Switch Theme:

Definition of my turn and your turn, destroyed transports and charges.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob





United States

pg 204 "Warhammer 40k is played in a series of battle rounds. In each battle round, both players have a turn... Each turn consists of a series of phases, which must be resolved in the following order:"

pg 211 Destroyed transports "Units cannot declare a charge or perform a Heroic Intervention in the same turn that they disembarked from a destroyed transport model.

If it is my opponent's turn, and he destroys my transport during his turn, when it becomes my turn, am I allowed to charge?

I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, you are allowed to charge in your turn if the transport was destroyed in your opponent's turn. It specifies that turn, not "your" turn.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob





United States

 doctortom wrote:
Yes, you are allowed to charge in your turn if the transport was destroyed in your opponent's turn. It specifies that turn, not "your" turn.


So if it's Battle Round two. And it's his turn, my transport dies, then it's my turn, in battle round 2, we still get to charge?

I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Rismonite wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Yes, you are allowed to charge in your turn if the transport was destroyed in your opponent's turn. It specifies that turn, not "your" turn.


So if it's Battle Round two. And it's his turn, my transport dies, then it's my turn, in battle round 2, we still get to charge?
Yes, because the unit did not disembark that turn. They disembarked this battle round, sure, but that is irrelevant as the rules don't care if you disembark from a destroyed transport this battle round.
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




So if it's Battle Round two. And it's his turn, my transport dies, then it's my turn, in battle round 2, we still get to charge?


Correct! This rule was added to get rid of some weird situations players would try to pull.

The most common trick was to move a chaos rhino max distance, then in the shooting phase overcharge the attached plasma gun. If they rolled a 1, the transport was destroyed and the models inside disembarked. They could then charge since there was no restrictions on charging (besides advancing or falling back).

This rule prevents you from doing this (or something similar).

9000+
8000+
7000+
(Custodes) 4000+
 Purifier wrote:
Option 5, what's the point of fixing a chair in a burning house?
 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 Rismonite wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Yes, you are allowed to charge in your turn if the transport was destroyed in your opponent's turn. It specifies that turn, not "your" turn.


So if it's Battle Round two. And it's his turn, my transport dies, then it's my turn, in battle round 2, we still get to charge?


Yes. Battle round has 2 turns. If opponent destroys rhino in his turn then your turn isn't same turn. Could be same battle round but as rule refers to same turn it's irrelevant.

This was to get rid of stuff like suicide rhino with berserkers. Shoot combi plasma with - to hit to self destruct and charge with surviving berserkers. While funny it's still silly and gamey solution so good riddance

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/11 09:03:01


2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: