Switch Theme:

Mindshackles question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

When you mindshackle a monstrous creature, can you make it Smash Attack itself? If no, then why not?

Thanks.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

Do mineshakles allow you to make it attack itself? If so I'd say yes.

Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Madison, WI

Yes, d3 attacks vs. the unit. If there's only critter in the unit, it attacks itself.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/19 16:48:45


Anvildude: "Honestly, it's kinda refreshing to see an Ork vehicle that doesn't look like a rainbow threw up on it."

Gitsplitta's Unified Painting Theory
 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)





Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!

If yes... it's d3 attacks. Would smash reduce the attack by half? What if you rolled a one or two?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/19 16:50:32


Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






I say no as smash is not the benefit or ablity of the MCs "weapon"


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

 whembly wrote:
If yes... it's d3 attacks. Would smash reduce the attack by half? What if you rolled a one or two?

Half rounded up so 1 or 2 would both be 1 IIRC.

Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MSS do not cause Attacks, it causes automatic Hits. So an MC with 1 Attack can Smash itself for D3 hits.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Assuming you can smash.


You dont have permission to use abilities outside of the weapon it is using.

(unless i missed some sort of faq)

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Louisville, KY

Yeah, I'm of the mindset you can not. It doesn't say you can trigger rules/traits unless its on the weapon. I play crons and nids so I'm on both sides of this fence.

- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Across the Great Divide

Side question that just popped into my head.

Would MSS be able to use a tyranid tail biomorph?

Forest hunter sept ~3500
guardians of the covenant 4th company ~ 6000
Warrior based hive fleet

DA:90S+G++M++B--I+PW40k07+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





No, Smash is not allowed by rule.

a model or his unit that is MSS suffers D3 hits

Smash by rule halves the attacks.

MSS does not grant the model "attacks" so there is nothing to "halve."

The model or his unit mere suffer D3 hits and thus bypass the part where you could make Smash work.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/19 17:35:01


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

 Desubot wrote:
I say no as smash is not the benefit or ablity of the MCs "weapon"


In that case, Preferred Enemy and Poisoned (Nurgle, Toxin Sacs) shouldn't work either as they are abilities of the model itself and not of the weapon.

But no one plays it that way.


40k-noob wrote:
No, Smash is not allowed by rule.

a model or his unit that is MSS suffers D3 hits

Smash by rule halves the attacks.

MSS does not grant the model "attacks" so there is nothing to "halve."

The model or his unit mere suffer D3 hits and thus bypass the part where you could make Smash work.

MSS is basically attacks that auto-hits his own unit. From the Necron codex:

"Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own unit when it is his turn to attack." (Necron codex, p.81)




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FirePainter wrote:
Side question that just popped into my head.

Would MSS be able to use a tyranid tail biomorph?

Yes, I believe that you can.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 whembly wrote:
If yes... it's d3 attacks. Would smash reduce the attack by half? What if you rolled a one or two?

 Happyjew wrote:
MSS do not cause Attacks, it causes automatic Hits. So an MC with 1 Attack can Smash itself for D3 hits.

I agree here with Happyjew.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/19 19:00:35



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Louisville, KY

I just don't know... nothing in the MSS rules gives you permission to activate special rules the model has, only the ones the weapons have.

If you MSS my tryant that has a bone sword and you roll a 6 to wound, sure I'll eat the ID but thats the weapon not the model.

- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 jy2 wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
I say no as smash is not the benefit or ablity of the MCs "weapon"


In that case, Preferred Enemy and Poisoned (Nurgle, Toxin Sacs) shouldn't work either as they are abilities of the model itself and not of the weapon.

But no one plays it that way.


Yep that would be correct.
But RAW you dont get it. and my local does not allow smash (which doesn't matter as we dont have many necron players)

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Canada

The FAQ

“At the start of the Fight sub-phase, randomly select an enemy
model in base contact with the bearer of the mindshackle
scarabs. That model must immediately take a Leadership test
on 3D6. If the test is passed, the mindshackle scarabs have no
effect. If the test is failed, the victim strikes out at his allies.
Instead of attacking normally, he inflicts D3 hits on his own
unit (or himself, if on his own or in a challenge) when it is his
turn to attack. These hits are resolved at the victim's Strength
and benefit from any abilities and penalties from his Melee
weapons (the controller of the mindshackle scarabs chooses
which weapon he uses, if there is a choice). If he is still alive,
the victim returns to the owning player’s control once all blows
in that round of combat have been struck.”

Necrons
Tau  
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




 Desubot wrote:
I say no as smash is not the benefit or ablity of the MCs "weapon"



So would a monstrous creature without a special weapon get an armor save if it attacked itself?
That's if I remember correctly and it is Smash that provide the attacks AP 2.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Actually im going to have to retract my last post.

As thinking about it. they are still attacks that just auto hit d3 times. so you would benefit from PE and poison and ap 2 as those are passive bonuses that are active always. however you still do not have permission to activate the smash it self to halve and double strength.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Louisville, KY

I would agree, The AP2 would apply just like poison would. ( Except for the tail attacks of course)

So strength at ap2..

- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

 Desubot wrote:
Actually im going to have to retract my last post.

As thinking about it. they are still attacks that just auto hit d3 times. so you would benefit from PE and poison and ap 2 as those are passive bonuses that are active always. however you still do not have permission to activate the smash it self to halve and double strength.

But there is precedence that you do.

FAQ allows you to force the MSS recipient to activate his force weapons. So why is he able to use his force weapons and not his Smash attacks if fighting with claw and teeth?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Roci wrote:
I would agree, The AP2 would apply just like poison would. ( Except for the tail attacks of course)

So strength at ap2..

That just doesn't make sense to me. You are already using the Smash rule to hit at AP2. What in MSS lets you pick and choose which part of a USR you can or cannot use? To me, it's either all or nothing. You either hit with all of the rules for Smash or you hit with none of it.



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/19 20:33:55



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 jy2 wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
Actually im going to have to retract my last post.

As thinking about it. they are still attacks that just auto hit d3 times. so you would benefit from PE and poison and ap 2 as those are passive bonuses that are active always. however you still do not have permission to activate the smash it self to halve and double strength.

But there is precedence that you do.

FAQ allows you to force the MSS recipient to activate his force weapons. So why is he able to use his force weapons and not his Smash attacks if fighting with claw and teeth?



Force is an ability of the weapon it self.




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

So is Smash if a model is fighting with teeth or claw.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Teeth and claw counts as a CCW

But Smash is a model based rule not a weapon special rule.

the weapon it self doesn't suddenly get smash.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Canada

I would say no to smash,
I thought all MC cc attacks were AP2 tho, regardless if they smash

Either way, I would say anything the weapon does is what you can do, but any abilities that are always active (preferred enemy) would obviously still be used because thats what the model does

also in another FAQ it specifically says that daemon weapons dont get extra attacks.. because MSS causes auto hits

Necrons
Tau  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Louisville, KY

 jy2 wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
Actually im going to have to retract my last post.

As thinking about it. they are still attacks that just auto hit d3 times. so you would benefit from PE and poison and ap 2 as those are passive bonuses that are active always. however you still do not have permission to activate the smash it self to halve and double strength.

But there is precedence that you do.

FAQ allows you to force the MSS recipient to activate his force weapons. So why is he able to use his force weapons and not his Smash attacks if fighting with claw and teeth?




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Roci wrote:
I would agree, The AP2 would apply just like poison would. ( Except for the tail attacks of course)

So strength at ap2..

That just doesn't make sense to me. You are already using the Smash rule to hit at AP2. What in MSS lets you pick and choose which part of a USR you can or cannot use? To me, it's either all or nothing. You either hit with all of the rules for Smash or you hit with none of it.






All Nids have claws and teeth and if you looked at the profile for claws and teeth it wouldn't include the rule for smash. If you look at a force weapon profile you will see the force rule. If I had to choose an all or none way to play it. I would choose none at all.

I look at things like the ap2 part of smash or stuff like poison as a constant passive ability. When you look at stuff like tail biomorphs, they have rules that tell you that you can't apply this benefit. So unless you have something like that is going to happen. The smash attack doesn't ever have to happen. It a USR based on the model typed not by what they are fighting with.

I get it from a fluff standpoint but I don't see it written that way.

- 4500pts: Shinzon Dynasty
3000pts: Hive Fleet Empusa
- 3000pts Rampagers 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Canada

Its pretty straight forward...
The model that is attacking, is still the exact same model that is doing the attacks, he is just hitting himself,
but when you have to chose any specific rule,
you may only chose to use rules that are from the weapon
so smash... you have to make a choice.. does it come from the weapon.. no.. so no...
force weapon.. you have to chose to activate, does it come from the weapon.. yes... so yes...

Necrons
Tau  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

 jy2 wrote:
So is Smash if a model is fighting with teeth or claw.

Not all MCs are TMCs; some of them actually use weapons!

I believe the answer should be yes. As written, though, I believe it is "no." Per the quoted FAQ above, MSS makes you hit your own unit at the model's strength, and with the bonuses/penalties of any associated weapon. "Smash" isn't associated with the MC's weapons (unlike, say, a Powerfist on a Wraithlord).

I do believe that the AP2 part of Smash functions, though - IIRC, the wording is something along the lines of "melee attacks from a MC are resolved at AP 2," and the attacks caused by MSS are indeed from the MC. That will likely address questions of Poison/Preferred Enemy as well.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

Here is my point.

Prefered Enemy, Poison, Smash....they are all part of the natural ability of a model. Whey you get mindshackled, you can use all of those rules (MC's will still hit themselves at AP2 due to Smash). So why can you selectively pick and choose which part of the Smash rule you can or cannot use? Just like when you force a target to force weapon himself with MSS, he cannot choose to not attack at AP3 or to not expend a Warpcharge. He has to do all it. So why would a model be forced to smash himself at AP2 but yet not have to do it following the other rules for Smash?


 Desubot wrote:
Teeth and claw counts as a CCW

But Smash is a model based rule not a weapon special rule.

the weapon it self doesn't suddenly get smash.

Yes, and so is Poison a model based rule and not a weapon special rule (i.e. plaguebearers, toxin sac Tyranids).

The weapon itself is already fighting with the attributes of Smash, at least for MC's.


 KonTheory wrote:
I would say no to smash,
I thought all MC cc attacks were AP2 tho, regardless if they smash

Either way, I would say anything the weapon does is what you can do, but any abilities that are always active (preferred enemy) would obviously still be used because thats what the model does

also in another FAQ it specifically says that daemon weapons dont get extra attacks.. because MSS causes auto hits

All MC cc attacks are AP2 because they are using the rules for Smash.

The daemon weapon FAQ is refering to the number of attacks, which is not what I am debating in this thread. It is irrelevant.


 Roci wrote:

All Nids have claws and teeth and if you looked at the profile for claws and teeth it wouldn't include the rule for smash. If you look at a force weapon profile you will see the force rule. If I had to choose an all or none way to play it. I would choose none at all.

I look at things like the ap2 part of smash or stuff like poison as a constant passive ability. When you look at stuff like tail biomorphs, they have rules that tell you that you can't apply this benefit. So unless you have something like that is going to happen. The smash attack doesn't ever have to happen. It a USR based on the model typed not by what they are fighting with.

I get it from a fluff standpoint but I don't see it written that way.

The profile for the claws and teeth do not include the rule for Preferred Enemy or Poison also. So why do you get to use those with Mindshackles?

Also, keep in mind that 40K is a permissive ruleset. Unless it gives you restricted access (i.e. unless it limits/restricts which parts of a USR you get to use), you get full access to all the rules of a USR if you have/get to use the USR.


 Janthkin wrote:
 jy2 wrote:
So is Smash if a model is fighting with teeth or claw.

Not all MCs are TMCs; some of them actually use weapons!

I believe the answer should be yes. As written, though, I believe it is "no." Per the quoted FAQ above, MSS makes you hit your own unit at the model's strength, and with the bonuses/penalties of any associated weapon. "Smash" isn't associated with the MC's weapons (unlike, say, a Powerfist on a Wraithlord).

I do believe that the AP2 part of Smash functions, though - IIRC, the wording is something along the lines of "melee attacks from a MC are resolved at AP 2," and the attacks caused by MSS are indeed from the MC. That will likely address questions of Poison/Preferred Enemy as well.

Claws and teeth are classified as CCW, as are regular swords, axes, etc. You'll find that the majority of MC's, with the exception those that you actually buy weapons for (i.e. Nemesis Greatsword for dreadknights, balesword for a GUO, Staff of Change for a Lord of Change) are in essence fighting with claws and teeth figuratively speaking.

If you can't smash yourself, then you wouldn't be hitting yourself at AP2. I don't believe you can pick and choose which part of the rule/USR that you can or cannot use.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Central Oregon

As a side note, arent smash attacks treated as AP1?

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA


No, they are AP2.



6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

 jy2 wrote:
Here is my point.

Prefered Enemy, Poison, Smash....they are all part of the natural ability of a model. Whey you get mindshackled, you can use all of those rules (MC's will still hit themselves at AP2 due to Smash). So why can you selectively pick and choose which part of the Smash rule you can or cannot use? Just like when you force a target to force weapon himself with MSS, he cannot choose to not attack at AP3 or to not expend a Warpcharge. He has to do all it. So why would a model be forced to smash himself at AP2 but yet not have to do it following the other rules for Smash?
You can Force Weapon because a) the Weapon has the Force rule, and b) the FAQ gives you permission to use the model's psychic charge.

An MC hits itself with AP2, because the Smash rule says that all attacks from the MC are resolved at AP 2.

You don't get to use the "double strength" part of the Smash rule because nothing gives you permission to make that choice; it's not an "every attack made by the model" ability (like the AP2), nor is it a property of the weapon being used.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: