Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/22 15:46:52
Subject: A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Let's look at Will of the Hive Mind. There are others that basically say the same thing, but it's the one I have in front of me right now:
Will of the Hive Mind: Once per turn, one friendly Tyranids
unit within 12" of one or more models with this ability can be
targeted with a Stratagem for 0CP, even if another unit from
your army has already been targeted with that Stratagem
this phase.
It's that last part I want to concentrate on: "... even if another unit from your army has already been targeted with that Stratagem this phase."
What if you haven't used that strat (whatever that strat may be) this phase so far?
Scenario 1:
I use Command Re-Roll, paying 1CP, to re-roll something during my shooting phase.
During the same shooting phase, I make use of Will of the Hive Mind to use Command Re-Roll again, this time for 0CP.
Scenario 2:
During my shooting phase I make use of Will of the Hive Mind to use the Command Re-Roll strat for 0CP.
Can I still use Command Re-Roll for 1CP later on in that same phase?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/22 16:00:02
Subject: A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can I still use Command Re-Roll for 1CP later on in that same phase?
I would say no: the Core Rules stipulate that you can't use Stratagems more than once in a turn. The ability has a special rule that allows you to disregard that in that specific case, but only in the context of using this ability. It does not 'reset' the 'has this Stratagem been used counter' for that turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/22 16:12:59
Subject: A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
That's my line of thinking as well.
Others may have different reasoning though. You never know!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/22 17:39:34
Subject: Re:A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
|
Agreed that it is making you choose the order of operations carefully and that scenario 2 can't happen and this is what we are seeing people play it as.
The two other nuances to these kinds of ability are:
- Overwatch has a limit of once per turn, can a use twice per phase ability change that? The thinking is no.
- Abilities that make something cost 1 more CP. An example, using a 2 CP cost stragem. The order for modifiers in the desginers commentary suggests you go down to 0 then add the 1, for 1 total. Not add 1 to 2, to get 3, then go down to 0. (There is a mission altering rule in the card based mission back in Leviathan that makes command re-rolls cost more but I don't know if that is a +1 or x2 which would be relevant).
This seems to be the way those two items are being played currently.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/22 17:40:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/22 19:00:36
Subject: A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, you have permission to use it for free even if it's already been used, but not the other way around.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/23 00:33:47
Subject: Re:A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I agree. There are a number of abilities written this way and I can only interpret it to be option 2. They could have written it to just not count against your 1 use per phase, but they didn't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/06/23 21:08:25
Subject: A query about 0 CP stratagems...
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Tsagualsa wrote: H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can I still use Command Re-Roll for 1CP later on in that same phase?
I would say no: the Core Rules stipulate that you can't use Stratagems more than once in a turn. The ability has a special rule that allows you to disregard that in that specific case, but only in the context of using this ability. It does not 'reset' the 'has this Stratagem been used counter' for that turn.
Agreed.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|