Switch Theme:

ToW Rules question - Multiple Wounds & Ward Save  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy




United Kingdom


so i was reading the rules and am a bit confused by the Multiple Wounds Roll and Ward Saves Rule
The Multiple Wound Rule says you roll for Multiple Wounds after the Armour Save,
but the Ward save Rule says you Roll for Ward saves after the Armour save.

The question is when do you roll for multiple wounds in regards to the wards save? before or after the Ward Save?




SMASH  
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

The way I read it is that you'd roll Ward Save BEFORE multiple wounds.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Moustache-twirling Princeps





PDX

 JNAProductions wrote:
The way I read it is that you'd roll Ward Save BEFORE multiple wounds.


That is how I read it as well.

   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yup, you multiply unsaved Wounds, just like in previous editions.
   
Made in gb
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy




United Kingdom

well that's what i thought, it is just the wording is a bit off, should really say "Roll for Multiple Wounds After Any Armour or Ward Save".

Instead, it just didn't even mention ward saves, it said "for each unsaved wound" but the game sequence seems to resolve Armour and Ward Saves at the same time so that does make sense, even if it is unclear to a novice like me.

SMASH  
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Chief Deputy Sub Assistant Trainee Squig Handling Intern






I see where the question arose and agree it’s not especially clear, as the first pic just doesn’t mention Ward saves at all.

But I agree with the consensus. Armour, Ward, Multiply.

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




I think this Q&A although not directly responding to it, is related and clarify it:

Q: If a model with the Regeneration (X+) special rule passes its Regeneration save against an attack with the Multiple Wounds (X) special rule, do I still need to roll the dice if the number of Multiple Wounds is generated by a dice roll?
A: Yes. Even though the wounds were saved, they will still count towards the combat result.

According to this you only do one regeneration save against the hit, no need to save each wound individually.
   
Made in gb
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy




United Kingdom

Darkial wrote:
I think this Q&A although not directly responding to it, is related and clarify it:

Q: If a model with the Regeneration (X+) special rule passes its Regeneration save against an attack with the Multiple Wounds (X) special rule, do I still need to roll the dice if the number of Multiple Wounds is generated by a dice roll?
A: Yes. Even though the wounds were saved, they will still count towards the combat result.

According to this you only do one regeneration save against the hit, no need to save each wound individually.


That one is even weirder, at least in my head.

Roll to wound - Regeneration Save (saved) - Continue rolling Multiple wounds for combat result reasons to see how many wounds were regenerated

Armour Save, Ward Save, Regen, Multi wound.

lol

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2024/01/25 18:10:03


SMASH  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Good mention! I hadn't considered this. That is a weird interaction. Almost makes you just wish they didn't count towards combat res.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: