Switch Theme:

Angry Russian Dude Shoots Metal Bird, Causes Riot.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




BeRzErKeR wrote:
Rephistorch wrote:
The problem is, the rules in the BRB don't tell you that disembarkation is disallowed for the player turn. It also doesn't tell you that it's disallowed for the game turn. It only tells you that it is disallowed in that movement phase when a fast transport moves flat out.


The bolded line there is incorrect. What it tells is that disembarkation is disallowed, if the vehicle has moved flat-out in that movement phase.

It makes a difference, it honestly does. And you still haven't answered my question; given that the sentence literally CANNOT be referring to 'the phase in which you disembark', since it applies to ALL phases (and you can be forced to disembark in any of them) but tells you to check whether the vehicle moved flat-out in the MOVEMENT phase specifically, what tells you that you are allowed to disembark in, say, the Shooting phase of a turn in which the vehicle has moved flat-out?


The sentence literally can be referring to the phase in which you disembark. It does not apply to all phases as it does not say that it does. It tells you to check whether the vehicle has moved flat-out in "THAT (the current)" movement phase, not "the" movement phase.

The issue here is, "What is that movement phase?"

My interpretation is that it is the movement phase in which you are trying to disembark.

Your interpretation is that it's the player turn in which your vehicle has moved.

Other people's interpretations could be that it's in the game turn in which your vehicle has moved.

The rules don't say player turn, and they don't same game turn. Unless they say game turn or player turn, then the rules don't apply to that broad of a scope, and that's why you can disembark in subsequent phases. The rules for assaulting a vehicle clearly state things like "In the previous turn". This rule has no such exceptions or allowances.

I've said my peace, and I've clearly explained my position (most clearly in the quote below). Unless someone has fresh, new arguments that don't include "It doesn't say only your movement phase!", while utterly and totally ignoring the fact and irony that it doesn't say that it includes anything other than your movement phase, this will be my final post.


That's the problem. You're adding [of the turn]. You really should be saying "in THAT movement phase" period. Is it that movement phase (the phase itself) anymore? No - then you may disembark.

Here are a several different ways to interpret this sentence. I can understand where the first 2 or 3 stances are coming from, however, I believe the first one to be most correct.
1. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
2. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [turn's] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
3. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game turn's] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
4. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game's first] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
5. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game's last] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
6. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [anything you want here] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.

The rules do not tell us to add further qualifiers (turn, game turn), therefore we must look to what it says, which is "in that movement phase". Adding any other modifiers, whatsoever, is not following what is written.

Again I pose the question, if it's not limited to your movement phase, why is it limited to your player turn? Why isn't it limited to your whole game turn? The most logical reading of this sentence is to take what is written and not add any additional qualifiers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/24 04:18:42


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in ca
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Edmonton, AB

So by that same logic, Rephistorch, if you shoot at a target just once in a game, for the whole game your unit is restricted to only assaulting that one target?

Q: How many of a specific demographic group are required to carry out a simple task?
A: An arbitrary number. One to carry out the task in question, and the remainder to act in a manner stereotypical of the group.

My Blog 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Rephistorch wrote:
BeRzErKeR wrote:
Rephistorch wrote:
The problem is, the rules in the BRB don't tell you that disembarkation is disallowed for the player turn. It also doesn't tell you that it's disallowed for the game turn. It only tells you that it is disallowed in that movement phase when a fast transport moves flat out.


The bolded line there is incorrect. What it tells is that disembarkation is disallowed, if the vehicle has moved flat-out in that movement phase.

It makes a difference, it honestly does. And you still haven't answered my question; given that the sentence literally CANNOT be referring to 'the phase in which you disembark', since it applies to ALL phases (and you can be forced to disembark in any of them) but tells you to check whether the vehicle moved flat-out in the MOVEMENT phase specifically, what tells you that you are allowed to disembark in, say, the Shooting phase of a turn in which the vehicle has moved flat-out?


The sentence literally can be referring to the phase in which you disembark. It does not apply to all phases as it does not say that it does. It tells you to check whether the vehicle has moved flat-out in "THAT (the current)" movement phase, not "the" movement phase.

The issue here is, "What is that movement phase?"

My interpretation is that it is the movement phase in which you are trying to disembark.

Your interpretation is that it's the player turn in which your vehicle has moved.

Other people's interpretations could be that it's in the game turn in which your vehicle has moved.

The rules don't say player turn, and they don't same game turn. Unless they say game turn or player turn, then the rules don't apply to that broad of a scope, and that's why you can disembark in subsequent phases. The rules for assaulting a vehicle clearly state things like "In the previous turn". This rule has no such exceptions or allowances.

I've said my peace, and I've clearly explained my position (most clearly in the quote below). Unless someone has fresh, new arguments that don't include "It doesn't say only your movement phase!", while utterly and totally ignoring the fact and irony that it doesn't say that it includes anything other than your movement phase, this will be my final post.


That's the problem. You're adding [of the turn]. You really should be saying "in THAT movement phase" period. Is it that movement phase (the phase itself) anymore? No - then you may disembark.

Here are a several different ways to interpret this sentence. I can understand where the first 2 or 3 stances are coming from, however, I believe the first one to be most correct.
1. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
2. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [turn's] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
3. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game turn's] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
4. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game's first] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
5. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [game's last] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.
6. if the fast transport vehicle moves flat out in that [anything you want here] movement phase (in which you want or need to disembark), units inside may not disembark.

The rules do not tell us to add further qualifiers (turn, game turn), therefore we must look to what it says, which is "in that movement phase". Adding any other modifiers, whatsoever, is not following what is written.

Again I pose the question, if it's not limited to your movement phase, why is it limited to your player turn? Why isn't it limited to your whole game turn? The most logical reading of this sentence is to take what is written and not add any additional qualifiers.


But you still haven't answered my question.

If you are not trying to disembark in a Movement phase, how can the rule be referencing "the movement phase in which you are disembarking"?

 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




Fearspect wrote:So by that same logic, Rephistorch, if you shoot at a target just once in a game, for the whole game your unit is restricted to only assaulting that one target?


I would definitely say not, although the wording is fairly similar. To me the main difference is their choice of using the phrase "in that movement phase". That has to be referring to something, and I've been interpreting it to mean "that" particular movement phase in which the unit is trying to disembark. This paragraph says, "in the shooting phase", and "previously shot at" confirming that the action happened in a different phase... However, I do see more clearly the validity of thinking "that" movement phase could be referring to the turn's movement phase.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
BeRzErKeR wrote:

But you still haven't answered my question.

If you are not trying to disembark in a Movement phase, how can the rule be referencing "the movement phase in which you are disembarking"?


Then the rule doesn't apply. If it's not the movement phase in which you are disembarking, there is no restriction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/24 04:37:13


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"in that movement phase" refers to the movement phase of that turn.

They specified movement phase, and not just "in that phase"

Had they said "in that phase" it would work like you said rep, but they specify that movement phase so it can only be read as that turns movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/24 05:14:02


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: