| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 05:35:15
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Snake Mountain
|
Hello,
Just have a few quick and probably stupid questions as I'm relatively new to the game especially the newer edition, I've played 6-7 demo games of N3 but those were months ago so I'm trying to refresh myself. I'm looking at the main rulebook and the Icestorm book at the same time and I'm getting a little confused.
1) When declaring your orders I understand that you need to take it in steps, I.e declare a move, resolve it with ARO's etc, then declare a second skill etc, but in terms of game play would you tell your opponent at the start of the order what you intended to do or would you just tell them the first part only (move) so you can 'change your mind' so to speak based on what happens?
2) This may tie in to the next question slightly, but I'm assuming you can only perform one ARO with a model in your reactive turn, after the first skill is declared, usually a move action?
3) For example you couldn't do the following: If the active player were to declare a Move action and then subsequently declare a CC action, can I perform 2 ARO's or one? (E.g. Could I declare a BS Attack ARO for the move and then a CC Attack ARO for his CC action, or do you only get one ARO? In which case you'd probably just CC attack.)
4) ARO against TO/camo markers states that you can only declare the following 3 ARO's (Dodge, Discover, Delay ARO) I'm a bit confused as to why you would choose to Delay ARO until the second action, I assume this is so you can then see the revealed enemy and thus reduce modifiers?
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/04/30 22:29:22
'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'
Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015
3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 09:38:30
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
1) When it's my active turn, it works like so:
- I spend an order on X
- the first short skill of X is to move over here
- Y and Z can see me, what are their AROs?
- I then am going to do (another short skill)
- X is moved to its final position, dice are rolled, results are applied
2) Each reactive model can take one ARO per order spent in its LoSight / ZoControl
3) see point 2
4) "Hold" basically means "I'll shoot you if you reveal" as you cannot choose to discover / dodge if the active model keeps on doing short skills taht don't reveal it
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 16:19:49
Subject: Re:New to Infinity
|
 |
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience
On an Express Elevator to Hell!!
|
As TankOl has said, the way I usually play it:
First part of my order is a 'move', I start moving the miniature to wherever, my opponent is watching. After physically moving the miniature I ask "do you have any AROs?" He says yes or no, if yes declares what it is (e.g. a shoot or dodge reaction), I then declare and carry out the second part of my order. We then do face-to-face rolls as necessary.
The important disctinction as TankOl has said is that if you are moving a camo token or impersonator, the person reacting can choose to hold back their ARO. This means they lose the chance of making a 'discovery' roll, but means they get a reaction if the camo token then reveals - this comes down to your own judgement, usually you will get a pretty good idea if someone is likely to attack you!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 19:20:05
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Snake Mountain
|
Perfect thanks for that guys, I watched some intro battle reports and along with your explanations I think I've got it down now, I think I was over-complicating things by reading both books at once, the Icestorm intro missions are very basic forms of the rules and reading the full rulebook descriptions blew my small mind
In terms then of the TO/Camo marker, I assume that it still uses the same silhouette as the model it represents? So if I use something with TO/Camo that is bigger than S2 I would need a bigger marker and the appropriate silhouette card? Also even after being revealed the opponent still suffers the -6 for TO/Camo?
|
'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'
Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015
3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/29 19:56:58
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Yu Jing Martial Arts Ninja
North Wales
|
Yep, you need an appropriately sized TO marker. So, if a PanO player is running around with a 55mm. TO marker, you won't be wondering what it is.
When revealed, they still get the -6 modifier (unless you have some equipment to reduce or eliminate it), but at least you can shoot at it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 04:51:21
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Snake Mountain
|
Apologies but I have one last question, however this is more to do with army creation but it saves me making a new thread for a probably fairly simple question.
I'm looking to make a list for Ariadna, I've looked at some online and have a fair idea of the list I want to run with. (I'm initially building to 150 and then building in 50pts steps up to 300pts.
I understand that every 50pts equates to 1 point of SWC, so for example a 300pts game has a total of 6 SWC points. Yet I've seen some people make 300pts lists and only use 3-4.5 points of SWC. Is there a reason behind this or is it simply down to the untis they have chosen to use? Do you benefit by being under the value?
|
'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'
Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015
3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 14:29:55
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
No benefit in not using up all your SWC, but some armies are more SWC hungry than others, and sometimes it just comes down to playstyle as well
I play mostly PanO, me likey big gunz
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/01 16:48:37
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Joined the Military for Authentic Experience
On an Express Elevator to Hell!!
|
Rysaer wrote:Apologies but I have one last question, however this is more to do with army creation but it saves me making a new thread for a probably fairly simple question.
I'm looking to make a list for Ariadna, I've looked at some online and have a fair idea of the list I want to run with. (I'm initially building to 150 and then building in 50pts steps up to 300pts.
I understand that every 50pts equates to 1 point of SWC, so for example a 300pts game has a total of 6 SWC points. Yet I've seen some people make 300pts lists and only use 3-4.5 points of SWC. Is there a reason behind this or is it simply down to the untis they have chosen to use? Do you benefit by being under the value?
For some forces (the Japanese sectorial springs to mind, but also some Military Order lists) it can be difficult to make up full SWC and not make any compromises in the composition of the army. You're better off trying to create a harmonious army list and not using the full SWC than you are making a list that's ill-fitted because you are determined to use the full amount.
My one Qapu Khalqi is 5 SWC and seems to do OK, friend of mine's Japanese force is also pretty nasty and I think that only uses 4.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/06 16:15:54
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter
|
Models that use SWC aren't better than models that don't, it can turn out you don't need your SWC. Most of my MO lists will run 3.5-4.5 at 300pts because I have so many scary people that cost a lot of points and no SWC.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/08 03:43:50
Subject: Re:New to Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Snake Mountain
|
One last question, I am slightly confused with Warning / Change Facing.
As far as I can tell if someone is attacking you within your zone of control (likely a BS attack) you can change facing by performing a PH-3 roll which actually serves as a dodge and then you can turn to face the attacker. Thats fine, but what if they are outside your ZoC, can you still change facing?
Also as far as warning works, I'm to assume that after taking a hit you can call a warning and your model, if he/she survives can turn to face or an ally within their ZoC can turn and face? How many allies can be affected by this, is it just one or is as many that are in the ZoC, and if you opt to use warning to turn the attacked model, does that then mean others in your ZoC cannot turn?
I've re-read these a few times but I think I may be confusing these with some older rules along the way.
|
'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'
Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015
3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/08 04:27:45
Subject: Re:New to Infinity
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
Rysaer wrote:One last question, I am slightly confused with Warning / Change Facing.
As far as I can tell if someone is attacking you within your zone of control (likely a BS attack) you can change facing by performing a PH-3 roll which actually serves as a dodge and then you can turn to face the attacker. Thats fine, but what if they are outside your ZoC, can you still change facing?
Also as far as warning works, I'm to assume that after taking a hit you can call a warning and your model, if he/she survives can turn to face or an ally within their ZoC can turn and face? How many allies can be affected by this, is it just one or is as many that are in the ZoC, and if you opt to use warning to turn the attacked model, does that then mean others in your ZoC cannot turn?
I've re-read these a few times but I think I may be confusing these with some older rules along the way.
The first one... If shot from outside ZoC, you just hope he missed the shot or you pass your ARM roll.
The second question, I'm guessing you mean Alert. The model using Alert must see the Active enemy model just like any other ARO. But, instead of shooting or some other ARO you use Alert as the model's ARO. This let you pick any or all of your other models (or any number inbetween) no matter the range, then the allies picked can use the Change Facing ARO instead of any other. If the allie using Change Facing and is the one being shot he get to try for a dodge.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/08 04:32:02
Subject: Re:New to Infinity
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Snake Mountain
|
Thanks Noir!
I don't know how but I missed 'Alert' completely, thanks for clearing that up.
|
'I'm like a man with a fork, in a world of soup.'
Check out my Blog: http://rysaerinc.wordpress.com/ - Updated 26/01/2015
3DS Friend Code: Rysaer - 5129-0913-0659 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 14:09:07
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I am also a new player and have a question about ARO & GUTS resolution locations.
PanO model declares a move, Nomad player declares a BS ARO on the PanO, then PanO declares a second move.
Verifying the BS dice are rolled after these declarations and the Nomad player can chose to shoot at any point of the first move. Yes/No?
And, let's say, the Nomad hits the PanO and the PanO makes his/her ARM save. Then the PanO player continues with rest of first move and then second move. Since all orders/skills and resolutions are done, the PanO takes a GUTS roll for making the ARM save and (for sake of argument) fails the roll. He would need to move to cover/go prone/etc. from the final location of the second move. Yes/No?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 15:16:09
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
In order of your questions:
Yes - all declarations are made on both sides before dice are rolled, and both players can shoot at any point on the movement path.
Yes - the active model always completes his action, even if he gets shot in the process.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 16:18:00
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Sheck2 wrote:
I am also a new player and have a question about ARO & GUTS resolution locations.
PanO model declares a move, Nomad player declares a BS ARO on the PanO, then PanO declares a second move.
Verifying the BS dice are rolled after these declarations and the Nomad player can chose to shoot at any point of the first move. Yes/No?
And, let's say, the Nomad hits the PanO and the PanO makes his/her ARM save. Then the PanO player continues with rest of first move and then second move. Since all orders/skills and resolutions are done, the PanO takes a GUTS roll for making the ARM save and (for sake of argument) fails the roll. He would need to move to cover/go prone/etc. from the final location of the second move. Yes/No?
Just a few clarifications:
1. The PanO's second order can also generate AROSs.
2. The Nomad player may shoot the PanO model at any point in the model's entire full order, so if it is a double-move then along the entire line, not just the first short skill's path.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/09 07:54:22
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Dogged Kum
|
Mahtamori wrote:Sheck2 wrote:
I am also a new player and have a question about ARO & GUTS resolution locations.
PanO model declares a move, Nomad player declares a BS ARO on the PanO, then PanO declares a second move.
Verifying the BS dice are rolled after these declarations and the Nomad player can chose to shoot at any point of the first move. Yes/No?
And, let's say, the Nomad hits the PanO and the PanO makes his/her ARM save. Then the PanO player continues with rest of first move and then second move. Since all orders/skills and resolutions are done, the PanO takes a GUTS roll for making the ARM save and (for sake of argument) fails the roll. He would need to move to cover/go prone/etc. from the final location of the second move. Yes/No?
Just a few clarifications:
1. The PanO's second order can also generate AROSs.
2. The Nomad player may shoot the PanO model at any point in the model's entire full order, so if it is a double-move then along the entire line, not just the first short skill's path.
1. Yes, but only if the active player comes into LoF of new opposing models (i.e. who could not react to his first short skill because they did not have LoF), and only those new models get the chance to ARO.
(If you want to clarify you should be as specific as possible.  )
|
Currently playing: Infinity, SW Legion |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/09 08:32:02
Subject: New to Infinity
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Indeed. I deliberately didn't mention that case because it would just be confusing; no need to dredge up every possible edge case when it's not relevant.
Any given model only ever gets one ARO against any one Order.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|