Switch Theme:

Can you choose to deep strike on top of another unit before rolling to scatter?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can you choose to deep strike on top of another unit before scatter?
No, both to RAW & HIWPI
No to RAW but Yes to HIWPI
Yes to RAW but No to HIWPI
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

I thought I would set up a poll for this since there has been a large debate on this topic within this thread.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/558882.page

So the question at hand is: Before rolling for scatter, can you place your first model for a deep strike in a area occupied by another unit. Remember, this is before rolling for scatter, so the question is not asking whether a mishap happens after scattering, but if the initial location is legal to begin with before rolling for scatter.

We have four options:

1) No to both Rules As Written and also to How You Would Play It

2) No to Rules as Written but yes to How You Would Play It

3) Yes to Rules as Written but No to How You Would Play It

4) Yes to both Rules as Written & How You Would Play It

Please vote away.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.


Even though that is a special rule which lets you do that?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DarthOvious wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.


Even though that is a special rule which lets you do that?

Please read the current thread in which I responded and leave this thread for poll/posting why you voted like you did. Do not want this thread to be shut down because there is a thread discussing this very topic.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 DeathReaper wrote:
 DarthOvious wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.


Even though that is a special rule which lets you do that?

Please read the current thread in which I responded and leave this thread for poll/posting why you voted like you did. Do not want this thread to be shut down because there is a thread discussing this very topic.


Fair enough.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

No for both as the table is defined as the playable area including terrain but no mention of models, bases or hulls. The many listings of models, bases and hulls have no mention of being apart of the table. And with the exception of one tyranid mcs specific rule that specifically makes allowance for it there is no allowance to either place your.lead deepstriking model on models, bases and hulls or hypothertically place said model under other models, bases and hulls by declaring a location.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.


Agree on the RAW for this reason, but its now HIWPI unless I'm playing the Mawloc. I just don't need the argument for a tactic that can end up costing me a unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/31 22:15:59


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 DJGietzen wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, both to RAW & HIWPI is confirmed by the Mawloc being able to do so, so that is how I voted.


Agree on the RAW for this reason, but its now HIWPI unless I'm playing the Mawloc. I just don't need the argument for a tactic that can end up costing me a unit.

In this case HIWPI means they can DS there, not that you would DS a unit in that position. Sometimes there are reasons for risking it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I voted yes to both, as the Tyranids FAQ states that the Mawloc may choose to place itself over enemy models, but doesn't have any special rules regarding placement when deep striking, so it must be something any deep striker is capable of doing (though I don't really see the point unless you really want to mishap for whatever reason).

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Yes to both for the same reasons as stated by others

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I voted yes. Both to RAW and not only HIWPI, but HIHPI (How I HAVE Played It).

You'll automatically mishap, but I have run into the very rare circumstance where I was willing to take the mishap for the 50% chance of just delaying a turn.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




No to both. As we see from how it's actually played.

1) I'm going to put the drop pod over this unit.
2) I set it down on the table elsewhere so I can roll the dice.
3) Scatter.

As the rule is: place it on the table. you didn't place it for the 1, but did for 2. so you should scatter from where the drop pod is placed.

I don't believe the bug faq has to do with the general rule of deep striking, just his specific ability.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes to the RAW, as confirmed by the Mawloc FAQ and the TftD rules that ONLY trigger *after* you place the Mawloc model over an enemy unit, that when they state "anywhere" they really did mean "anywhere", barring the listed exceptions.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





No for both.

The Mawloc wouldn't be able to do it by bare RAW (incidentally, the Tyranid FAQ was sweet vindication for the HIWPI crowd, since it blew away two silly RAW interpretations in the form of the Mawloc attack and Tyranid close combat weapons) without the special exemption in the FAQ.

The exemption is "special" because the FAQ query is asked specifically pertaining to the Mawloc, rather than to units in general.

I know that's disappointing and borderline unacceptable to the lawyering types, but it's like if someone wrote to GW and asked "Can I reroll any red die that lands within an inch of my Warlord" and the FAQ golems answered "Yes, you may".

It doesn't matter that a red die and a blue die are functionally identical; the question was only asked and answered about the red one.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/01 10:19:10


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Apart from the rules stating "anywhere", of course. As backed up by the Mawloc FAQ.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Altruizine wrote:
No for both.

The Mawloc wouldn't be able to do it by bare RAW (incidentally, the Tyranid FAQ was sweet vindication for the HIWPI crowd, since it blew away two silly RAW interpretations in the form of the Mawloc attack and Tyranid close combat weapons) without the special exemption in the FAQ.

The exemption is "special" because the FAQ query is asked specifically pertaining to the Mawloc, rather than to units in general.

I know that's disappointing and borderline unacceptable to the lawyering types, but it's like if someone wrote to GW and asked "Can I reroll any red die that lands within an inch of my Warlord" and the FAQ golems answered "Yes, you may".

It doesn't matter that a red die and a blue die are functionally identical; the question was only asked and answered about the red one.


Ok, for starters the Questions and Answers section does not create new rules or specific exceptions. It only explains what the current rules mean. The only current rules for determing where a deep striking mawloc can attempt to arrive are the generic deep striking rules. While the mawloc has its own special rules they don't become operative until AFTER the mowloc's player has selected where the unit will attempt to arrive.

Your example is poor. It lacks too much information to be a proper comparison. Do we know why you may reroll the die? Is it because it is red? Is it because it is a die? Is it because it landed withing an inch of a model? St it because it landed within an inch of your mode? Is it because that model was a warlord? It it because that model was your warlord? A 'rule' about any of these things could cause that answer. That answer does not cause a new rule.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:


"Q: Can a Mawloc choose to Deep Strike onto a point occupied by an
enemy model on purpose in order to use the Terror from the Deep special
rule? (p51)
A: Yes."

It is just clarifying how the DS rules work.


This FAQ to me shows you can not place your model on another model, there would be no reason to have this FAQ otherwise.

You do not have permission to move terrain either and we know you can't deep strike in impassable terrain. By. Nos and DRs RAW, why not just smash them until you reach the table ? Wait I know, because it's not something that is RAW it is something they are using to try and support their claims.

The 1inch rule is a part of movement, DS counts as having moved.

The interesting part of the discussion is actually deciding if you can place your desired location on top of my models, gamesmanship says, why the heck not, better chance to Mishap. But that Mawloc FAQ stings of bad wording and gives it permission do so, which other models do not have.

My way has always been I wanna go here, and the rules seem to say place the model where you want it on the table. We know DS counts as having moved so you can't be within 1inch of enemy models.

So RAW I don't think you can, RAI I'd allow it with the greater chance of Mishaps. In the fury of a battle how could the models really know they were DS'in somewhere safe.

As I type this I picture me and NOS playing, I play nids, and have a solo Trygon prime, he places his desired DS location on top of my Trygon prime.
Me. "Nos, you know you have to be able to place the model on the table"
Nos. "Oh I know Dan". (nos pulls out hammer)

Once the Trygon is demolished and seeing as he's alone not within 1inch of another model I think NOS might place his model and roll for DS.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/01 13:06:25


 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




Stormbreed, you do understand that we are talking strict RAW here, not RAI or HIWPI?

WH 40K rules as they are written are non-functional at best, and total garbage at worst. You know it's poorly designed rules when players Have To make up house rules just for the game to work and be enjoyable.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/01 12:04:20


 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Polecat wrote:
Stormbreed, you do understand that we are talking strict RAW here, not RAI or HIWPI?

WH 40K rules as they are written are non-funcional at best, and total garbage at worst. You know it's poorly designed rules when players Have To make up house rules just for the game to work and be enjoyable.


Read my post. RAW and RAI posted.

And if RAW someone is gonna smash my models, you better believe RAI is preferable.
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




Stormbreed wrote:


The interesting part of the discussion is actually deciding if you can place your desired location on top of me, gamesmanship says, why the heck not, better chance to Mishap. But that Mawloc FAQ stings of bad wording and gives it permission do so, which other models do not have.




On top of you is not considered by RAW as "table". Unless of course parts of you would be lying on the table, then yes, models can be deployed on top of you.

Or are you saying, that you can just place your hand or any other part of your body on the table, and say that you cant deep strike there, as it is not the table?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/01 12:16:28


 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Polecat wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:


The interesting part of the discussion is actually deciding if you can place your desired location on top of me, gamesmanship says, why the heck not, better chance to Mishap. But that Mawloc FAQ stings of bad wording and gives it permission do so, which other models do not have.




On top of you is not considered by RAW as "table". Unless of course parts of you would be lying on the table, then yes, models can be deployed on top of you.

Or are you saying, that you can just place your hand or any other part of your body on the table, and say that you cant deep strike there, as it is not the table?



Hahahahaha. Fixed it for you. Obv on top of my models.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Stormbreed wrote:
This FAQ to me shows you can not place your model on another model, there would be no reason to have this FAQ otherwise.

You have that backwards. The FAQs are just clarifications of how the game is supposed to work.


... and we know you can't deep strike on top of battlements.

Er... yes you can...


Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: Can a unit deploy onto battlements by Deep Strike? (p95)
A: A unit may attempt to Deep Strike onto battlements;
however, if after determining scatter, the entire unit cannot
deploy onto the battlements (for example if several models
would land on the battlements and others would have to
land on the ground next to the building, and thus out of
coherency) then the unit must roll on the Deep Strike
Mishap Table.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

How do Spore Mines Work? The only reason I ask is because there is a FAQ for spore mines that states this.

Q: How far away must my opponent deploy from any Spore Mines from
clusters that have arrived by Deep Strike? (p48)
A: 1".

I don't know if this relevant or not since I don't know how Spore Mines work.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 insaniak wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
This FAQ to me shows you can not place your model on another model, there would be no reason to have this FAQ otherwise.

You have that backwards. The FAQs are just clarifications of how the game is supposed to work.


... and we know you can't deep strike on top of battlements.

Er... yes you can...


Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: Can a unit deploy onto battlements by Deep Strike? (p95)
A: A unit may attempt to Deep Strike onto battlements;
however, if after determining scatter, the entire unit cannot
deploy onto the battlements (for example if several models
would land on the battlements and others would have to
land on the ground next to the building, and thus out of
coherency) then the unit must roll on the Deep Strike
Mishap Table.


Fixed the 2nd part for you, but the point was based on the idea of "Smashing" models

As for the first part, actually you have it wrong. The FAQ is for only the Mawloc and doesn't set any kind of rules for any other units in the game. The fact they FAQ the Mawloc to be able to do a DS in this manner shows you need permission on models do so.

FAQ's are not blanket rules.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

FAQs are clarifications, they are not supposed to change rules, that's what amendments are for. Granted, GW have been known to change rules in FAQs, but I don't think we should just assume they're incompetent and have changed the rule for the Mawloc alone despite it being in an FAQ not an amendment, when a clarification that allows deep strikers to be placed over a unit is also a reasonable interpretation.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 PrinceRaven wrote:
FAQs are clarifications, they are not supposed to change rules, that's what amendments are for. Granted, GW have been known to change rules in FAQs, but I don't think we should just assume they're incompetent and have changed the rule for the Mawloc alone despite it being in an FAQ not an amendment, when a clarification that allows deep strikers to be placed over a unit is also a reasonable interpretation.


People didn't think based on the rules you could place the original location over the models you wanted to use Mawloc's special rules on, so they asked and GW made an allowance in his case for them to do so. That doesn't give a blanket allowance for all DS models to do so.

There are many cases where FAQ's go against each other proving these are not blanket rules.
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






Stormbreed wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
FAQs are clarifications, they are not supposed to change rules, that's what amendments are for. Granted, GW have been known to change rules in FAQs, but I don't think we should just assume they're incompetent and have changed the rule for the Mawloc alone despite it being in an FAQ not an amendment, when a clarification that allows deep strikers to be placed over a unit is also a reasonable interpretation.


People didn't think based on the rules you could place the original location over the models you wanted to use Mawloc's special rules on, so they asked and GW clarified the rules. That allowed all DS models to do so.


Fixed this for you.

See, you're trying to use people logic. DM uses Mandelogic, which we've established has 2+2=quack. - Aerethan
Putin.....would make a Vulcan Intelligence officer cry. - Jihadin
AFAIK, there is only one world, and it is the real world. - Iron_Captain
DakkaRank Comment: I sound like a Power Ranger.
TFOL and proud. Also a Forge World Fan.
I should really paint some of my models instead of browsing forums. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Stormbreed - there is no special allowance here, the FAQ is a confirmation only
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




-Shrike- wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
FAQs are clarifications, they are not supposed to change rules, that's what amendments are for. Granted, GW have been known to change rules in FAQs, but I don't think we should just assume they're incompetent and have changed the rule for the Mawloc alone despite it being in an FAQ not an amendment, when a clarification that allows deep strikers to be placed over a unit is also a reasonable interpretation.


People didn't think based on the rules you could place the original location over the models you wanted to use Mawloc's special rules on, so they asked and GW clarified the rules. That allowed all DS models to do so.


Fixed this for you.


nosferatu1001 wrote:Stormbreed - there is no special allowance here, the FAQ is a confirmation only



So they Clarified the rules for Mawloc's special rule. Not for DS. I'm fine with that, after all the FAQ is worded as a question in regards to the special rule.
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






Stormbreed wrote:
-Shrike- wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
FAQs are clarifications, they are not supposed to change rules, that's what amendments are for. Granted, GW have been known to change rules in FAQs, but I don't think we should just assume they're incompetent and have changed the rule for the Mawloc alone despite it being in an FAQ not an amendment, when a clarification that allows deep strikers to be placed over a unit is also a reasonable interpretation.


People didn't think based on the rules you could place the original location over the models you wanted to use Mawloc's special rules on, so they asked and GW clarified the rules. That allowed all DS models to do so.


Fixed this for you.


nosferatu1001 wrote:Stormbreed - there is no special allowance here, the FAQ is a confirmation only



So they Clarified the rules for Mawloc's special rule. Not for DS. I'm fine with that, after all the FAQ is worded as a question in regards to the special rule.


"Can a Mawloc choose to Deep Strike onto a point occupied by an
enemy model on purpose in order to use X?"


Note that they didn't clarify the rule X. They clarified Deep Strike, bearing in mind rule X. The fact that all other units mishap when Deep Striking in the same way is irrelevant.

See, you're trying to use people logic. DM uses Mandelogic, which we've established has 2+2=quack. - Aerethan
Putin.....would make a Vulcan Intelligence officer cry. - Jihadin
AFAIK, there is only one world, and it is the real world. - Iron_Captain
DakkaRank Comment: I sound like a Power Ranger.
TFOL and proud. Also a Forge World Fan.
I should really paint some of my models instead of browsing forums. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: