Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 22:26:51
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 22:30:54
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Since the HT/Swarmlord (and Carnifexes for that matter) are not always units consisting of 1 model, an IC can join them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 22:34:38
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Nice one. Cheers big man!
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 22:49:56
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You will find many people who don't agree with you on this.
The rule, while certainly ambiguous, is clearly supposed to prevent you from joining an IC to units that in their unit entry only ever consist of a single model.
To use the idea of: 'well if it is possible to join said model in any possible way then this invalidates the rule' is just silly.
Because frankly they could make a model in the future that could have a special rule that allows it to join any unit with no restrictions whatsoever. And then then in Apocalypse games that model could join any unit in any codex. And then the argument becomes: well, every model can theoretically be joined so therefore said rule has no literal application.
The fact is, a Hive Tyrant is a unit that is only ever comprised of a single model until it joins Tyrant Guard. So when that happens, it can be joined by a Prime. But until that happens it cannot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 22:53:20
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Awww...
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 23:12:47
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"is clearly supposed to prevent you from joining an IC to units that in their unit entry only ever consist of a single model"
So a single Mordrak cannot be joined?
I wholeheartedly disagree with this; the rule is very clear. Is the unit only *ever* composed of one model? If the answer is "yes' then you cannot join it; if "no", you may join it.
You cannot answer yes to either Mordrak or a HT.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 23:33:03
Subject: Re:Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
A HT is allowed to join a Tyrant Guard unit as if it were an IC. The HT as a unit only ever consists of one model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 23:37:29
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
As nosferatu says, the same situation exists with Mordrak.
Here is one of the discussions that has been done on this before:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/382631.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/24 23:56:46
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And in that thread the only mention of the HT joining an IC is poo-pooed, even by Nosferatu himself.
There is most definitely a difference between Mordrak and the Hive Tyrant's situation. Mordrak's own rules explain that he can be fielded as an upgrade character for a unit and he starts the game with said unit.
A Hive Tyrant is allowed to JOIN a unit like an IC and that rule is provided by the Tyrant Guard and not the Tyrant. So a Tyrant is always a single model unit...Its just that he has the ability to join another unit, which is different from Mordrak.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:25:33
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
yakface wrote:
And in that thread the only mention of the HT joining an IC is poo-pooed, even by Nosferatu himself.
There is most definitely a difference between Mordrak and the Hive Tyrant's situation. Mordrak's own rules explain that he can be fielded as an upgrade character for a unit and he starts the game with said unit.
A Hive Tyrant is allowed to JOIN a unit like an IC and that rule is provided by the Tyrant Guard and not the Tyrant. So a Tyrant is always a single model unit...Its just that he has the ability to join another unit, which is different from Mordrak.
I agree with this. You cannot ever buy Mordrak as a single-model unit; a Hive Tyrant you can.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/25 00:27:17
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:26:57
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
puma713 wrote:I agree with this. You may never buy Mordrak as a single-model unit. A Hive Tyrant you can.
Where's the requirement to purchase Ghost Knights?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:28:07
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
rigeld2 wrote:puma713 wrote:I agree with this. You may never buy Mordrak as a single-model unit. A Hive Tyrant you can.
Where's the requirement to purchase Ghost Knights?
In the fact that they appear when he suffers a wound. It is a requirement, not a choice.
There is always a chance that he may be joined by another Ghost Knight. Always.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/25 00:29:57
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:31:41
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
puma713 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:puma713 wrote:I agree with this. You may never buy Mordrak as a single-model unit. A Hive Tyrant you can.
Where's the requirement to purchase Ghost Knights?
In the fact that they appear when he suffers a wound. It is a requirement, not a choice.
There is always a chance that he may be joined by another Ghost Knight. Always.
He's guaranteed to take a wound in every battle?
I'm not disagreeing with your statements overall - just pointing out poor word choices. "You may never buy" is incorrect.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:33:10
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
rigeld2 wrote:
I'm not disagreeing with your statements overall - just pointing out poor word choices. "You may never buy" is incorrect.
? But it is true. He is never a single-model unit. So he may never be purchased as one.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 00:43:18
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
puma713 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:I'm not disagreeing with your statements overall - just pointing out poor word choices. "You may never buy" is incorrect.
? But it is true. He is never a single-model unit. So he may never be purchased as one.
He absolutely is. "... at which point he reverts to a single model unit in his own right." Meaning that without the Ghost Knights, he is a single model unit. You are not required to purchase the Ghost Knights, therefore the statement "You may never buy" is incorrect.
That's in addition to the fact that he's a Unique Infantry Character without the Ghost Knights - exactly the same as Crowe.
They're both single model units when purchased, with the exception of Mordrak being able to purchase (and become an upgrade character for) Ghost Knights.
Yes - he can be joined by an IC.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 01:02:29
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
rigeld2 wrote:puma713 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:I'm not disagreeing with your statements overall - just pointing out poor word choices. "You may never buy" is incorrect.
? But it is true. He is never a single-model unit. So he may never be purchased as one.
He absolutely is. "... at which point he reverts to a single model unit in his own right." Meaning that without the Ghost Knights, he is a single model unit.
Context much? It does not mean "without his Ghost Knights, he is a single model unit." Quote all of the relevant text:
"Mordrak and the Ghost Knights form a unit, with Mordrak acting as an upgrade character until such a point as the Ghost Knights are slain, at which point he reverts to being a single-model unit in his own right."
There are two ways to purchase Mordrak. Mordrak with his Ghost Knights (and automatically forming a unit with them), or Mordrak alone (with the chance that he may be joined by a Ghost Knight at some point in the game). Neither of these are a single-model in his own right. The only time that Mordrak ever becomes a single model in his own right is when his entire unit, save him, is destroyed. So, you may never buy him as a single-model unit. Ever.
rigeld2 wrote:You are not required to purchase the Ghost Knights, therefore the statement "You may never buy" is incorrect.
No, it is not, as demonstrated above.
Not that this is even important to the discussion - how you buy him. What is important is that Hive Tyrants do -not- function this way. If you leave Tyrant Guard out of your army list, there is no chance that a Hive Tyrant may be joined by an IC.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 01:20:54
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
If Mordrak is having a particularly bad day and his purchased retinu... sorry, group of knights who although called a bodyguard and he cannot leave them is not a retinue, are all dead he still has the requirement to have a ghost knight turn up when he gets a wound right ?
If so he is never a guaranteed single model unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 06:37:20
Subject: Re:Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
I don't think there would be a problem with a IC joinng the Tyrant + Hive Guard. And there wouldn't be a problem joining a IC to Mordrak + Ghost knights. No one can argue that Hive guard and Ghost knights are single model units. Just make sure you have those conditions (Joining the Ghostknights/Hiveguard) and you will see no rules arguments.
|
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 08:31:34
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Magpie wrote:If Mordrak is having a particularly bad day and his purchased retinu... sorry, group of knights who although called a bodyguard and he cannot leave them is not a retinue, are all dead he still has the requirement to have a ghost knight turn up when he gets a wound right ?
If so he is never a guaranteed single model unit?
He cannot leave them because he is not an IC. He doesnt lose his IC status when they ar epurchased, unlike a real retinue, and is not an IC so is not allowed to reference the retinue rules.
Yak - when the HT joins a TG, is he now a unit composed of 1 model? No. He is a unit composed of 2 - 4 models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 09:51:15
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Whatever
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/25 11:13:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 13:26:33
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Magpie wrote:Whatever
Except we know, for a fact, that it isnt a retinue. The whole unit is worth 1KP. Tht disallows it from being a retinue
Youre arguing against what the rules literally are telling you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 14:47:23
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
I must say i am somewhat over this whole "those are the rules" type response offered around here to questions regarding items which are open to interpretation. If the rules where that clear these forums would be empty of the spirited debates we see.
The only thing that can be said with any certainty is that the 40K rule book contains a great deal of uncertainty.
This kill point thing is a good example. I don't know how anyone can put forward such a firm assertion based on a ruling that actually contradicts itself within 4 questions.
Does Mordrak and his knights get a kill point each? NO ! Upgrade characters cannot get a kill point.
This applies to Mordrak even tho' he becomes his own single model unit after his mates are dead
Couple of questions later:
Does Justicar Thawn and his squad get a kill point each? YES ! he does , despite being an upgrade character, because when he comes back from the dead he is his own single model unit........
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 15:26:07
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It isnt a contradiction, when you bother to read the full Thawn entry
Thawn specifies this is a separate, newly created unit. Mordrak does not, just it is again a single model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 17:35:31
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yak - when the HT joins a TG, is he now a unit composed of 1 model? No. He is a unit composed of 2 - 4 models.
Given that it's the Tyrant Guard's rules that allow a Hive Tyrant to join, I'd argue that it's the TG unit comprising 2-4 models. The Hive Tyrant "unit" always consists of a single model.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 22:20:09
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:It isnt a contradiction, when you bother to read the full Thawn entry
Thawn specifies this is a separate, newly created unit. Mordrak does not, just it is again a single model.
Single model unit in his own right, which I see puts the FAQ at odds with itself.
Nothing either of us has to say is going to change the fact that we disagree, drop it and let's move on.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/25 22:29:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 22:26:19
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
I think so too. If it comes up in games we will just roll off or something.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 22:33:31
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Not every shadow, but any shadow
|
Deadshot wrote:I think so too. If it comes up in games we will just roll off or something.
To be honest mate the situation for any of this to be a problem is probably so rare that it will never happen.
But I'm with you, roll the dice , swear or cheer and get on with it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 22:56:15
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
It was actually for a nice 2 HQ deathstar thing. Parasite+Swarmlord? Cool Right?
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 23:13:27
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Janthkin wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Yak - when the HT joins a TG, is he now a unit composed of 1 model? No. He is a unit composed of 2 - 4 models.
Given that it's the Tyrant Guard's rules that allow a Hive Tyrant to join, I'd argue that it's the TG unit comprising 2-4 models. The Hive Tyrant "unit" always consists of a single model.
The HT is a unit of 2-4, same as the TG are a unit of 1 - 4
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/02/25 23:50:26
Subject: Can ICs join Tyrants/Swarmlord because it doesn't always consist of one model? It can join TG...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Janthkin wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Yak - when the HT joins a TG, is he now a unit composed of 1 model? No. He is a unit composed of 2 - 4 models.
Given that it's the Tyrant Guard's rules that allow a Hive Tyrant to join, I'd argue that it's the TG unit comprising 2-4 models. The Hive Tyrant "unit" always consists of a single model.
The HT is a unit of 2-4, same as the TG are a unit of 1 - 4
I don't think so.
Try it this way:
P1: The Hive Tyrant is not an IC.
P2: "Shieldwall" lets a HT join Tyrant Guard as if it were an IC.
P3: p. 48 describes all manner of rules about ICs joining and leaving units.
C1: When an IC joins a unit of type X, the resulting entity is STILL a unit of type X.
C2: When a HT joins TG, it's still a unit of TG.
The discussion about ICs joining other units is ALWAYS phrased that way - it's never a unit joining an IC, but always the IC becoming part of the joined unit. So in the case of a Hive Tyrant, it's always a single-model unit; when it's joined to Tyrant Guard, it's no longer a "unit" of Hive Tyrant at all.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
|