Switch Theme:

Flying Monstrous Creatures and Deep Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Did a quick search for this but found nothing.

Can a FMC (e.g. A Bloodthirster) deep strike and then declare that they are Swooping in the same turn?

They obviously can't move any further in the movement phase because of the DS rules, but Swooping has other benefits (2D6 run, being hit on 6s) that would be handy in that initial turn.

I'd lean towards "no" because Swooping requires the model to move (p49), but deep strike forbids movement (p36).

Thoughts?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Given the specific movement requirements for Swooping, I don't see any way for it to interact with Deep Strike.

 
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ATL, GA

I'm not entirely sure that is correct. Not entirely sure it's wrong, either. There seems to be a conflict in the BRB and the CSM FAQ.

1) Reserves and their deployment is simply resolved at the "Start of your turn 2 / turn 3 / etc"

-Pg 124, right side, paragraph 5. "until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal."

-Pg 36 under Deepstrike rules "Roll for arrival of all deepstriking units *as specified in the rules for Reserves and then deploy them as follows* " . . .




2) HOWEVER, this is in direct contradiction to..

-Pg 36 "In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further" *****

-CSM FAQ "Sorc in terminator armor cannot cast Warptime (at beginning of turn) because "The unit deepstrikes in the movement phase". ***


As a final point, on pg 49 it describes how FMCs must "choose" their movement mode in the turn they arrive from reserves. They just declare which mode. For models walking on from board edge, this is simple. For deepstrikers, it is apparently a bit ambiguous - but as most (possibly all?) FMCs possess the ability to arrive via Deepstrike, is this perhaps a RAI oversight?


*****Another potential argument is that the line on pg 36 of the BRB is not telling you the unit arrives in the movement phase, simply telling you that it may not then proceed to MOVE in the movement phase after having arrived via deepstrike at the start of the turn.

***And therefor ignoring the CSM FAQ since you usually don't want to apply specific codex FAQs as general rules.


Edit: Further points..

-Under changing flight mode, a FMC must declare which it is going to use at the start of *its move*. Not at the beginning of the movement phase, beginning of the turn or whatever. Even conventional wisdom that holds deepstrike in the movement phase usually considers it as a sort of pre-movement subphase. In this case I'd say it doesn't matter that he CAN'T move, just that his TURN to move comes AFTER arriving via deepstrike.

-Reiterating that FMCs can declare their mode when arriving from reserves. No if ands or buts about deepstrike one way or the other. Permissive ruleset, right? And hey, if I was a giant flying creature swooping down from the sky. . . well.. I'd be swooping. .

"If a flying monstrous creature is kept as Reserves then as soon as it enters play, you must declare whether it is in Swoop or Glide mode."

- But wait! More fun! Under Swooping. . . "It must move at least 12" and can move up to 24." Can't move after arriving from deepstrike.

This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2012/07/08 13:51:44


"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.

"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John

-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:

15 : 0 : 2 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The answer is clean yes. Pg 49, last sentence under Deployment say "...as Reserve then as soon as it enters play you must declare whether it is in Swoop or Glide".

Since Deep Striking units enter from reserve, pg 36, on Deep strike Arrival you have to declare if you are Swooping or not.

So Cheexsta, my Flyrant thanks you for finding a away to keep it alive on Deep Strike.

And I got ninjaed by Bone Blade
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





With my demons I have always declared my bloodthirster as swooping when entering play via deep strike. None of my opponents have taken issue with it. As barnowl says it just says declare the mode.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Boneblade wrote:
"If a flying monstrous creature is kept as Reserves then as soon as it enters play, you must declare whether it is in Swoop or Glide mode."

- But wait! More fun! Under Swooping. . . "It must move at least 12" and can move up to 24." Can't move after arriving from deepstrike.


Well, don't forget DS units count as having moved, so that would cover the [edit:]must move 12" minimum for DS, same as it does for Flyers without Hover that DS.This read is reinforced on pg 36 of the rules were in para. 7 it indicates that units have already moved some undisclosed distance. The wording there is not that the unit DS can not move, but "...can not move any further..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/08 16:56:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Declaring what mode you are in does not alleviate the requirement to move 12"

If you enter from board edge and 'declare' you are swooping, you still need to move 12".

If you enter from DS and declare you are swooping, you still need to move 12". Since you can't; you have broken the rules, and cannot do that.

   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






coredump wrote:Declaring what mode you are in does not alleviate the requirement to move 12"

If you enter from board edge and 'declare' you are swooping, you still need to move 12".

If you enter from DS and declare you are swooping, you still need to move 12". Since you can't; you have broken the rules, and cannot do that.


That's my line of reasoning, too. I think I'd better play it safe and not swoop until an FAQ says otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/09 00:11:47


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Cheexsta wrote:
coredump wrote:Declaring what mode you are in does not alleviate the requirement to move 12"

If you enter from board edge and 'declare' you are swooping, you still need to move 12".

If you enter from DS and declare you are swooping, you still need to move 12". Since you can't; you have broken the rules, and cannot do that.


That's my line of reasoning, too. I think I'd better play it safe and not swoop until an FAQ says otherwise.


This is how My friend and I have interpreted the rule as well.

   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




York, UK

I hope 4 days isn't enough to be considered necro'ing, but I didn't want to start another topic for a question that had been asked within the last week...

We extrapolated that when a vehicle deep strikes it counts as having moved at crusing speed (12").

When Veteran Vanguard deep strike they count as having used their jump packs for movement (12")

Ergo, the deep striking daemon flying monstrous creatures (and others I guess) count as having moved 12"

[Image removed by Google due to too much awesomeness] 
   
Made in dk
Dakka Veteran




coredump wrote:

If you enter from DS and declare you are swooping, you still need to move 12". Since you can't; you have broken the rules, and cannot do that.



Isn't this reading the rules like a none thinking robot?

I don't mean to be rude, I just want to point out that maybe the rules in general shouldn't be read so squared.

In this case couldn't it be possible that the normal move which normally must be made by a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is thought to be made as it came from outside or above the table?


Andy Chambers wrote:
To me the Chaos Space Marines needed to be characterised as a threat reaching back to the Imperium's past, a threat which had refused to lie down and become part of history. This is in part why the gods of Chaos are less pivotal in Codex Chaos; we felt that the motivations of Chaos Space Marines should remain their own, no matter how debased and vile. Though the corrupted Space Marines of the Traitor Legions make excellent champions for the gods of Chaos, they are not pawns and have their own agendas of vengeance, empire-building vindication or arcane study which gives them purpose. 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

Chaospling wrote:
coredump wrote:

If you enter from DS and declare you are swooping, you still need to move 12". Since you can't; you have broken the rules, and cannot do that.



Isn't this reading the rules like a none thinking robot?

I don't mean to be rude, I just want to point out that maybe the rules in general shouldn't be read so squared.

In this case couldn't it be possible that the normal move which normally must be made by a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is thought to be made as it came from outside or above the table?

This.

At first my thought was: "Did these people even read the rulebook before they asked their question / replied to the thread?"

Now I'm thinking "Why do you people have to make this so difficult?"

It simply says when you entire via reserves, you decide which mode you want. It really is as simple as that. I know it's a new edition and everyone wants to find the loopholes.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Ontario, Canada

The FAQ states:
"Q: Does a Flying Monstrous Creature that arrives via Deep Strike
count as arriving in Swoop mode? (p49)
A: Yes."

Therefore you are ALWAYS swooping if deep striking the FMC.

(I know this is an old thread, but it showed up as the top result for my google search, so I figured other people might end up here who still need an answer)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/27 15:52:16


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)







Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.

Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: