62238
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 10:51:19
Post by: MarkyMark
Did look to see if another post was already here but couldnt find one?, please point me in the right direction if there is!
New FAQs out, PFG now does not extend from the hull if embarked, nor does it protect the vehicle :(
DWA is finally cleared up, as I suspected DWA units DO count towards reserves limit
5760
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 11:59:40
Post by: Drunkspleen
Not sure this thread is really warranted but while it's here:
They also Errata'd it so Deathwing Terminators who take TH/SS or Twin LCs trade their storm bolter and power fist, not all weapons, thus clearing up the "can they take a cyclone?" question.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:08:42
Post by: nosferatu1001
Yep, shocking that they would want DWA to actually follow the rules, and not some made up version where they get to ignore a restriction by being "forced" to DS.
53189
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:16:22
Post by: Scorpiodragon
Well that kinda sucks but it could be worse, they did give belial an iron halo though. They also stated that the banner of devisation does work on hurricane bolters, which is nice to see in writing.
62238
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:17:31
Post by: MarkyMark
Main FAQ also clears up a lot of threads on here that wasnt resolved, like drop pods NOT taking hull points, the silly post I saw where someone argued gun slinger meant he could fire two PSA, swarms taking double damage when being instakilled etc
11228
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:18:42
Post by: Holy~Heretic
Wow i'm gobsmacked about the DW reserves ruling. Just wow, a total kick in the you know whats to pure deathwing armies.
There is a nice addition to the ravenwing command squads tho. They can now be 5 members strong.
But sad panda face overall for DW armies since they are now even harder to field than before.
62238
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:22:33
Post by: MarkyMark
Holy~Heretic wrote:Wow i'm gobsmacked about the DW reserves ruling. Just wow, a total kick in the you know whats to pure deathwing armies.
There is a nice addition to the ravenwing command squads tho. They can now be 5 members strong.
But sad panda face overall for DW armies since they are now even harder to field than before.
Wow, totally missed that!, thats a lot more interesting having 5 in a RW command squad.
To be honest, with the daemons losing all reserve rule and only marines being able to do it I suspected DW would lose all reserve armies as well.
24882
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:39:32
Post by: Infreak
It's not harder to field a DW army. You just now have to decide if you are willing to risk slogging across the field or take some tac squads to hold the back so you can DS all of your DW.
Though I expected the FAQ to go the way it did, I still had hoped that DW might have been an exception.
69483
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:42:30
Post by: shamikebab
It was obviously going to go that way, why would Deathwing be allowed to drop their entire army on turn 1? That would be ridiculously OP Drop pod armies can't drop all their drop pods.
11228
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 12:51:09
Post by: Holy~Heretic
Infreak wrote:It's not harder to field a DW army. You just now have to decide if you are willing to risk slogging across the field or take some tac squads to hold the back so you can DS all of your DW.
Though I expected the FAQ to go the way it did, I still had hoped that DW might have been an exception.
I mean it makes DW alot less competitive, something they were far from in the first place.
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 13:03:51
Post by: paqman
The ruling on the power field generators makes me very sad since I used a techmarine in a vehicle with a PFG to shield 2 or 3 other vehicles on a regular basis. Though, I suspected that this would eventually be ruled out. It was a bit OP. I think I might try simply stacking 3 tanks close together and put the Techmarine out of sight behind them.
This came out of the left field and I never anticipated this: "Any Deathwing Terminator can replace his storm bolter and powerfist with ...."
Now I have to remove the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield from my seargents.... really unhappy about this since I thought they were my most good looking terminator models.
I sounded stupid at home as I let out a sound of surprise at reading that the Black Knight could take an extra two men. I might actually try Ravenwing+SoD.
For the deathwing army completelly in reserve: I never interpreted it like this, so nothing changed for me.
Finally, the rulling on the Standard of Devastation and the Hurricane bolter took me by surprise. I never used this combination as I was completelly convinced that the FAQ would rule it out but, surprisingly, it can be done!
So now my PFG techmarine will go in a Land Raider Crusader.
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:05:00
Post by: Blaggard
The PFG won't even effect the transport it's in anymore.
Why would they remove the ability of the Sargeant to take a TH/SS? Doesn't make sense.
64368
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:13:27
Post by: Rorschach9
Blaggard wrote:The PFG won't even effect the transport it's in anymore.
Why would they remove the ability of the Sargeant to take a TH/ SS? Doesn't make sense.
This came out of the left field and I never anticipated this: "Any Deathwing Terminator can replace his storm bolter and powerfist with ...."
Now I have to remove the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield from my seargents.... really unhappy about this since I thought they were my most good looking terminator models.
They didn't remove that change. It says any MODEL may replace his SB/ PF with .. and then include a TH/ SS in the replacements. The Sgt is a model.
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:16:23
Post by: Happyjew
Rorschach9 wrote: Blaggard wrote:The PFG won't even effect the transport it's in anymore.
Why would they remove the ability of the Sargeant to take a TH/ SS? Doesn't make sense.
This came out of the left field and I never anticipated this: "Any Deathwing Terminator can replace his storm bolter and powerfist with ...."
Now I have to remove the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield from my seargents.... really unhappy about this since I thought they were my most good looking terminator models.
They didn't remove that change. It says any MODEL may replace his SB/ PF with .. and then include a TH/ SS in the replacements. The Sgt is a model.
The Sgt. is a model who lacks a Power Fist and thus does not meet the requirements to swap.
64368
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:18:21
Post by: Rorschach9
Happyjew wrote:Rorschach9 wrote: Blaggard wrote:The PFG won't even effect the transport it's in anymore.
Why would they remove the ability of the Sargeant to take a TH/ SS? Doesn't make sense.
This came out of the left field and I never anticipated this: "Any Deathwing Terminator can replace his storm bolter and powerfist with ...."
Now I have to remove the Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield from my seargents.... really unhappy about this since I thought they were my most good looking terminator models.
They didn't remove that change. It says any MODEL may replace his SB/ PF with .. and then include a TH/ SS in the replacements. The Sgt is a model.
The Sgt. is a model who lacks a Power Fist and thus does not meet the requirements to swap.
Ah, good point.
55901
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:18:27
Post by: trephines
Blaggard wrote:The PFG won't even effect the transport it's in anymore.
Why would they remove the ability of the Sargeant to take a TH/ SS? Doesn't make sense.
What? They dont effect transports anymore? Where do you get that from? The ork mekboy generator thing works on transports...
24882
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:18:53
Post by: Infreak
Removing the ability for a Sargeant to take a TH/SS does strike me as a bit odd. Maybe it was one of those rare poorly thought out changes...
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:20:35
Post by: Happyjew
Infreak wrote:Removing the ability for a Sargeant to take a TH/ SS does strike me as a bit odd. Maybe it was one of those rare poorly thought out changes...
You mean like this one:
Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.
You'd think they would have fixed that, but no. They felt it was more important to clarify that Mind War allows Cover Saves.
62238
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:21:32
Post by: MarkyMark
Happyjew wrote: Infreak wrote:Removing the ability for a Sargeant to take a TH/ SS does strike me as a bit odd. Maybe it was one of those rare poorly thought out changes...
You mean like this one:
Q: The Farseer Psychic Powers rules state that they do not require the
Eldar Psyker to have line of sight to the target. Does this mean that they
can be used by an Eldar psyker embarked on a Transport? (p28)
A: No.
You'd think they would have fixed that, but no. They felt it was more important to clarify that Mind War allows Cover Saves.
And LOS, very against the fluff! lol.
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:23:17
Post by: Happyjew
LOS! doesn't bother me that much. I've only used the power a couple times to snipe certain models (such as the HW guy).
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 14:48:58
Post by: paqman
Crap! You're right. Its even worse than I thought!
53575
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 15:08:40
Post by: 40k-noob
It should at least give it to the vehicle it is in. Silly ruling.
Ironically, you could have the Techmarine on foot in between 3 vehicles and they would get the benefit. (wedge formation, 2 with 1 in front and techmarine in the middle)
62238
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 15:10:12
Post by: MarkyMark
40k-noob wrote:
It should at least give it to the vehicle it is in. Silly ruling.
Ironically, you could have the Techmarine on foot in between 3 vehicles and they would get the benefit. (wedge formation, 2 with 1 in front and techmarine in the middle)
Thinking on a bike might be better for measuring from the base, this is what I will be running now instead of on foot well in transport on foot.
33774
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 15:17:52
Post by: tgf
I am pretty sure somebody owes me a name change. Anyhow I was right on everything pre-faq so it makes me happy.
CML TH/SS is clearly legal...it always has been
DWA counts towards reserves..duh
The Sgt losing the TH/SS option for challenges kinda sucks but oh well.
68289
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 15:39:17
Post by: Nem
tgf wrote:
CML TH/ SS is clearly legal...it always has been
To be fair it was not that clear. It needed a Errata not just a FAQ it was written badly
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 15:55:35
Post by: Blaggard
tgf wrote:I am pretty sure somebody owes me a name change. Anyhow I was right on everything pre- faq so it makes me happy.
CML TH/ SS is clearly legal...it always has been
DWA counts towards reserves..duh
The Sgt losing the TH/ SS option for challenges kinda sucks but oh well.
Not just challenges, against shooting too. Sarge with TH/ SS eats any AP1/2 and I try to LOS anything else onto the other guys. That's no longer possible, if you take a TH/ SS he keeps eating all wounds until he dies.
60660
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 16:22:10
Post by: masquerade81
I for one am happy that i can now add more bikes to my Ravenwing command squad, even if it costs 40 pts to do so... Happy days!
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 16:51:55
Post by: paqman
40k-noob wrote:
It should at least give it to the vehicle it is in. Silly ruling.
Ironically, you could have the Techmarine on foot in between 3 vehicles and they would get the benefit. (wedge formation, 2 with 1 in front and techmarine in the middle)
That's exactly what I will do.
37995
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 17:48:31
Post by: Ministry
I think its ridiculous that the PFG doesnt even affect the transport that is carrying the techmarine/librarian. As its been pointed out - being outside would protech the LR. I guess they just wanted to allow enemies to shoot the PFG character dead.
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:04:53
Post by: Blaggard
Or give him a Bike to keep up, get T5 and a Jink.
72453
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:06:57
Post by: Hektik
Not a fan of this FAQ. It kind of cemented that there is only 1 way to build a half way competitive DA list, and that's with a Land Raider Crusader with a Standard of Devastation in it surrounded by Bikes and Land Speeders. I think they are intentionally making 6th edition a pure shooty edition with no hope for assault style armies.
11228
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:08:39
Post by: Holy~Heretic
I am really confused about the sargent not being able to take weapon changes. Do you guys think this is a mistake or intended? And will this be enforced in tournies etc?
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:11:23
Post by: Happyjew
Holy~Heretic wrote:I am really confused about the sargent not being able to take weapon changes. Do you guys think this is a mistake or intended? And will this be enforced in tournies etc?
Personally I think it was mistake. In a friendly game I would not enforce it.
12928
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:20:44
Post by: Deuce11
Ugh the Sgt. FAQ is really annoying! It was definitely (IMO) an oversight to prohibit Sgts from taking TH/SS or tlLC
3309
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 18:40:40
Post by: Flinty
Given that all other terminator assault squads can TH up the sergeant and that the box set comes with 5 thss arms, its a safebet that its an oversight
68181
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:07:12
Post by: Mythantor
I was kinda hoping for the new FAQ to make the Nephilim/Dark Talon playable :(
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:07:39
Post by: paqman
Flinty wrote:Given that all other terminator assault squads can TH up the sergeant and that the box set comes with 5 thss arms, its a safebet that its an oversight
I agree on this but what other effect would this new wording have other than to prevent the Saergent from taking the TH/ SS?
The new wording was added to both the command squad and the normal death wing squad. They had to think about it twice before writing it.
I am annoyed with these errata-ed entries (less than the PFG techmarine in vehicles though)
Mythantor wrote:I was kinda hoping for the new FAQ to make the Nephilim/Dark Talon playable :(
And this ^^
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:12:51
Post by: Blaggard
The DWCS doesn't have a Sargent so it doesn't really effect them in that regard.
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:15:45
Post by: paqman
Blaggard wrote:The DWCS doesn't have a Sargent so it doesn't really effect them in that regard.
True! So, I will use my TH/ SS seargent as a model part of the command squad!
Thanks for pointing this out.
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:17:56
Post by: Happyjew
paqman wrote: Flinty wrote:Given that all other terminator assault squads can TH up the sergeant and that the box set comes with 5 thss arms, its a safebet that its an oversight
I agree on this but what other effect would this new wording have other than to prevent the Saergent from taking the TH/ SS?
The new wording was added to both the command squad and the normal death wing squad. They had to think about it twice before writing it.
The change was made so that a model with TH/ SS could take a CML.
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:22:41
Post by: paqman
Happyjew wrote: paqman wrote: Flinty wrote:Given that all other terminator assault squads can TH up the sergeant and that the box set comes with 5 thss arms, its a safebet that its an oversight
I agree on this but what other effect would this new wording have other than to prevent the Saergent from taking the TH/ SS?
The new wording was added to both the command squad and the normal death wing squad. They had to think about it twice before writing it.
The change was made so that a model with TH/ SS could take a CML.
Ha! I see!
I had a CML ready but not added to a TH/ SS model yet while waiting for this ruling.
Thanks again for pointing this out. It hadn't been obvious from my point of view but it is now that I re-read it.
12928
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:23:20
Post by: Deuce11
^ *Could* take a CML????
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:26:08
Post by: Happyjew
Yes "could" take a CML. Pre- FAQ it was argued that since you replaced "all" weapons with TH/ SS then you had to lose the CMl.
13192
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:36:43
Post by: Ian Sturrock
I find the PFG ruling frustrating, not because I'm mad keen on PFGs, but just because it seems to contradict the BRB. I hate having to remember stuff like that...
Automatically Appended Next Post: More than made up for by the RW Command Squad addition though.  I guess they needed to shift more boxes of Black Knights!
55701
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 19:40:27
Post by: paqman
Well, 40k is a set of rules, with codices full of exceptions!
13192
DA Faq @ 2013/04/23 21:35:50
Post by: Ian Sturrock
Oh, yeah, I don't really mind that part, but I don't much like further exceptions in FAQs.
69145
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 03:07:25
Post by: Asmodai Asmodean
Hektik wrote:Not a fan of this FAQ. It kind of cemented that there is only 1 way to build a half way competitive DA list, and that's with a Land Raider Crusader with a Standard of Devastation in it surrounded by Bikes and Land Speeders. I think they are intentionally making 6th edition a pure shooty edition with no hope for assault style armies.
You mean a Ravenwing list with an LRC supported by PFG Techmarine on a bike and 5-man RCS with the Banner?
The PFG nerf was coming, but you still can mount a PFG tech on bike behind it, just a little more tricky but still viable. This does mean Helldrakes got a stealth buff vs DA, no more LRC of 4++. :(
Well the Deathwing Assault ruling is a blow, so much for pure Deathwing in 6th Edition.
5-man RCS is huge. Why would you complain about paying 40 points for Black Knights when the alternative is... 42 Points in the Fast attack slot?
Vast Stasis Anomaly got nerfed slightly, but I don't know anyone who uses it or ever will.
Asmodai got a bolt pistol. Yay! Still unplayable rubbish.
Strangely, no ruling on the RW command squad being unlocked by Bike Techmarine.
54575
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 08:03:04
Post by: Capamaru
It is absolutely ridiculous to deny the DW sergeant the ability to take a TH/SS. I really hope it is poorly worded and they are gonna fix it sooner or later.
38572
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 09:49:58
Post by: Theofilos
About the Deathwing Terminator Squads I think that the "replacing their storm bolter and power fist with..." means that the Sergeants cannot take a Storm shield / Thunder Hammer anymore, as well as anything else you've said. Ohhh already written my bad...
32321
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 11:36:03
Post by: Azrell
Get used to it, this is 40k and you play DAs. GW should include free lube with every codex.
69951
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 12:04:24
Post by: Moridan
The PFG affects every model within 3", whether friend or enemy, EXCEPT the transport if you are in one. So much fail in this that I am now a sad panda. 9-(
42034
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 12:46:05
Post by: Scipio Africanus
DA faq is this?
16023
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 12:56:38
Post by: whill4
I like the PFG FAQ ruling. It seems counter intuitive to me to put a piece of equipment inside a vehicle and it suddenly has a larger area of effect.
69145
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 12:57:47
Post by: Asmodai Asmodean
Azrell wrote:Get used to it, this is 40k and you play DAs. GW should include free lube with every codex.
so true, unless you play Ravenwing, whereupon you can offer it to your opponents. Automatically Appended Next Post: I just realised you could have used the pre-nerf Vast Stasis Bomb on things like Wraithstars and Tervigons or Paladins in conjunction with the Stasis grenade to insta-kill them. Derp.
42034
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 12:59:25
Post by: Scipio Africanus
Asmodai Asmodean wrote: Azrell wrote:Get used to it, this is 40k and you play DAs. GW should include free lube with every codex.
so true, unless you play Ravenwing, whereupon you can offer it to your opponents.
Yeah, I'm not a fan of some pimply haired man applying lube to my... Nevermind.
Also, I am not really that worried when I face Ravenwing. Bikes aren't so great.
54575
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 13:17:51
Post by: Capamaru
Scipio Africanus wrote:Asmodai Asmodean wrote: Azrell wrote:Get used to it, this is 40k and you play DAs. GW should include free lube with every codex.
so true, unless you play Ravenwing, whereupon you can offer it to your opponents.
Yeah, I'm not a fan of some pimply haired man applying lube to my... Nevermind.
Also, I am not really that worried when I face Ravenwing. Bikes aren't so great.
Yeah cause DW termies are...
24882
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 15:05:06
Post by: Infreak
whill4 wrote:I like the PFG FAQ ruling. It seems counter intuitive to me to put a piece of equipment inside a vehicle and it suddenly has a larger area of effect.
I understand why they did that. AV14 with a 4++ is very powerful. Especially since there is a distinct lack of str8+ in armies now that its an infantry based edition. I'd say it even crossed into OP territory, however a Bigmeks KFF works this way. So now we have two similar pieces of wargear that don't work the same while embarked in a vehicle. If any other wargear exists which works similar to these we now have to ask if it will or will not work while embarked in a vehicle. Very sloppy.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 15:34:07
Post by: nosferatu1001
Especially when the same piece of equipment placed OUTSIDE The vheicle still works on the vehicle. So you stick the TM on a bike with a 5 man Knight squad and youre good to go anyway....
36944
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 15:56:29
Post by: VardenV2
In addition to the sergeant shenanigans, would that also mean that, like it is now, an apothecary cannot take a TH/SS? It says that it must replace the power fist with the narthecium and then it says that any model may replace the power fist and SB with a TH/SS. I would assume that you cannot have an apothecary with a TH/SS now too, as the previous entry said "May replace all weapons with a TH/SS." Not sure a narthecium is considered a weapon so I would imagine this actually hurts the apothecary option too.
But I may be wrong.
And on the topic of the sgt. I imagine that this is, once again, a rules oversight. Effectively we have gained CMLs on out TH/SS but then lost a viable challenge option for our sergeants... I would prefer it the old way if this is true, as the CML guy usually just hangs in the back anyway. In a friendly game I can't imagine anyone being opposed to you keeping your sgts with their TH/SS because that rule is written poorly... again... and makes no logical sense.
- VardenV2
48275
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 17:52:29
Post by: andystache
VardenV2 wrote:In addition to the sergeant shenanigans, would that also mean that, like it is now, an apothecary cannot take a TH/ SS? It says that it must replace the power fist with the narthecium and then it says that any model may replace the power fist and SB with a TH/ SS. I would assume that you cannot have an apothecary with a TH/ SS now too, as the previous entry said "May replace all weapons with a TH/ SS." Not sure a narthecium is considered a weapon so I would imagine this actually hurts the apothecary option too.
But I may be wrong.
And on the topic of the sgt. I imagine that this is, once again, a rules oversight. Effectively we have gained CMLs on out TH/ SS but then lost a viable challenge option for our sergeants... I would prefer it the old way if this is true, as the CML guy usually just hangs in the back anyway. In a friendly game I can't imagine anyone being opposed to you keeping your sgts with their TH/ SS because that rule is written poorly... again... and makes no logical sense.
- VardenV2
But it's not. This brings the Termies into line with every other unit in the Codex. Troopers have different options than their Sgt in every case. The Apothocary always gives up a weapon, whether PA, bike, or Termie the Narth isn't a weapon and replaces one of your weapons. This isn't how it used to be, but this is a new codex and new edition. If your Apoth doesn't have a Narth then you don't have an Apoth so no FnP for you. "Viable challenge option" when did a model with a 2+/5++ AP3 attack at I4 become an unviable challenge option? Just because you don't like the change doesn't mean it's poorly written, it's just not written in the way that you want it done. As I've said before if you *really* need a challenge taker in your DW squad suit up a Int-Chap or a Libby, you can still have your TH/ SS and now you have better Init and more Wounds
32321
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 17:59:42
Post by: Azrell
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 18:14:13
Post by: Blaggard
andystache wrote: VardenV2 wrote:In addition to the sergeant shenanigans, would that also mean that, like it is now, an apothecary cannot take a TH/ SS? It says that it must replace the power fist with the narthecium and then it says that any model may replace the power fist and SB with a TH/ SS. I would assume that you cannot have an apothecary with a TH/ SS now too, as the previous entry said "May replace all weapons with a TH/ SS." Not sure a narthecium is considered a weapon so I would imagine this actually hurts the apothecary option too.
But I may be wrong.
And on the topic of the sgt. I imagine that this is, once again, a rules oversight. Effectively we have gained CMLs on out TH/ SS but then lost a viable challenge option for our sergeants... I would prefer it the old way if this is true, as the CML guy usually just hangs in the back anyway. In a friendly game I can't imagine anyone being opposed to you keeping your sgts with their TH/ SS because that rule is written poorly... again... and makes no logical sense.
- VardenV2
But it's not. This brings the Termies into line with every other unit in the Codex. Troopers have different options than their Sgt in every case. The Apothocary always gives up a weapon, whether PA, bike, or Termie the Narth isn't a weapon and replaces one of your weapons. This isn't how it used to be, but this is a new codex and new edition. If your Apoth doesn't have a Narth then you don't have an Apoth so no FnP for you. "Viable challenge option" when did a model with a 2+/5++ AP3 attack at I4 become an unviable challenge option? Just because you don't like the change doesn't mean it's poorly written, it's just not written in the way that you want it done. As I've said before if you *really* need a challenge taker in your DW squad suit up a Int-Chap or a Libby, you can still have your TH/ SS and now you have better Init and more Wounds
In every other codex it's the Sargeants who can take different weapon loadouts, not the bog standard dudes.
48275
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 18:25:18
Post by: andystache
Interesting note there Blaggard, but consider this, the only options available to an HQ in Termie (except Big B) are Special Issue and Terminator weapons. Sgt's never get Special Issue and the only option in Terminator weapons is a combi weapon. So the DW Sgt is still in line with the established codex in terms of equipment. If you think of the alternate CC weapons in a DW squad as the equivalent of special weapons to a PA squad then everything falls into place.
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 18:39:25
Post by: Blaggard
But our PA sargeants can take melee weapons. The DW sargeant cannot choose to take anything. Although looking at the rules that seems to have been the case even before the FAQ.
65717
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 18:48:18
Post by: Elric Greywolf
Yep. I kept reading the thread title as this.
Also, since DWA counts toward reserves, can we infer that this applies to all Termies? Ie. TDA "can always DS" means they count toward your reserve limit, so no GK all reserve armies.
47462
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 18:57:45
Post by: rigeld2
Well a GK all reserve army would auto-lose as they don't have anything on the board Turn 1.
Except Mordrak I guess. Nevermind.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 19:05:41
Post by: nosferatu1001
Elric - no, because pre=6th edition TDA specifically allow you to ALWAYS start in reserve. If you are prevented from starting in reserve you have broken this rule, and must have a more specific rule stating so, and this more specific rule does not exist - as this answer is ONLY for DWA currently
48275
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 19:30:07
Post by: andystache
Blaggard wrote:But our PA sargeants can take melee weapons. The DW sargeant cannot choose to take anything. Although looking at the rules that seems to have been the case even before the FAQ.
I saw that too, but that would cause weirdness, like a Termie Sgt using a Chainsword. Even if they added that option you'd have a Sgt with TH/ SB as Storm Shields aren't in the armory, they're in specific unit entries. I've always though if you're running you DW as TH/ SS why didn't you just buy the DWK, you're giving up the coolest abilities of the DW by removing ranged weapons, but that's just my take on it
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 19:32:59
Post by: Blaggard
All you're doing is removing storm bolters, no the most killy thing. You always had the option of keeping one guy with a PF/SB to swap to a weapon which wasn't a CML.
48275
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 19:46:25
Post by: andystache
I didn't say most killy just coolest, that being the ability to shoot a tank with a missile and a squad with storm bolters then charge the squad and TL deep striking. But like I say that's just me and I like my DA to be extra shooty, it's what the Greenwing is known for
59773
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 20:08:11
Post by: Blaggard
You still get to TL the Heavy weapon and charge, which is what counts. The SBs add some wounds but that 3++ and scoring is delicious.
I'll leave shooty termi's to the GK, DA wants to be in melee imo.
48275
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 20:15:05
Post by: andystache
See man I gotta stay outta threads with you, you're liable to make me do things like think, and we just can't have that. New test list with Azzie and Vets in a DP with a T2 DWA, maybe even go Cypher Vets with two pistols to make the most of that first round of shooting
36944
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 20:39:48
Post by: VardenV2
I tmakes no sense that the sergeant, most likely the most experienced member of the DW squad, would not be able to take a SS/TH. Especially because many people have already modeled their sgts to have those weapons. To me, the wording was used to clarify that the CML may be used on someone with a TH/SS. In the process of doing so, they accidentally messed up the sergeant's option. There's no reason for the wording in the original print if the intention was to make it so that the DW sgt couldn't take the options. Otherwise they would have written "Any Deathwing terminator may..." from the get go and nothing would have been confusing. But it goes from "any model may replace all weapons" to "any model may replace SB and PF."... so they created another problem and changed the squad dynamics AGAIN without intending to do so I think... sigh...
And yes, a 2+ 5++ terminator with a power sword is good at challenges. But yknow who is WAY BETTER at challenges? A sgt with a TH/SS... aka almost every other terminator sergeant you will fight in close combat.
- VardenV2
32321
DA Faq @ 2013/04/24 21:44:20
Post by: Azrell
VardenV2 wrote:I tmakes no sense that the sergeant, most likely the most experienced member of the DW squad, would not be able to take a SS/ TH. Especially because many people have already modeled their sgts to have those weapons. To me, the wording was used to clarify that the CML may be used on someone with a TH/ SS. In the process of doing so, they accidentally messed up the sergeant's option. There's no reason for the wording in the original print if the intention was to make it so that the DW sgt couldn't take the options. Otherwise they would have written "Any Deathwing terminator may..." from the get go and nothing would have been confusing. But it goes from "any model may replace all weapons" to "any model may replace SB and PF."... so they created another problem and changed the squad dynamics AGAIN without intending to do so I think... sigh...
And yes, a 2+ 5++ terminator with a power sword is good at challenges. But yknow who is WAY BETTER at challenges? A sgt with a TH/ SS... aka almost every other terminator sergeant you will fight in close combat.
- VardenV2
Its been obvious from the get go that they just don't give a damn about dark angels. They literally cut and pasted the DA vets from the last codex, and nothing in the codex really has much synergy. Sure a ravenwing biker has a TPH but so what? the nilla codex give you the option of taking those on almost every Sargent in any squad, even scouts! Its almost like they play tested the DAs units without telling the play testers that they were DAs leading them to assume that they would just be more units in the nilla dex, because it has some serious holes that you have to take allies to fill.
69145
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 02:58:03
Post by: Asmodai Asmodean
Its been obvious from the get go that they just don't give a damn about dark angels. They literally cut and pasted the DA vets from the last codex, and nothing in the codex really has much synergy. Sure a ravenwing biker has a TPH but so what? the nilla codex give you the option of taking those on almost every Sargent in any squad, even scouts! Its almost like they play tested the DAs units without telling the play testers that they were DAs leading them to assume that they would just be more units in the nilla dex, because it has some serious holes that you have to take allies to fill.
This is patently untrue. There's some crap in the codex, but there's crap in every codex. Standards, PFG, and Black Knights make this the strongest Dark Angel codex ever written.
Sure it could be much better in some aspects, but let's not expect too much from GW, really.
71171
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 03:28:56
Post by: Ironwill13791
+1 to that Asmodai. I think this is the strongest DA codex ever written. Plus I am psyched to be able to add extra B. Knights to my RW command squad. It seemed to small stuck at 3 models.
69145
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 04:03:13
Post by: Asmodai Asmodean
The thing is Black Knights for 40 points are possibly one of the most points efficient units in the game, for the same cost as a SM Bike with plasma you get Skilled Rider, Hit and Run, Str 5 Rending, and Twin-Linked, and the access to the awesome grenade launcher. There really isn't any point in taking Black Knights for 2 points more when you can get a 5 man command squad instead.
5760
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 04:49:50
Post by: Drunkspleen
VardenV2 wrote:In addition to the sergeant shenanigans, would that also mean that, like it is now, an apothecary cannot take a TH/ SS? It says that it must replace the power fist with the narthecium and then it says that any model may replace the power fist and SB with a TH/ SS. I would assume that you cannot have an apothecary with a TH/ SS now too, as the previous entry said "May replace all weapons with a TH/ SS." Not sure a narthecium is considered a weapon so I would imagine this actually hurts the apothecary option too.
But I may be wrong.
You are wrong, the Apothecary already couldn't take a Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield because he's not a "Deathwing Terminator" but rather a "Deathwing Apothecary"
Nothing has changed there.
72767
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 13:23:05
Post by: Anesthetize
Hey all, very new player here, and this ambiguity is bothering me. How does something like this get cleared up? Wait for the next FAQ? How often are they usually released?
As I'm just starting out, I won't be playing any tournament level games any time soon, so it's probably not that big of a deal anyway. But, even casually, I'd like to know that I'm playing by the correct rules.
60662
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 13:39:49
Post by: Purifier
Anesthetize wrote:Hey all, very new player here, and this ambiguity is bothering me. How does something like this get cleared up? Wait for the next FAQ? How often are they usually released?
As I'm just starting out, I won't be playing any tournament level games any time soon, so it's probably not that big of a deal anyway. But, even casually, I'd like to know that I'm playing by the correct rules.
Sometimes never, and you'll find lots of ambiguity in the rules as you go along. This is cleared up. This isn't even nearly as ambiguous as some unFAQ'ed things you'll find.
69145
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 13:51:06
Post by: Asmodai Asmodean
GW has a terrible record of keeping updates. When it comes to wargear and such, just agree with your opponent to do whatever makes sense.
71171
DA Faq @ 2013/04/25 13:53:40
Post by: Ironwill13791
Asmodai Asmodean wrote:The thing is Black Knights for 40 points are possibly one of the most points efficient units in the game, for the same cost as a SM Bike with plasma you get Skilled Rider, Hit and Run, Str 5 Rending, and Twin-Linked, and the access to the awesome grenade launcher. There really isn't any point in taking Black Knights for 2 points more when you can get a 5 man command squad instead.
Exalted. I couldn't agree more.
61775
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 02:00:17
Post by: ClassicCarraway
Infreak wrote:whill4 wrote:I like the PFG FAQ ruling. It seems counter intuitive to me to put a piece of equipment inside a vehicle and it suddenly has a larger area of effect.
I understand why they did that. AV14 with a 4++ is very powerful. Especially since there is a distinct lack of str8+ in armies now that its an infantry based edition. I'd say it even crossed into OP territory, however a Bigmeks KFF works this way. So now we have two similar pieces of wargear that don't work the same while embarked in a vehicle. If any other wargear exists which works similar to these we now have to ask if it will or will not work while embarked in a vehicle. Very sloppy.
Actually, its not sloppy at all, it makes sense. If I recall (and I may be off on this one), all Ork transports are open topped, so it makes sense that a force field generator would work for them. Meanwhile, Marine transports are completely enclosed, so it makes no sense what-so-ever that the field would cover anything outside the transport, but would cover vehicles when PFG is outside.
Now that sensible logic is out of the way, the real motivation for this was a nerf to keep DA LRs from being OP. Lord forbid an army other than Necrons have OP combos (I'm still bitter about the sophoric musk/acquiescence nerf and the constant FAQ buffing of Necrons)
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 08:03:20
Post by: nosferatu1001
Battlewagons and Looted wagons dont have to be open topped.
36944
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 15:36:06
Post by: VardenV2
Drunkspleen wrote: VardenV2 wrote:In addition to the sergeant shenanigans, would that also mean that, like it is now, an apothecary cannot take a TH/ SS? It says that it must replace the power fist with the narthecium and then it says that any model may replace the power fist and SB with a TH/ SS. I would assume that you cannot have an apothecary with a TH/ SS now too, as the previous entry said "May replace all weapons with a TH/ SS." Not sure a narthecium is considered a weapon so I would imagine this actually hurts the apothecary option too.
But I may be wrong.
You are wrong, the Apothecary already couldn't take a Thunder Hammer and Storm Shield because he's not a "Deathwing Terminator" but rather a "Deathwing Apothecary"
Nothing has changed there.
Ok cool, that's what I thought but was jsut making sure. Another question: In the DW section it says something along the lines of "One deathwing terminator may switch out their Storm Bolter for Plasma cannon, Assault cannon, or Heavy flamer." Does this mean that it is possible to give this upgrade to your apothecary, as he still has a storm bolter? Basically you would swap out his weapon for the assault cannon, and then swap out his power fist for the narthecium, renaming him to the apothecary after he has already taken the upgrade. Is that just a loophole or is that a legitimate build? If so, it would be awesome.
- VardenV2
46128
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 15:50:58
Post by: Happyjew
It used to be legitimate. Currently it is not.
50012
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 16:29:43
Post by: Crimson
VardenV2 wrote:
Ok cool, that's what I thought but was jsut making sure. Another question: In the DW section it says something along the lines of "One deathwing terminator may switch out their Storm Bolter for Plasma cannon, Assault cannon, or Heavy flamer." Does this mean that it is possible to give this upgrade to your apothecary, as he still has a storm bolter? Basically you would swap out his weapon for the assault cannon, and then swap out his power fist for the narthecium, renaming him to the apothecary after he has already taken the upgrade. Is that just a loophole or is that a legitimate build? If so, it would be awesome.
No you cannot do this. Apotechary is no longer a Deathwing Terminator, so he cannot have upgrades meant for Deathwing Terminators. Just like Dark Eldar Sybarites cannot have heavy or special weapons even though they're upgraded from standard warriors who can. If GW meant to this to be possible, they would have written 'any model' instead of 'Deathwing Terminator'.
36944
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 18:17:50
Post by: VardenV2
Ok, cool thanks for the clarification. I was assuming that the apothecary couldn't take the upgrade, but I was reading last night and it sort of dawned on me that it might be possible. I guess the apothecary will have to have the role of keeping everyone alive as opposed to gunning everyone down haha.
70326
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 18:19:47
Post by: DJGietzen
nosferatu1001 wrote:Elric - no, because pre=6th edition TDA specifically allow you to ALWAYS start in reserve. If you are prevented from starting in reserve you have broken this rule, and must have a more specific rule stating so, and this more specific rule does not exist - as this answer is ONLY for DWA currently
I disagree. TDA specifically gives permission to deep strike, not start in reserve. A unit must be in reserve in order to deep strike.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/04/26 19:07:37
Post by: nosferatu1001
It gives you permission to always Deepstrike. If you try to prevent them going into reserves, in order to deepstrike, have you followed the rule?
73096
DA Faq @ 2013/05/29 19:33:46
Post by: Cryhavoc!!!
Blaggard wrote:You still get to TL the Heavy weapon and charge, which is what counts. The SBs add some wounds but that 3++ and scoring is delicious.
I'll leave shooty termi's to the GK, DA wants to be in melee imo.
Que???
" TL and charge?"
So the vengeful strike lets you TL all weapons that turn. But are you saying that you can then charge? The turn you arrive by deep strike. Where does it say that? ( PS here's wishing it was true!!)
72239
DA Faq @ 2013/05/29 23:06:34
Post by: helotaxi
nosferatu1001 wrote:It gives you permission to always Deepstrike. If you try to prevent them going into reserves, in order to deepstrike, have you followed the rule?
Unregard original.
I think the important distinction to be made is the use of the word "may" meaning that Deep Strike is an optional deployment method for models wearing TDA. That would also mean that models in TDA deploying via DS would count against the 50% in reserve limit since you are choosing to place them in reserves. The only units that don't count against the 50% are those that "must" begin the game in reserve. The only time that you would be kept from placing a model in TDA in reserve for arrival via DS would be if more than 50% of your army is equipped with TDA. Otherwise you're limited in the number of other models that you can place in reserve, not those in TDA. If more than 50% of your army is in TDA, RAW, you could place them all in reserve and DS them since specific rules trump general ones, making the FAQ FAQ'n wrong in that special case.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/05/30 08:20:27
Post by: nosferatu1001
Actually they could always deepstrike "even if" the Reserves rule was not in play. So not really sure what your post is, as it is incorrect in pretty much every way.
72239
DA Faq @ 2013/05/31 02:44:59
Post by: helotaxi
Reread everything and I stand corrected. Above post redacted.
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/05/31 08:10:36
Post by: nosferatu1001
Yep, as I said - they count towards the limit, but the limit does not apply to them. So they could prevent non-oldTDA equipped units from being placed into reserves, if that would exceed 50% of total units being placed in reserves, but cannot themselves be prevented from being placed in reserves.
It will all be moot once the final oldTDA equipped models get their 6th ed update, which removes this allowance.
72239
DA Faq @ 2013/05/31 13:57:06
Post by: helotaxi
nosferatu1001 wrote:It will all be moot once the final oldTDA equipped models get their 6th ed update, which removes this allowance.
You assume...
11268
DA Faq @ 2013/05/31 14:00:39
Post by: nosferatu1001
Not really, given both CHaos and DA terminators have lost this rule. It would be unusual to add this back in.
|
|