Switch Theme:

flyers on top of models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cz
Yellin' Yoof





Can flyers end its move on top of (with base) friendly or enemy models?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 20:03:44


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut







Nope, just like other models, they have to stay within 1 inch of them. Or is it two...?

Either way, sadly, you can't.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The base cannot end on top of other models, however can end "over" other models - so their base is on the table, but the wings of the flyer etc can hang over other models.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Isn't the 1" just enemy models though? You can end your move in base contact with a friendly model if you want, right?
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

 Mannahnin wrote:
Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Unless you can find an exception for flyer bases, then the same rules that apply to other bases apply to them as well.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 NecronLord3 wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.


Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




The FAQ says you can move models through the base, but have to end up in a legal position (not under the base for friendly models, 1" away for enemy models).
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Pyrian wrote:
The FAQ says you can move models through the base, but have to end up in a legal position (not under the base for friendly models, 1" away for enemy models).
I do see this rule for Flying Monstrous Creatures, but I do not see it for Flyer Vehicles.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Ghaz wrote:
Unless you can find an exception for flyer bases, then the same rules that apply to other bases apply to them as well.
Page reference for the actual rule please.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 NecronLord3 wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.


Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
That is very specifically referring to charging.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/17 18:02:07


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 NecronLord3 wrote:

Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 NecronLord3 wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.


Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
That is very specifically referring to charging.


Yes, I know, which I was said as much. And I also said that the fact it says "you still cannot", though nowhere else in the book does it say you can't move through your own guys why would it say "you still cannot" in that section?

*Edit*
Just to add to this, the "ignore the base" wording is also there for skimmers. *Shrug* Just sayin.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 18:25:53


 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Just to be clear I'm not saying any of you are wrong. I just need an actual rule to put before my players to stop this, because as of right now, RAW appears to allow it per the Flyer rules.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 NecronLord3 wrote:
Just to be clear I'm not saying any of you are wrong. I just need an actual rule to put before my players to stop this, because as of right now, RAW appears to allow it per the Flyer rules.


Oh, actually I did leave out an important bit earlier that I just noticed, pertaining to the assault rule I mentioned. It does state first thing that "following the same rules as in the movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models. Charging models still cannot move through friendly or enemy models, cannot pass through gaps narrower than their base, and cannote move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not charging."

So, I know this pertains to assaulting but since it does state you follow the normal movement rules and it does say you "still cannot move through friendly/enemy models", does that not lend itself to mean you can't normally move that way?
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

That looks like hold over wording from 5th to sixth that was not retained in the movement rules. In 5th you had the section page 11, entitled Models in the Way. This section is in 6th page 10 but it is cut way down and does not contain the language preventing friendly models from being on top of friendly models, it only refers to opposing units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 19:29:17


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 NecronLord3 wrote:
That looks like hold over wording from 5th to sixth that was not retained in the movement rules. In 5th you had the section page 11, entitled Models in the Way. This section is in 6th page 10 but it is cut way down and does not contain the language preventing friendly models from being on top of friendly models, it only refers to opposing units.


Yup, pretty much. Though, I suppose you could say that since it's two separate sentences you could say the first one is addressing enemy models and the second is addressing "any model in the way". It would, technically, jive with the rest of the rules referencing a seemingly non-existent rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 20:15:18


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 NecronLord3 wrote:
I do see this rule for Flying Monstrous Creatures, but I do not see it for Flyer Vehicles.
Well, that's interesting. It was in the 6th ed 1.0 FAQ, but removed from the 1.0a FAQ. Sorry, my mistake!
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

NecronLord3 wrote:Page reference for the actual rule please.

You would be the one who would need to provide a page reference and actual rule for treating the base on a flyer differently than any other base.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

 Ghaz wrote:
NecronLord3 wrote:Page reference for the actual rule please.

You would be the one who would need to provide a page reference and actual rule for treating the base on a flyer differently than any other base.
Right but if you will check the reference I made in my last post you will see that those are rules that were in 5th edition and not present in 6th edition.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

And I didn't say anything about them, did I? No sense repeating what the others already have covered. The rules for flyer bases are the same as the rules for other bases unless specifically noted otherwise. Therefore your question isn't really about flyer bases, but bases in general, and if your opponents are playing flyer bases differently than other bases then they need to show you the rule that allows them to do so instead of the other way around.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/17 22:42:31


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 NecronLord3 wrote:
No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.

Page reference for where this is allowed?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge





I think the point he is making is in 5th the wording specifically prevented this.

In 6th that wording has changed so this is not explicitly denied.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

bfdhud wrote:
I think the point he is making is in 5th the wording specifically prevented this.

In 6th that wording has changed so this is not explicitly denied.

so you can stack models on top of each other?

I an not seeing where that is allowed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

 DeathReaper wrote:
 NecronLord3 wrote:
No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.

Page reference for where this is allowed?


Page 80:

The base of a Flyer is effectively ignored, except when:

The flyer is being assaulted, in which case models may move into contact with the vehicle's hull, its base or both.

Models are embarking or disembarking from the Flyer, in which case the base of the Flyer is used as the Access Point.

So if I ignore it, I act as if it is not there and I am free to place my models on top of it.

Models that physically fit under a Flyer model can move beneath it. Likewise, a Flyer can end it move over such models. However, when moving this way, enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the Flyer, and the Flyer cannot end its move with its base within 1" of other enemy models.


So I can move under it, end my move over my models, and I ignore my base with my friendly models.

Specific allowance.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

That does not mean what you think it means.

You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.

here is a situation that proves you can not end there.

Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Page 80, Flyers and other Models, specifies that enemy models can move under a flyer, but must stay 1" away from the base.

The text about not being able to move over friendly models is missing in 6th, which is probably the most embarassing editorial oversight in this rulebook. The assault rules (and I think one other place, IIRC) make clear by implication that it's supposed to be there, but the editors screwed the pooch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 01:24:43


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Warhammer 40K 6th edition Main Rulebook FAQ (v1.0):

Q: Are models free to move underneath Zooming Flyers? (p80)

A: Yes, though enemy models must finish their move at least 1" away from the Flyer's base.

So we have at least one definite instance where you would not be able to be on top of a flyer's base.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

 DeathReaper wrote:
That does not mean what you think it means.

You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.

here is a situation that proves you can not end there.

Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.

You are forgetting to ignore the base. If the base is ignored, then when the Flyer moves you simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there. Or you move your models on the base before or after the Flyer moves.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Ghaz wrote:
From the Warhammer 40K 6th edition Main Rulebook FAQ (v1.0):

Q: Are models free to move underneath Zooming Flyers? (p80)

A: Yes, though enemy models must finish their move at least 1" away from the Flyer's base.

So we have at least one definite instance where you would not be able to be on top of a flyer's base.
Your reference is to enemy movement, which is clearly prohibited from ending within 1" of the base.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 01:43:06


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

That is because friendly models do not have to be outside of 1"

No matter how you spin read it.

They cannot coexist in the same space.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 NecronLord3 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
That does not mean what you think it means.

You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.

here is a situation that proves you can not end there.

Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.

You are forgetting to ignore the base. If the base is ignored, then when the Flyer moves you simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there. Or you move your models on the base before or after the Flyer moves.

And the page that says "simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there" is what?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: