Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 22:48:34
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
This came up in discussion I was going to see what you guys thought. I personally believe it to be a transport.
1. Under all the entries under Transport it lists the spore pod.
2. Under the spore pod entry it does stated Transported unit etc..
Against
Its not a vehicle. Its a monstrous creature.
Here are my arguments, first if you say it is not a dedicated transport then it is just a transport which means I can put a hive tyrant in my termagants spore pod that they bought.
Now the way I see it it is a dedicated transport and therefore you may place a Alpha Warrior with the squad inside it in a reserve per the dedicated transport rules.
Now onto the other questions:
As a monstrous creature upon landing will it be able to fire both its weapons.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 22:57:19
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Does it say in the HT or Alpha Warriors section that they can take the Spore Pod just like the Termagaunts or Carnifex does?
|
Agies Grimm:The "Learn to play, bro" mentality is mostly just a way for someone to try to shame you by implying that their metaphorical nerd-wiener is bigger than yours. Which, ironically, I think nerds do even more vehemently than jocks.
Everything is made up and the points don't matter. 40K or Who's Line is it Anyway?
Auticus wrote: Or in summation: its ok to exploit shoddy points because those are rules and gamers exist to find rules loopholes (they are still "legal"), but if the same force can be composed without structure, it emotionally feels "wrong". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 22:59:40
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Hollismason wrote: As a monstrous creature upon landing will it be able to fire both its weapons.
Yes.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 23:01:19
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
I dont know what that has to do with the question. Alpha Warriors are normal Infantry w/ the independent character rule so per the BRB they can join a squad that has a transport and be inside it. Basically the same way a Librarian could join a Sternguard squad in reserve with a drop pod.
The Hive Tyrant and Alpha do not have access to a spore pod. The hive tyrant couldnt join because it is a monstrous creature and also doesnt have IC rule.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/13 23:51:49
Subject: Re:Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I haven't seen the new Dex yet, but if the entry on the models says can take the Pod as a dedicated transport then yes it follows the dedicated transport rules for deployment. There has to be some sort of rules text for the pods since technically there isn't any BRB rules for any transport that isn't a vehicle.
But as stated above yes MCs are relentless so they can move and fire all weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:22:20
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
I've got the dex right in front of me, and here is what it says:
Tyranid Codex page 54 wrote: Transport Spore: A Mycetic Spore always enters play using the Deep Strike rules, even in missions that do not use these rules. If, when the Mycetic Spore Deep Strikes, it scatters on top of impassible terrain or another model (friend or foe!), reduce the scatter by the minimum required to avoid the obstacle. A Mycetic Spore can carry a single unit of up to 20 infantry models or a single monstrous creature within its armored shell. Once the Mycetic Spore has landed, all creatures within must immediately deploy - place the unit such that every model is within 2" of the Mycetic Spore. If any models cannot be deployed because of impassable terrain or enemy models within 1", those models are destroyed. A unit that Deep Strikes via a Mycetic Spore cannot move or assault in the same turn it arrives but may shoot (or run) as normal.
I'm not going to quote it, but it also has a rule called "Immobile Pod" which says that it can't move for any reason once it has entered battle, can't go to ground, can't consolidate or make sweeping advances. Also, every shooting phase it automatically attacks the closes enemy unit. You don't get to pick which one, it's just the closest.
Cheers guys.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/14 00:24:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:23:26
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
They are not Transports, but they have a rule called Transport Spore that tells you how hey work. It allows a single unit to be transported and makes no excepton for an IC. It is purchased as an upgrade for the unit entry, and you couldn't have something else use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:25:18
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
It states under their entry that they can take it as a transport. That's why I say you can place a alpha warrior within the Spore along with the unit he is accompanying.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:25:58
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
Aduro wrote:They are not Transports, but they have a rule called Transport Spore that tells you how hey work. It allows a single unit to be transported and makes no excepton for an IC. It is purchased as an upgrade for the unit entry, and you couldn't have something else use it.
Indeed.
Hollismason wrote:It states under their entry that they can take it as a transport. That's why I say you can place a alpha warrior within the Spore along with the unit he is accompanying.
No, it does not say in any entries for units that can take them "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore as a dedicated transport." It only says "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore." Thereby, you would consult the rule "Transport Spore". Transport Spore makes no mention of it being a Dedicated Transport, so it is not a transport as listed in the BRB.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/01/14 00:27:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:53:11
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
Also note that by the rules, the nids are never inside the spore. Where drop pods tell you to disembark when landed, spores tell you to deploy the unit next to it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 00:54:03
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Under the heading of Transport: Mycetic Spore , would seem to imply that it is a transport purchased for the unit.
If by your defintion explain to my I cannot purchase a Mycetic spore for a Termagant squad. Deploy the termagants without it and put a Hive Tyrant inside it. By your logic I can do this as it states it can transport 20 models or a MC.
This is the logic you are using.
All birds have bills ; a platypus has a bill there fore it is a bird.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Also it has a transport capacity of 20 models or 1 MC holy crap what do you call something that transports something???!?!!?!?!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/14 00:56:22
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 01:02:28
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
Hollismason wrote:Under the heading of Transport: Mycetic Spore , would seem to imply that it is a transport purchased for the unit.
What "heading" are you alluding to, because I just spent the last 4 hours reading the codex and found nothing that said Transport: Mycetic Spore.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 01:05:03
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Darth Bob wrote:No, it does not say in any entries for units that can take them "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore as a dedicated transport." It only says "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore." Thereby, you would consult the rule "Transport Spore". Transport Spore makes no mention of it being a Dedicated Transport, so it is not a transport as listed in the BRB.
If they aren't dedicated transports, then that means that the spore pods are going to be taking up choice slots as dictated by the selecting unit, since the rulebook only exempts dedicated transports from the FOC. Or does the army list have a statement stating otherwise?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 01:15:17
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
solkan wrote:Darth Bob wrote:No, it does not say in any entries for units that can take them "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore as a dedicated transport." It only says "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore." Thereby, you would consult the rule "Transport Spore". Transport Spore makes no mention of it being a Dedicated Transport, so it is not a transport as listed in the BRB.
If they aren't dedicated transports, then that means that the spore pods are going to be taking up choice slots as dictated by the selecting unit, since the rulebook only exempts dedicated transports from the FOC. Or does the army list have a statement stating otherwise?
That is indeed a great possibility, in all honesty. It says that they are treated as a seperate, non-scoring unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 01:30:54
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Darth Bob wrote:solkan wrote:Darth Bob wrote:No, it does not say in any entries for units that can take them "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore as a dedicated transport." It only says "This unit may take a Mycetic Spore." Thereby, you would consult the rule "Transport Spore". Transport Spore makes no mention of it being a Dedicated Transport, so it is not a transport as listed in the BRB.
If they aren't dedicated transports, then that means that the spore pods are going to be taking up choice slots as dictated by the selecting unit, since the rulebook only exempts dedicated transports from the FOC. Or does the army list have a statement stating otherwise?
That is indeed a great possibility, in all honesty. It says that they are treated as a seperate, non-scoring unit.
The other possibility is that the Tyranid codex is following the practice used by the Tau Empire, Daemonhunter, Witchhunter, and Dark Eldar (and probably other codices) where if a unit can take a transport, it is a dedicated transport. This is consistent with one way of reading the Dedicated Transport box on page 67 of the main rules--the first paragraph of that entry defines a dedicated transport as one selected together with a unit--and as such the more recent trend of labeling transports included with units as dedicated transports is merely for emphasis and clarity.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 01:32:05
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
No, it is not. They are not a Vehicle so they can't be the sub catogry Transport and thus do not follow the rules for them. They have their own rule called Transport Spore that tell you how they work. It says nothing about using someone elses spore, it doesn't even allow you to choose not to use it for the unit who purchased it as their upgrade. Any argument on this is just flat out dumb and I'm finished with it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 02:37:04
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No. Models who take a Spore CANNOT be joined by an Independent Character. A Spore is NOT a Transport vehicle.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 03:30:53
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
Darth Bob wrote:
Tyranid Codex page 54 wrote: Transport Spore: A Mycetic Spore always enters play using the Deep Strike rules, even in missions that do not use these rules. If, when the Mycetic Spore Deep Strikes, it scatters on top of impassible terrain or another model (friend or foe!), reduce the scatter by the minimum required to avoid the obstacle. A Mycetic Spore can carry a single unit of up to 20 infantry models or a single monstrous creature within its armored shell. Once the Mycetic Spore has landed, all creatures within must immediately deploy - place the unit such that every model is within 2" of the Mycetic Spore. If any models cannot be deployed because of impassable terrain or enemy models within 1", those models are destroyed. A unit that Deep Strikes via a Mycetic Spore cannot move or assault in the same turn it arrives but may shoot (or run) as normal.
.
BRB p48 wrote:Alternatively an IC may begin the game already with a unit, by being deployed in coherency with them.
A mycetic spore can carry a single unit up to 20 infantry models... if the IC is joined to the unit before the game he would be a part of the unit correct?
Now why wouldn't he be able to be considered as part of that "single unit" carried by the Mycetic spore?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 03:36:59
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
paidinfull wrote:A mycetic spore can carry a single unit up to 20 infantry models... if the IC is joined to the unit before the game he would be a part of the unit correct?
No, he is an IC joined to the Unit. They are still 2 separate units. The Spores are NOT Transport vehicles, they do not follow the same rules. Live with it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 03:40:15
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
"p48
While an IC is part of a unit..."
They aren't separate... how can something be a part of something and separate? They're antonyms
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 04:00:18
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
paidinfull wrote:"p48
While an IC is part of a unit..."
They aren't separate... how can something be a part of something and separate? They're antonyms
Salt and Sand.
Mixed together, they are the same mixture, but they are both separate materials.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 04:30:49
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
On second thought, I actually think it is a Dedicated Transport.
In the Codex, where it is detailing the Force Organization chart it specifically says:
Tyranid Codex page 85 wrote:Dedicated Transport: Where Applicable, this section details whether or not the Tyranid unit may purchase a Mycetic Spore, which have their own army list entries on page 90.
I did not notice this before, but now that I have, it seems clear as day that it is indeed a Dedicated Transport since in the section regarding Dedicated Transports it mentions the Mycetic Spore by name.
EDIT: OMG I AM AN IDIOT
I must be on something, because I can't believe I missed this...It says right there under all the things that can take it DEDICATED TRANSPORT: MYCETIC SPORE
Thus there is no doubt that it is a Dedicated Transport.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/01/14 04:48:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 04:49:44
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, it's a Dedicated Transport, but it is NOT a Transport vehicle, and does not follow the transport vehicle rules.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 04:53:33
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
United States
|
Gwar! wrote:Yes, it's a Dedicated Transport, but it is NOT a Transport vehicle, and does not follow the transport vehicle rules.
Indeed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 13:24:04
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
Gwar! wrote:Yes, it's a Dedicated Transport, but it is NOT a Transport vehicle, and does not follow the transport vehicle rules.
This is an important distinction. If GW wants the Spores to act just as if they were Vehicles with the Transport type in all cases concerning carrying other models, they need to state it as such. As it is, it is merely a non-vehicle unit that has a specific special rule that allows a single other unit to be deployed near to the Spore after the Spore has arrived by Deep Strike (one might consider it as being more similar to the Trygon's tunnel, with slightly different rules). Since it has no vehicle stat-line, no armor values, but does have toughness, wounds, etc., we cannot automatically assume that any Vehicle specific rule applies to Spores if not specified as such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/14 13:25:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 14:16:22
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:No, he is an IC joined to the Unit. They are still 2 separate units.
Really??
You are going to try and argue that an IC joined to a unit is two separate units?
Do you want to take that back, or do I really need to list the reasons why that doesn't work?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 14:27:12
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Orlando, FL, USA
|
Well, considering that they're each worth a kill point, the IC can be singled out in combat as a distinct unit, and they're bought as separate units, I'd say an IC and the squad he joins count as 2 units at some point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 14:40:05
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
It really is as simple as its a dedicated transport for that unit ; a independent character joined in the unit may be deployed in its dedicated transport.
Its irrelevant of whether its a vehicle or not; its a agreement that it is a dedicated transport it states it several times with in the codex. It is a dedicated transport.
Just because both a duck and platypus both have bills does not mean they both have to be birds.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 14:41:20
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
coredump wrote:Gwar! wrote:No, he is an IC joined to the Unit. They are still 2 separate units. Really?? You are going to try and argue that an IC joined to a unit is two separate units? Do you want to take that back, or do I really need to list the reasons why that doesn't work?
Go ahead. No matter what your "reasons" are though, I am still right, because I have rules to back up my claims.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/14 14:41:32
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/01/14 14:41:50
Subject: Spore Pod is it a dedicated tranport or not and other ???s
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
This argument that all tranports are vehicles is ridiculous a its already been disproven. Codex > than BRB the codex says it is a dedicated transport.
This is in the basic rulebook. Automatically Appended Next Post: You don't have rules as much as a completely dismissive state and a sense of undeserved self importance. Really your argument is just.
It doesn't work that way because I do not think it works that way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/01/14 14:43:27
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
|