriction doesnt exist in the charge phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|