Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:28:26
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ok so I searched 'vendetta transport' and 'vendetta', went 6 pages back, and couldn't find this, so apologies if this has been done before, but 6 pages is all I was willing to do, I hope that's alright.
My question is, can I put veterans inside a vendetta when I deploy? I mean before my scout move? Or deploy them 'embarked' in reserve? Or can I not do that since it is not a dedicated transport. My brother always tells me that I can't, and have to board on turn 1, but that seems kind of silly, and I can't find anywhere in the book which either says I can or can't so....
dakka, reveal unto me the secrets of the 'verse!
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:31:02
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You may only have unit start in a transport if they took it as a dedicated transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:37:02
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Damn. Thanks.
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:37:10
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
motyak wrote:My brother always tells me that I can't, and have to board on turn 1, but that seems kind of silly, and I can't find anywhere in the book which either says I can or can't so....
It's in the main rulebook, on page 67 - the box labeled "Dedicated transports". And you're also reminded of it on page 94 - "Preparing reserves".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/10 04:37:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:39:43
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
juraigamer wrote:You may only have unit start in a transport if they took it as a dedicated transport.
Actually you are wrong; it is the other way around. Any unit can deploy inside any vehicle so as long as that vehicle is not a dedicated transport belonging to another unit. So in other words, if it is a dedicated transport only the parent unit can deploy in it. If it a vehicle bought on its own (like the Vendetta) then any unit can deploy in it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 04:42:04
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
Basically (from my understanding) transports that aren't dedicated transports (stormravens, vendettas etc) can transport a unit just like a dedicated transport. The restriction comes from the dedicated transport where as it does NOT have to transport the unit that purchased it but no other unit can begin embarked on the dedicated transport. During that game the rule is no longer valid.
**Warning, new player please correct if wrong***
|
***Warning New Player: I will try to help anyone that has a unanswered question if I think I know the answer. I mean only to help so if I'm wrong please correct me.*** |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 05:14:18
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
damn. who to listen to? mimcry or juraigamer?
I'm going to go with mimicry for now, since I like his answer better...but that's just because I'm completely biased. Cheers fellas
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 05:19:27
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
motyak wrote:damn. who to listen to? mimcry or juraigamer?
I would go with the rulebook.
For dedicated transports, only the unit that owns the transport can start the game in it. For any other transport, any unit that can be legally transported can start in the transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 05:22:21
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Oh right. I could only see that first bit, the dedicated transports bit, in the rulebook. I missed the line which said that any transport can have any unit in it. Cheers insaniak
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 05:55:17
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
motyak wrote:Oh right. I could only see that first bit, the dedicated transports bit, in the rulebook. I missed the line which said that any transport can have any unit in it. Cheers insaniak
Also read the main rule book FAQ on the GW website.
Q: Can a unit start the game embarked in a nondedicated transport vehicle? (p92)
A: Yes, as long as its unit type is allowed to embark
onto that vehicle and it does not exceed the transport
capacity
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/10 13:44:02
Subject: Vendetta Question
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
Yes, the veterans may start inside the vendetta/valkyrie.
You do NOT need to have them outside and embark them on the first time. They may simply just start inside it.
|
Stats since joining Dakka
Corsair Eldar: 20 Win, 1 lose, 1 draw
Fallen Angels: 3 Win, 0 lose, 0 draw
Skavens: 2 Win, 0 lose, 0 draw |
|
 |
 |
|