Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 12:55:48
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:07:31
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
Wow, that was really fast. Reading now.
Woot for Doom clarification!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 13:24:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:10:23
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Nothing too shocking in there
|
1500pts
Gwar! wrote:Debate it all you want, I just report what the rules actually say. It's up to others to tie their panties in a Knot. I stopped caring long ago.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:11:26
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
Paris, France
|
Erf, blocked at work... If anyone could copy/paste....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:11:45
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nice detail: Internally, their document titles list them as "Updates" to the codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:16:01
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Stormblade
Kensington, MD
|
It's also incredibly typical of GW being quick. The "corrected" entry for Sanguinary Priests is exactly the same as the one it is meant to replace.
And no EA (or Magna Grapple) for Furioso Librarians? How magically arbitrary and stupid. "Ooh, maybe he's a little scary. Let's make him silly too!"
|
"As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely just a result of wishful thinking." Pete Haines
For the love of the Emperor people, it's a TURRET. There is no such thing as a turrent! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:18:16
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Q: Can cover saves be taken against wounds inflicted
by the Doom of Malant’tai’s Spirit Leech ability?
A: Yes.
Q: Does the Doom of Malan’tai’s Spirit Leech ability
affect units embarked in transport vehicles?
A: No.
ha !
Q: Can a Baal Predator use smoke launchers during its
Scout move?
A: Yes.
ha ha !
Q: Tyranid Special Characters. Are Tyranid Special
Characters considered to be special versions of the
standard creatures of their type for the purposes of
using psychic powers, biomorphs and special rules? For
example, is the Swarmlord considered to be a Hive
Tyrant for the purposes of using Hive Tyrant psychic
powers? Similarly, is Deathleaper considered to be a
Lictor for the purposes of Chameleonic Skin and
Pheromone Trail, is the Doom of Malan’tai considered
to be a Zoanthrope for the purposes of Warp Field, is
Old One Eye considered to be Carnifex for the
purposes of Living Battering Ram and are Ymgarl
Genestealers considered to be Genestealers for the
purposes of Brood Telepathy?
A. Yes in all cases.
ha !
Q: Do vehicles gain a cover save from Shield of
Sanguinius?
A: Yes.
files attached for the work blocked
The "corrected" entry for Sanguinary Priests is exactly the same as the one it is meant to replace.
No it's not  It changes "Chalice of Blood" to "Blood Chalice".
Filename |
m1240365a_FAQ_BloodAngels_2010.pdf |
Download
|
Description |
|
File size |
421 Kbytes
|
Filename |
m1240364a_FAQ_Tyranids_2010.pdf |
Download
|
Description |
|
File size |
269 Kbytes
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/06/30 14:51:08
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:20:26
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Glad that clears up the simply idiotic notion that a Swarmlord wasn't a Hive Tyrant for the purposes of psychic powers. Can't believe I had someone here call me an immature cheater because I dared to say that a Swarmlord can use 'Hive Tyrant' psychic powers... Silly GW FAQ wrote:Q: Does Shadow in the Warp affect psykers who are taking a Psychic test whilst embarked within a transport vehicle? A: No. What? Why??? How does that make even the slightest bit of sense? " Oh no! The way the Hive Mind disrupts the Warp! I cannot concentrate to draw power! What ever shall I... oh... walking inside made it better. Wow. Who'da knew?"
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/06/30 13:51:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:21:58
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
Paris, France
|
Thanks for the files, but you put twice the tyranids and zero BA
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:23:12
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
fixed, apologies.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:24:42
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Phoenix, AZ
|
I see a few good things:
Blood Angels get furious charge at the time of making their attacks, rather than when they make their charge. This should cut some teeth on Priests blanketing several squads at once.
Also, Corbullo's re-roll cant be used on the roll to pick deployment zones/sides. This was getting to be a little common around here.
And double nerfs to Doom. No hitting units inside transports and you get a cover save now. Good stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:36:31
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Very interesting to see how many of the most contentious and hotly argued questions in YMDC recently were answered here by the creators with answers very different to the 'RAW' absolutes that were proffered as 'the truth' regardless of playability.
It suggests there is a very very strong disconnect between those most vocal and supportive of 'RAW' mentality and the thinking from the Games Workshop creative studio...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:41:55
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Sanguinary Dan wrote:It's also incredibly typical of GW being quick. The "corrected" entry for Sanguinary Priests is exactly the same as the one it is meant to replace.
And no EA (or Magna Grapple) for Furioso Librarians? How magically arbitrary and stupid. "Ooh, maybe he's a little scary. Let's make him silly too!"
Actually, I think that's how it was always supposed to be, but some people tried to interpret the unit entry otherwise.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:45:34
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
wow they actually posted errata??? which they never make mistakes so....
wow they actually answered real questions instead of random questions??? with actual hard and fast answers instead of warm and fuzzy?
what is games workshop coming to could it be they actually listened for the first time???
nah thats just wishful thinking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:48:24
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Stormblade
Kensington, MD
|
reds8n wrote:The "corrected" entry for Sanguinary Priests is exactly the same as the one it is meant to replace.
No it's not  It changes "Chalice of Blood" to "Blood Chalice".
Well that's embarrassing.  I'd apologize to GW if I thought they gave a  .
Still angry with them for no upgrades on Furioso Librarians however. Illogical at best. And a serious example of "We screwed the pooch on playtesting that one! Better limit them somehow without admitting we made a mistake. I know!" at worst. So you don't worry about the order in which upgrades are listed when converting Orks from Shoota Nobz to Slugga Nobz, but do with FLs?
|
"As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely just a result of wishful thinking." Pete Haines
For the love of the Emperor people, it's a TURRET. There is no such thing as a turrent! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:49:22
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So shield gives youa cover save, brililant.
Still doesnt mean it can be used against glancing / penetrating hits, as you must be obscured to do that. Typical non-answer...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:51:38
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Kid_Kyoto
|
Hooray for a sensible FAQ for 'Nids. I finally have a reason to expand my army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:52:24
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Ontario
|
I am going to second the wtf on
Q: Does Shadow in the Warp affect psykers who are
taking a Psychic test whilst embarked within a
transport vehicle?
A: No.
Apparently transports have some sort of psychic filters. Even ork ones.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:56:29
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Very interesting to see how many of the most contentious and hotly argued questions in YMDC recently were answered here by the creators with answers very different to the 'RAW' absolutes that were proffered as 'the truth' regardless of playability.
It suggests there is a very very strong disconnect between those most vocal and supportive of 'RAW' mentality and the thinking from the Games Workshop creative studio...
That shouldn't actually be coming as a surprise to anyone.
GW have never been overly concerned with RAW where it didn't fit how they thought the game would be better played. Even last edition, when Jervis went on his brief ' RAW where possible' kick and tried to focus the FAQ's more on the RAW, they still ignored it where it was silly or blatantly wrong.
And with one or two exceptions, the RAW proponents in YMDC are generally more than happy to agree that playability is the more important factor when you have minis on the table. So let's not turn this into a slinging match.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 13:56:34
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:So shield gives youa cover save, brililant.
Still doesnt mean it can be used against glancing / penetrating hits, as you must be obscured to do that. Typical non-answer...
You should go into politics, you'd go far.
@ Sanguinary Dan : I thought the same thing first few reads.
Quite surprised about the DC version of Tycho, that seems really really odd. Too mad for the Death Company even it seems.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:04:58
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
reds8n wrote: Q: Do vehicles gain a cover save from Shield of Sanguinius? A: Yes. You know, the argument has never been about whether they get a cover save. Its that they aren't allowed to use a cover save unless obscured. So technically you still can't use your cover saves with vehicles. darn it, beaten by nos.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 14:05:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:07:10
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RAW is not a "policy" for anyone. RAW is what you do when you can't figure out what you're supposed to do, and it makes sense / is reasonable.
The problem is, when there's no clear RAW, and it's hotly debated on both sides, when people are all "IT MUST BE DONE THIS WAY" even when their slightly more advanced RAW argument is in utter opposition to the standards of the game, precedents of the game, and clear intent (here's looking at you, Doom).
Oh well. Before removing most of the now-superfluous answers from my own tourney FAQ, I was gratified to see that I had all but one of the questions "right."
PS - Seriously, someone is already trying to argue that no cover save for pen/glances? That's gotta be a troll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:10:45
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
|
Am I the only one who thinks the Nid FAQ is really hard to read? The question text is really light! Usually highlighting the text helps, but not in this case.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 14:11:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:12:53
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
So they got the Doom ruling right, as well as the Mawloc, but made a stupid regarding scout moves and smoke launchers.
Oh well, it still doesn't make Blood Angels any better
|
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DR:80SGM----B-I+Pw40k99#+D+++A++/aWD-R+T(S)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code=====
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:14:12
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Pragmatic Primus Commanding Cult Forces
|
Lorne wrote:Apparently transports have some sort of psychic filters. Even ork ones.
Not that realism should really come into the equation, but it is amusing to consider how librarian dreads and libbys in terminator armor would for instance be affected, but a warphead in an open-topped trukk would be perfectly protected.
Overall a mixed bag on Tyranids, but mostly all stuff I can live with. I'm particularly disappointed that they didn't do an errata on the Lictor's pheromone trail. Who cares if it stacks if they have to come in from reserves in order to use it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:14:33
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
Damn it! My iWarp is getting a lousy signal from all this Shadow! I'm going to go back inside to see if I can get a better signal and read these PDF's properly...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:16:10
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Damn it! My iWarp is getting a lousy signal from all this Shadow! I'm going to go back inside to see if I can get a better signal and read these PDF's properly...
For some reason I picture a Marine standing on top of a Rhino waving his Auspex around trying to get a signal
"Can you hear me now?"
|
=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DR:80SGM----B-I+Pw40k99#+D+++A++/aWD-R+T(S)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code=====
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:20:53
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
CptZach wrote:
You know, the argument has never been about whether they get a cover save.
Its that they aren't allowed to use a cover save unless obscured.
So technically you still can't use your cover saves with vehicles.
I can assure you that I am fully aware of the level of stupidity displayed by people at various times.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:23:09
Subject: TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Very interesting to see how many of the most contentious and hotly argued questions in YMDC recently were answered here by the creators with answers very different to the 'RAW' absolutes that were proffered as 'the truth' regardless of playability.
It suggests there is a very very strong disconnect between those most vocal and supportive of 'RAW' mentality and the thinking from the Games Workshop creative studio...
GW consistently rules against RAW fundamentalists. The RAW fundies are, as you note, just really loud and belligerent.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/06/30 14:26:25
Subject: Re:TYranid and BA FAQS are up..
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
One key element i felt the Tyranid FAQ lacked was whether or not "Hive Commander" grants bonuses to reserves while the Hive Tyrant is himself in Reserves. Ditto for "alien cunning".
I vote yes.
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
 |
 |
|