Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 08:17:39
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
Can flyers end its move on top of (with base) friendly or enemy models?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 20:03:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 08:22:04
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope, just like other models, they have to stay within 1 inch of them. Or is it two...?
Either way, sadly, you can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 08:35:02
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The base cannot end on top of other models, however can end "over" other models - so their base is on the table, but the wings of the flyer etc can hang over other models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 11:28:29
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 15:30:00
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Isn't the 1" just enemy models though? You can end your move in base contact with a friendly model if you want, right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 16:58:08
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Mannahnin wrote:Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 17:07:49
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Unless you can find an exception for flyer bases, then the same rules that apply to other bases apply to them as well.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 17:15:01
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Mannahnin wrote:Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.
Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 17:41:51
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The FAQ says you can move models through the base, but have to end up in a legal position (not under the base for friendly models, 1" away for enemy models).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 18:00:49
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Pyrian wrote:The FAQ says you can move models through the base, but have to end up in a legal position (not under the base for friendly models, 1" away for enemy models).
I do see this rule for Flying Monstrous Creatures, but I do not see it for Flyer Vehicles. Automatically Appended Next Post: Ghaz wrote:Unless you can find an exception for flyer bases, then the same rules that apply to other bases apply to them as well.
Page reference for the actual rule please.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Kevin949 wrote: NecronLord3 wrote: Mannahnin wrote:Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.
Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
That is very specifically referring to charging.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/17 18:02:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 18:21:04
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kevin949 wrote: NecronLord3 wrote: Mannahnin wrote:Right. The base always has to stay 1" away, but the wings, tail, (etc.) can overhang.
Do you have a page reference for this. We've been having people moving units onto Flyer bases and it seems that nothing in the rules prevents this and it can be read in the Flyer rules to specifically allowing this movement.
Although it's in the assault movement rules, the fact it says "you still cannot" should be telling. But, on page 21 under moving charging it does say that models can't move through friendly models or gaps smaller than their base size.
That is very specifically referring to charging.
Yes, I know, which I was said as much. And I also said that the fact it says "you still cannot", though nowhere else in the book does it say you can't move through your own guys why would it say "you still cannot" in that section?
*Edit*
Just to add to this, the "ignore the base" wording is also there for skimmers. *Shrug* Just sayin.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 18:25:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 19:14:37
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Just to be clear I'm not saying any of you are wrong. I just need an actual rule to put before my players to stop this, because as of right now, RAW appears to allow it per the Flyer rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 19:19:08
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Just to be clear I'm not saying any of you are wrong. I just need an actual rule to put before my players to stop this, because as of right now, RAW appears to allow it per the Flyer rules.
Oh, actually I did leave out an important bit earlier that I just noticed, pertaining to the assault rule I mentioned. It does state first thing that "following the same rules as in the movement phase, with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models. Charging models still cannot move through friendly or enemy models, cannot pass through gaps narrower than their base, and cannote move into base contact with enemy models from a unit they are not charging."
So, I know this pertains to assaulting but since it does state you follow the normal movement rules and it does say you "still cannot move through friendly/enemy models", does that not lend itself to mean you can't normally move that way?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 19:28:36
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
That looks like hold over wording from 5th to sixth that was not retained in the movement rules. In 5th you had the section page 11, entitled Models in the Way. This section is in 6th page 10 but it is cut way down and does not contain the language preventing friendly models from being on top of friendly models, it only refers to opposing units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 19:29:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 20:14:47
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote:That looks like hold over wording from 5th to sixth that was not retained in the movement rules. In 5th you had the section page 11, entitled Models in the Way. This section is in 6th page 10 but it is cut way down and does not contain the language preventing friendly models from being on top of friendly models, it only refers to opposing units.
Yup, pretty much. Though, I suppose you could say that since it's two separate sentences you could say the first one is addressing enemy models and the second is addressing "any model in the way". It would, technically, jive with the rest of the rules referencing a seemingly non-existent rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 20:15:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 20:15:40
Subject: flyers on top of modes
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
NecronLord3 wrote:I do see this rule for Flying Monstrous Creatures, but I do not see it for Flyer Vehicles.
Well, that's interesting. It was in the 6th ed 1.0 FAQ, but removed from the 1.0a FAQ. Sorry, my mistake!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 21:55:39
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Page reference for the actual rule please.
You would be the one who would need to provide a page reference and actual rule for treating the base on a flyer differently than any other base.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 22:00:57
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Ghaz wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:Page reference for the actual rule please.
You would be the one who would need to provide a page reference and actual rule for treating the base on a flyer differently than any other base.
Right but if you will check the reference I made in my last post you will see that those are rules that were in 5th edition and not present in 6th edition.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 22:38:27
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And I didn't say anything about them, did I? No sense repeating what the others already have covered. The rules for flyer bases are the same as the rules for other bases unless specifically noted otherwise. Therefore your question isn't really about flyer bases, but bases in general, and if your opponents are playing flyer bases differently than other bases then they need to show you the rule that allows them to do so instead of the other way around.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 22:41:09
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/17 22:42:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 23:48:22
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
NecronLord3 wrote:No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.
Page reference for where this is allowed?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/17 23:55:58
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
I think the point he is making is in 5th the wording specifically prevented this.
In 6th that wording has changed so this is not explicitly denied.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 00:47:58
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
bfdhud wrote:I think the point he is making is in 5th the wording specifically prevented this.
In 6th that wording has changed so this is not explicitly denied.
so you can stack models on top of each other?
I an not seeing where that is allowed.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 01:06:57
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
DeathReaper wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:No there is simply really no ability to actually place models on any other base than, on the large oval bases. With Flyers you can, and the previous rule preventing this no longer exists in 6th edition.
Page reference for where this is allowed?
Page 80:
The base of a Flyer is effectively ignored, except when:
The flyer is being assaulted, in which case models may move into contact with the vehicle's hull, its base or both.
Models are embarking or disembarking from the Flyer, in which case the base of the Flyer is used as the Access Point.
So if I ignore it, I act as if it is not there and I am free to place my models on top of it.
Models that physically fit under a Flyer model can move beneath it. Likewise, a Flyer can end it move over such models. However, when moving this way, enemy models must still remain 1" away from the base of the Flyer, and the Flyer cannot end its move with its base within 1" of other enemy models.
So I can move under it, end my move over my models, and I ignore my base with my friendly models.
Specific allowance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 01:23:10
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
That does not mean what you think it means.
You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.
here is a situation that proves you can not end there.
Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 01:23:20
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Page 80, Flyers and other Models, specifies that enemy models can move under a flyer, but must stay 1" away from the base.
The text about not being able to move over friendly models is missing in 6th, which is probably the most embarassing editorial oversight in this rulebook. The assault rules (and I think one other place, IIRC) make clear by implication that it's supposed to be there, but the editors screwed the pooch.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 01:24:43
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 01:30:31
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Warhammer 40K 6th edition Main Rulebook FAQ (v1.0):
Q: Are models free to move underneath Zooming Flyers? (p80)
A: Yes, though enemy models must finish their move at least 1" away from the Flyer's base.
So we have at least one definite instance where you would not be able to be on top of a flyer's base.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 01:33:50
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
DeathReaper wrote:That does not mean what you think it means.
You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.
here is a situation that proves you can not end there.
Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.
You are forgetting to ignore the base. If the base is ignored, then when the Flyer moves you simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there. Or you move your models on the base before or after the Flyer moves. Automatically Appended Next Post: Ghaz wrote:From the Warhammer 40K 6th edition Main Rulebook FAQ (v1.0):
Q: Are models free to move underneath Zooming Flyers? (p80)
A: Yes, though enemy models must finish their move at least 1" away from the Flyer's base.
So we have at least one definite instance where you would not be able to be on top of a flyer's base.
Your reference is to enemy movement, which is clearly prohibited from ending within 1" of the base.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/18 01:43:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 03:18:41
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
That is because friendly models do not have to be outside of 1"
No matter how you spin read it.
They cannot coexist in the same space.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/18 03:20:20
Subject: flyers on top of models
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
NecronLord3 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:That does not mean what you think it means.
You are given no allowance to end your move on the fliers base.
here is a situation that proves you can not end there.
Say you move a unit near a friendly flier, and one guy ends his move on the fliers base. then you zoom the flier 18 inches, now the guy is out of coherency.
You are forgetting to ignore the base. If the base is ignored, then when the Flyer moves you simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there. Or you move your models on the base before or after the Flyer moves.
And the page that says "simply move the models to the appropriate position as if it wasn't there" is what?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|