Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 10:59:01
Subject: Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
|
Hello,
I had a question building a Tyranid list with the Rule of 3 at the 2000 point level.
Can I run something like this:
3 Carnifex (TL Devourers)
3 Carnifex (Venom Cannon / Scyth Tal)
3 Carnifex (2x Scyth Tals)
Or am I maxed at 3 Carnifexs?
also a second question - if I run Hive Guard: Can I only run one squad of 6 Hive Guard and if I have a second squad of 6 do they have to have a different weapon loan out?
I apologize - I'm not 100% sure where the rule of 3 is listed for 9th edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 11:08:46
Subject: Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Moustache-twirling Princeps
|
It used to be based off the datasheet, so three units of Carnifex or Hive Guard total irregardless of weapon options.
I thought for 9th it was in the Mission Pack, but I can't spot it - I'll have a good look.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 11:31:52
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The rule of 3 is listed in the matched play section of the rules. See eternal war missions. You cant have 9 carnifexes, you are maxed at 3, because its the same datasheet.
You can run 3 * 6 hive guard with different weapons.
If you play imperium, you can have up to 49 (!) leman russ tanks, if points allow it, because they have seven different datasheets, and a unit of leman russes can be 3 tanks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/12 11:32:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 11:52:52
Subject: Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Carnifexes can come in units up to 3 models per-unit. When you set them up they must be within 6" of each other and then are treated as a separate unit.
If the Rule of 3 only cares about Datasheets then yes, you can bring 9 Carnifexes. You could also bring 9 Screamer Killer and 9 Thornbacks for a total of 27.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 11:54:53
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Material for Haemonculus Experiments
|
p5freak wrote:The rule of 3 is listed in the matched play section of the rules. See eternal war missions. You cant have 9 carnifexes, you are maxed at 3, because its the same datasheet.
You can run 3 * 6 hive guard with different weapons.
If you play imperium, you can have up to 49 (!) leman russ tanks, if points allow it, because they have seven different datasheets, and a unit of leman russes can be 3 tanks.
Thats kind of similar with carnifexes in particular there are 3 different data sheets in the codex and another in the forgeworld index that come in unit of up to 3 so you can technically run 36 if you have enough detachment slots.
So you can take 3 units of 3 thornback(shooting loadouts) , 3 units of 3 screamer killer (fixed melee loadout), 3 units of 3 carnifexs (mixed loadout) and then 3 units of 3 stonecrusher carnifex (forge World melee anti-building loadout)
For hiveguard when playing strike force and above level games you can have 3 units, and those 3 units can have any available options such as more models in the units or different weapons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 12:35:23
Subject: Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stevefamine wrote:Hello,
I had a question building a Tyranid list with the Rule of 3 at the 2000 point level.
Can I run something like this:
3 Carnifex ( TL Devourers)
3 Carnifex (Venom Cannon / Scyth Tal)
3 Carnifex (2x Scyth Tals)
Or am I maxed at 3 Carnifexs?
also a second question - if I run Hive Guard: Can I only run one squad of 6 Hive Guard and if I have a second squad of 6 do they have to have a different weapon loan out?
I apologize - I'm not 100% sure where the rule of 3 is listed for 9th edition.
The rule of 3 applies to datasheets/units. Since Carnifexes can be taken in units of 3, you can bring three UNITS of Carnifex, with each unit having 3 Carnifex models, and you're good to go
You can load out each unit however you want, following the restrictions of the datasheet. So yes, the Hive Guard can both be armed the same, or both be armed differently. Your choice.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 12:51:11
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
aldo1234 wrote:
Thats kind of similar with carnifexes in particular there are 3 different data sheets in the codex and another in the forgeworld index that come in unit of up to 3 so you can technically run 36 if you have enough detachment slots.
So you can take 3 units of 3 thornback(shooting loadouts) , 3 units of 3 screamer killer (fixed melee loadout), 3 units of 3 carnifexs (mixed loadout) and then 3 units of 3 stonecrusher carnifex (forge World melee anti-building loadout)
For hiveguard when playing strike force and above level games you can have 3 units, and those 3 units can have any available options such as more models in the units or different weapons
Ok, but technically thornbacks, and screamer killers, arent carnifexes. They are thornbacks and screamer killers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 13:52:38
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote:aldo1234 wrote:
Thats kind of similar with carnifexes in particular there are 3 different data sheets in the codex and another in the forgeworld index that come in unit of up to 3 so you can technically run 36 if you have enough detachment slots.
So you can take 3 units of 3 thornback(shooting loadouts) , 3 units of 3 screamer killer (fixed melee loadout), 3 units of 3 carnifexs (mixed loadout) and then 3 units of 3 stonecrusher carnifex (forge World melee anti-building loadout)
For hiveguard when playing strike force and above level games you can have 3 units, and those 3 units can have any available options such as more models in the units or different weapons
Ok, but technically thornbacks, and screamer killers, arent carnifexes. They are thornbacks and screamer killers.
Technically the seven different Leman Russ type datasheets aren't just Leman Russes, they have different names. It's a simlar situation here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 15:30:29
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
doctortom wrote: p5freak wrote:aldo1234 wrote: Thats kind of similar with carnifexes in particular there are 3 different data sheets in the codex and another in the forgeworld index that come in unit of up to 3 so you can technically run 36 if you have enough detachment slots. So you can take 3 units of 3 thornback(shooting loadouts) , 3 units of 3 screamer killer (fixed melee loadout), 3 units of 3 carnifexs (mixed loadout) and then 3 units of 3 stonecrusher carnifex (forge World melee anti-building loadout) For hiveguard when playing strike force and above level games you can have 3 units, and those 3 units can have any available options such as more models in the units or different weapons Ok, but technically thornbacks, and screamer killers, arent carnifexes. They are thornbacks and screamer killers. Technically the seven different Leman Russ type datasheets aren't just Leman Russes, they have different names. It's a simlar situation here.
If you mean the Forge World stuff, then yes. If you mean the Leman Russ Battle Tank unit from the codex, then no, that is not correct. The "Rule of 3" only cares about the actual datasheet, not the names of models. It's why you can take for example, three Death Guard Chaos Land Raiders and three normal CSM Land Raiders, because despite having the same name, they aren't the same datasheet. You can't take three Ultamarines and three Iron Hands Land Raiders because despite the keywords not being the same they are the same datasheet. You 100% can take 3 units of carnifexes, 3 units of thornbacks and 3 units of Screamer-Killers in the same army. They aren't the same datasheet.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2020/08/12 15:34:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 15:43:55
Subject: Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
|
Thanks alright I'm glad
I was worried it worked like p5freak said with a max of 3 fexs.
Thats good to know! Thanks guys!!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 15:55:46
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
BaconCatBug wrote:You 100% can take 3 units of carnifexes, 3 units of thornbacks and 3 units of Screamer-Killers in the same army. They aren't the same datasheet.
Until GW changes that rule in an FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 16:26:31
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
H.B.M.C. wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:You 100% can take 3 units of carnifexes, 3 units of thornbacks and 3 units of Screamer-Killers in the same army. They aren't the same datasheet.
Until GW changes that rule in an FAQ.
Why would they? It's how it worked in 8th too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/12 23:09:11
Subject: Re:Rule of 3 with Tyranids - how does it work?
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Because the person responsible for the FAQs will misinterpret the rule and change it in the FAQ, rather than using the FAQ for what it's meant for (ie. clarifying rules and fixing actual mistakes).
|
|
|
 |
 |
|