Switch Theme:

Base size,Is there a set size for models?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

Hey all,

I was wondering if it was legal to put my Raptors on the larger Termie/Possessed bases as those chunks of metal keep deciding to fall over and due to the lovely fragile nature of their limbs tend to get borked during an average game.(Any kind of movement of gaming table and 2-4 go over)

I did a search but all I could find out was that the bases that came with the models are considered minimum correct? But is it far to go for max aswell? I know this would allow blast templates to have a field day but I'm not too pushed. Could even draw a circle or something but again not bothered. And yes I have tried the coin tricks but might try packing the base with green stuff if all else fails and I cant give it a bigger base.

By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in sg
Executing Exarch





BGB page 6, last sentence.

Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time.
 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Catskill New York

You can put a grot on a Wraithlords base, but can't put a wraithlord on a grot's.

As T-C stated, its in the book. Bigger is OK, smaller isn't.



good gaming

My other car is a Wave Serpent 
   
Made in ie
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

Ahh thanks lads. Sorry about the pointless thread then,Really gotta learn to check the rule book first. An entire section entitled "Models" yet somehow I missed it

By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Catskill New York

Not a worry VC. None of us are perfect, or perfectly knowledgable. Thats why forums like this are good.

Sometimes we just don't see the forest.....

My other car is a Wave Serpent 
   
Made in ie
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

Thanks man, Now to throw a spanner in the works though. Do the entire squad have to be on the same base? I imagine they must but some of my guys are reasonably stable while others are utterly without balance. It doesn't say specifically that the entire squad must as it just talks about individual models but there is probably a requirement for uniformity.

One final thing,Is it possible to pile the bases up,IE glue the Raptor with the current small base be glued onto the bigger base.(Might paint the smaller base in the fire colour same as the flames at the bottom of the model)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2007/12/06 00:25:19


By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Catskill New York

I don't think anyone would have a problem with that. And no, you don't have to put them all on the same size base.

My other car is a Wave Serpent 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I have noticed that when I buy the new plastic terminators they come with both the small and big bases, so I am supposing either is okay.

- G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ie
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

Ah thank you man. I'll end up putting them all on the same base, Only able to harvest so many from those unused possessed ,Will make things like Coherency and working out base to base combat easier after all,Though I think Ill be taking a beating from blast weapons

Thanks again Laserbait.

By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate







IF you don't want a lot of trouble just put washers onthe bottom with glue.

I don't expect you to die a meaningless death I expect you to die for the emperor now CHARGE

You know what we do to liars Petty
No wait I'm not ARGHHH
We kick em in the balls

Brother octavius ''open up on the genestealers''
Brother there are rippers closing in on the right RIPPERS''
"there only 3 of them"
"Fire upon the rippers NOW'' 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I use nickels instead of washers... that way I can honestly say my armies are worth something.

- G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

GBF, is there any pics anywhere of your figs? I like the humorous humility tho, I am sure they look great.

What would you all say if I put 2 Termies in a 60mm base? I have about 100 of them, (traded/swapped blah blah) and did not have enough 40mm's. I have never used it in a tourney though(I am sure it would be illegal?!?) but my mates don't seem to mind. As soon as I can swap them for 2 on 40mm bases I do.(casualties!!)


Opinions/rules?

Insaniak-where are you?

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Green Blow Fly wrote:I have noticed that when I buy the new plastic terminators they come with both the small and big bases, so I am supposing either is okay.

No. The new Terminators are supplied with 40mm bases. The teleport homer that comes in the box is supplied with a 25mm base. Just because they come in the same box doesn't mean that the model is supplied with both size bases.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

akira5665 wrote:What would you all say if I put 2 Termies in a 60mm base?


From similar discussions I've seen over the last couple of years, it would seem that some people object to this sort of thing as it is not specifically allowed by the rules.

Others feel that if it's ok for Imperial Guard, it's ok for everyone else.

It does have a slight impact on how the model works (more vulnerable to templates, less vulnerable to blasts, different dynamics in close combat, wider footprint for deepstriking... most of which are no different to what would happen with single models on larger bases anyway), but so long as both players are aware that the models are seperate and just happen to be sharing a base, they function just fine.


I have never used it in a tourney though(I am sure it would be illegal?!?)


There were some pics floating around online a couple of years ago of an Eldar GT army from the US that had all of the Aspect Warriors mounted 3 to a 60mm base. Nobody seemed to have any real objection to it in that instance.

 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

@ insaniak-Thanks for the interp. I wasn't too sure about those other aspects and how they influence DS and H2H.

Will prob mothball/display. Plenty of others to use!

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




This actually brings up a strange question I've never gotten a good answer for. I have tons of older terminators that all came with the small round slotta bases, but now the new ones all use those huge bases. Does this mean I have to rebase my termies, or can I stick with the one they came with?
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

uatu13 wrote:This actually brings up a strange question I've never gotten a good answer for. I have tons of older terminators that all came with the small round slotta bases, but now the new ones all use those huge bases. Does this mean I have to rebase my termies, or can I stick with the one they came with?


It is disputed. Some players say if the model was supplied with the 25mm base, you can use the 25mm base. Others say that as the new models are supplied with the 40mm base, you must swap all your terminators to the 40mm base.

I have about 40 old terminators, a lot from the Space Hulk game, that I will not rebase, partly because the 40mm base does not fit the Space Hulk corridors.

There are advantages and disadvantages to base size so I see no reason to insist on the large base.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Kilkrazy wrote:It is disputed. Some players say if the model was supplied with the 25mm base, you can use the 25mm base. Others say that as the new models are supplied with the 40mm base, you must swap all your terminators to the 40mm base.

It shouldn't be disputed as the rules are actually quite clear. From page 6 of the Warhammer 40,000 4th edition rulebook:

Games Workshop miniatures are usually supplied with a base and this should be viewed as the minimum size base they can be mounted on...

It's even clearer if you phrase it in the singular tense:

A Games Workshop miniature is usually supplied with a base and this should be viewed as the minimum size base it can be mounted on...

No ambiguity whatsoever. It doesn't matter what size base some other model came supplied with, it's the base that particular model came with that matters.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

Hey Ghaz. Pretty clear/unclear, sorry Sir. (Maybe I cannot read properly either! )

So, if I read you correctly, the base the figure was supplied with is the 'legal' one?

Could that be abused, in that I say ALL of the Termies I have are older, and have 25mm bases? ?

It really makes a big difference to Deep -Striking is all.

There are a lot more people who know the rules better than me, although I am still re-reading my BGB for those 'out of the way' rulings.

Thanks for any help.

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Doesn't matter if someone thinks it's 'abusive' or not because those are the rules. As has been pointed out, the smaller 25mm bases when Deep Striking are easier to get under a Blast Marker. The perceived advantages and disadvantages cancel each other out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2007/12/09 23:25:12


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

Fair enough. OTOH, If you were that 'y that you went and ripped off your 40mm bases and replaced them with 25's, then ONYA MATE!!

I wouldn't do it, but I bet there are those out there who would.......

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Kilkrazy wrote:
uatu13 wrote:This actually brings up a strange question I've never gotten a good answer for. I have tons of older terminators that all came with the small round slotta bases, but now the new ones all use those huge bases. Does this mean I have to rebase my termies, or can I stick with the one they came with?


It is disputed. Some players say if the model was supplied with the 25mm base, you can use the 25mm base. Others say that as the new models are supplied with the 40mm base, you must swap all your terminators to the 40mm base.


The crux of the matter lies in that, metal termies are still being produced, and those still come with 25mm bases. Plastic termies also come with a set of 25mm bases.

So by GW's own rules, you may supply any terminator with a 25mm bases as its minimum, and make it larger from there.

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Hellfury wrote:So by GW's own rules, you may supply any terminator with a 25mm bases as its minimum, and make it larger from there.

No because GW supplies the bases with the kit, not you. So only the older metal models that come from GW with the 25mm base may be placed on a 25mm base as those are the only ones supplied with that base size.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Brisbane/Australia

Ghaz wrote.
It shouldn't be disputed as the rules are actually quite clear. From page 6 of the Warhammer 40,000 4th edition rulebook:


Games Workshop miniatures are usually supplied with a base and this should be viewed as the minimum size base they can be mounted on...

It's even clearer if you phrase it in the singular tense:


A Games Workshop miniature is usually supplied with a base and this should be viewed as the minimum size base it can be mounted on...

No ambiguity whatsoever. It doesn't matter what size base some other model came supplied with, it's the base that particular model came with that matters.


I have never read that page till today. Thanks Ghaz.

"Dakkanaut" not "Dakkaite"
Only with Minatures, does size matter...
"Only the living collect a pension"Johannes VII
"If the ork codex and 5th were developed near the same time, any possible nerf will be pre-planned."-malfred
"I'd do it but the GW Website makes my eyes hurt. "Gwar
"That would be page 7 and a half. You find it by turning your rulebook on its side and slamming your head against it..." insaniak
MeanGreenStompa - The only chatbot I ever tried talking to insisted I take a stress pill and kept referring to me as Dave, despite my protestations.
insaniak "So, by 'serious question' you actually meant something entirely different? "
Frazzled[Mod] On Rule #1- No it literally means: be polite. If we wanted less work there would be no OT section.
Chowderhead - God no. If I said Pirates Honor, I would have had to kill him whether he won or lost. 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Ghaz wrote:
Hellfury wrote:So by GW's own rules, you may supply any terminator with a 25mm bases as its minimum, and make it larger from there.

No because GW supplies the bases with the kit, not you.


Yes, GW does supply the bases with the kit and not me. Bad wording on my part there.


Ghaz wrote:So only the older metal models that come from GW with the 25mm base may be placed on a 25mm base as those are the only ones supplied with that base size.


Incorrect.

Not only are the older metal termies supplied in their packaging with 25mm bases by GW, but so are the newer plastic loyalist termie boxes as well. (I am not sure about the new plastic chaos termies though, I havent picked up any boxes of those yet)

So you may, by GW's own rules stated earlier in this thread, in fact, base the newer plastics on 25mm bases. (which is kind of silly, as termies dont fit well on 25mm bases at all, but thats not the point)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2007/12/13 10:11:40


   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Two questions:

What do you do with a model that doesn't come with a base? For instance I used the Greater Demon of Nurgle from Forgeworld as a generic greater demon and no one ever complains. He is sitting on the base for the Lord of the Rings dragon model because it is the only base GW makes that is big enough for him. What size base should I use though to make him 'legal'.

Is there a limit to how much you can size up a base? I could put guardsman on massive 3 inch bases and cover the board with them with a minimum ammount of guardsmen. This goes along with the problem of the guy using drop pods to cover the middle of the board and hide behind them. There has to be a limit to this kind of thing.

Cogito
   
Made in sg
Executing Exarch





The rules don't have answers to either of your questions.

Wehrkind wrote:Sounds like a lot, but with a little practice I can do ~7-8 girls in 2-3 hours. Probably less if the cat and wife didn't want attention in that time.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Hellfury wrote:
Ghaz wrote:
Hellfury wrote:So by GW's own rules, you may supply any terminator with a 25mm bases as its minimum, and make it larger from there.

No because GW supplies the bases with the kit, not you.


Yes, GW does supply the bases with the kit and not me. Bad wording on my part there.


Ghaz wrote:So only the older metal models that come from GW with the 25mm base may be placed on a 25mm base as those are the only ones supplied with that base size.


Incorrect.

Not only are the older metal termies supplied in their packaging with 25mm bases by GW, but so are the newer plastic loyalist termie boxes as well. (I am not sure about the new plastic chaos termies though, I havent picked up any boxes of those yet)

So you may, by GW's own rules stated earlier in this thread, in fact, base the newer plastics on 25mm bases. (which is kind of silly, as termies dont fit well on 25mm bases at all, but thats not the point)

No. You're mistaking the bases supplied with the teleport homer as being supplied for the terminators as well. They're not. Just because they both come in the same box does not mean the bases can be freely interchanged between the models

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Ghaz wrote:No. You're mistaking the bases supplied with the teleport homer as being supplied for the terminators as well.


Would you care to illustrate where GW has stated that the 25 mm base is intended for use with the teleport homer, or are you simply assuming that it is?
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

Just to throw a further spanner into the works, none of my Plastic Termie boxes I've bought, loyalist or otherwise, came with ANY 25mm bases.

You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: