Switch Theme:

Rhino Shooting Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The rules say two models can shoot out of rhino, and that if the rhino moves, you shoot as if the model moved.

I don't see any clarification on shooting with heavy weapons, so can they also shoot out of a rhino if it doesn't move?

For a specific case, if I have a devastator squad embarked in a rhino that remains stationary, can 2 lascannons fire in the shooting phase?
   
Made in au
Courageous Questing Knight






Australia

if the tank moves, the squad doesn't.

I've used to this to my advantage, but if the heavy weapons move out, they may not.

okay?

DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Captain Solon wrote:if the tank moves, the squad doesn't.

I've used to this to my advantage, but if the heavy weapons move out, they may not.

okay?
Ok, I've been good so far, but this is the last straw.

Captain Solon, Please, for the love of what little of my sanity is left, STOP POSTING. Not a single post of yours has been correct!

To answer the question, If the transport moves, the unit inside counts as moving. If the transport moves more than 6", the unit inside cannot shoot at all. Check out page 66, "Fire Points", last Paragraph.

And to answer the ACTUAL question, yes, if the Rhino remains still, you can fire the Lascannons.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/01/06 12:41:14


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the answer - since the rulebook doesn't address heavy weapons specifically, I wasn't sure.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






Jacksonville, NC

Move 6" you can shoot any assault weapon out that you wish (meltas, plasmaguns, etc.). If you move at all, like normal, heavy weapons cannot shoot. And as GWAR has pointed out, if you stand still you can shoot heavy weapons out the top (my friend at times does gunline SM using 1 lascannon in every rhino, pretty good against nids)

Check out my P&M Blog!
Check out my YouTube channel, Heretic Wargaming USA: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLiPUI3zwSxPiHzWjFQKcNA
Latest Tourney results:
1st Place Special Mission tourney 12/15/18 (Battlereps)
2nd Place ITC tourney 08/20/18 ( Battlerep)
3rd Place ITC Tourney 06/08/18(Battlereps
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

pinhead wrote:Thanks for the answer - since the rulebook doesn't address heavy weapons specifically, I wasn't sure.


Doesn't need to specifically adress heavy weapons, since it says that if the transport moves, the unit inside counts as having moved. And I hope we all know that you cannot fire a heavy weapon if you move, barring Relentless or similar special rules.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Plus the only models able to move and fire heavy weapons are termies and oblits (i think), neither of which can use a rhino anyway.

What i woudl ask is, if you are firing a lascannon for example, do you measure range from the rhino hull or the hatch on the back, which is where the model woudl be. Maybe it woudl be best to stand the model on top of the rhino and measure form there?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/07 13:10:17


Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle





From the edges of the hatch if the occupants are shooting...from the hatch.

This is a little story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody, and Nobody.
There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.
Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.
Somebody got angry about that because it was Everybody's job.
Everybody thought that Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn't do it.
It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have done.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Praxiss wrote:What i woudl ask is, if you are firing a lascannon for example, do you measure range from the rhino hull or the hatch on the back, which is where the model woudl be. Maybe it woudl be best to stand the model on top of the rhino and measure form there?


As per the Fire Point rules on page 66 of the rulebook, range and LOS are determined from the Fire Point.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: