Switch Theme:

Angry Russian Dude Shoots Metal Bird, Causes Riot.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Just to make sure I'm not cheating here:

If I put a unit (let's say 4 pallies with psychotrokes and draigo) in a Storm Raven, and my army also includes Karamazov, can I do the following?

On turn one, I move my storm raven flat-out toward target of my choice.
In shooting, I fire the Storm Raven's gun via PotMS.
Then I shoot the Raven with a Strength 10, AP 1 lance from Karamazov, resulting in a wreck/destroyed result (for the sake of argument).
According to the INAT, I'm pretty sure Draigo+squad can now assault, as Ravens are Assault Vehicles.


1. Is this legal without INAT?
2. Is this legal with INAT?
3. Would you try this tactic in a game?

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You aren't allowed to disembark on a turn you moved flat out, so the models inside will be destroyed.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

There are a few things wrong with your situation.

#1 If a transport that moves flat out is destroyed in the same turn that it went flat out, everyone embarked is destroyed.

#2 you can not assault if the transport you were in moved flat out even with the assault vehicle rule.


However the following is 100% legal:

On turn one, I move my storm raven flat-out toward target of my choice.
In shooting, I fire [one] Storm Raven gun via PotMS.
Then I shoot the Raven with a Strength 10, AP 1 lance from Karamazov, resulting in a wreck/destroyed result.

But as I noted all embarked passengers are destroyed in the situation you outlined.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 07:18:49


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Can you quote the relevant rules to back up your statements?

I found this one, but it doesn't seem to help.
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to any embarked models, as passengers may not disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/21 07:28:02


Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Page 70 in the BRB under 'Fast Transport Vehicles'

"Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase."

Kitzz wrote:Can you quote the relevant rules to back up your statements?

I found this one, but it doesn't seem to help.
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to any embarked models, as passengers may not disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.


They ruled it this way to prevent Fast tanks from tank shocking getting exploded and having the passengers assault that turn.

No reason they would rule any differently in the situation you described.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/21 07:44:48


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Auckland, New Zealand

theres nothing in the rulebook to say that units inside a destroyed vehicle that went flat out are killed, does it say this in an FAQ?

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/493046.page#5049916
I didn't choose the WAAGH! life, the WAAGH! life chose me.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

There are two rules we look at to determine that "units inside a destroyed vehicle that went flat out are killed"

#1 I posted above 'Fast Transport Vehicles' BRB P.70 "Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase."

#2 Disembarking BRB P.67 talks of disembarking and emergency disembarking and goes on to say "If even this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark."

Then we are left with a situation where models can't disembark, but they must disembark. and the FaQ is a similar situation, they must disembark because the vehicle was wrecked, but they cant disembark because of flat out.

So they are destroyed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch




From the wording it seems to imply if the vehicle was destroyed during it's "owning player's turn" then they would not be able to disembark. It doesn't clarify if this would continue into the next turn when the vehicle is attacked.

So if the "mad russian" blows up his own Storm Raven then the guys inside will die, however don't forget a storm raven has the "Shadow Skies" ability that still allows models to deep strike even when the model moved flat-out (such a thing would probably need to be utilized during your movement phase though to prevent issues).

If the Storm Raven was destroyed during the opponents turn then the paladins would simply exit the vehicle and take any required pinning tests.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/01/21 09:01:57


2.5k Suffer no Daemon to exist!

2.5k Sorcery, Sex and Chopping off Heads!

2k

2k Happiness in slavery 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

They problem with your current theory, DR, is that they are disembarking in the shooting phase if anything.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in nl
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





The Netherlands

Kitzz wrote:They problem with your current theory, DR, is that they are disembarking in the shooting phase if anything.

In the previous FAQ the "in a Movement phase" was "in a turn". This raised a lot of questions about what happened to an embarked unit if the transport was destroyed in the opponent's turn. This was not really a problem, because if unspecified, "turn" means "player turn." Apparently GW cleared this up in the current FAQ regardless. The current wording seems to imply that if the transport is destroyed in the owning player's shooting phase, the unit would still be allowed to disembark and assault afterwards because of the Assault Vehicle rule.

However, this is an FAQ, not an errata. It clarifies rather than replaces. So DR's reasoning is still valid. As stated in the rulebook, during a [player's] turn in which the transport moves flat out, units are not allowed to disembark, not even by emergency disembarking. So they are still destroyed if the transport is destroyed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/21 12:08:27


 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Again, the rule he rests his argument on only mentions the movement phase. It says nothing about the shooting phase, which is the phase in question.

That aside, my devious plan doesn't work for a different reason:

Q: Do any upgrades or special rules a vehicle has cease to work once it is destroyed? (p61)
A: Yes. For example if a Land Raider Crusader is destroyed by ramming an enemy vehicle, its embarked passengers would not be able to launch an assault in the ensuing Assault phase as they would no longer benefit from its Assault Vehicle special rule.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in nl
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





The Netherlands

Kitzz wrote:Again, the rule he rests his argument on only mentions the movement phase. It says nothing about the shooting phase, which is the phase in question.

You are confusing rule and FAQ. The rule is on page 70 of the Rulebook (section "Fast Transport Vehicles"). The FAQ clarifies that rule. The rule says you cannot disembark and still applies, independent of what the FAQ says.

In case of the Land Raider, the unit can still disembark, because they are able to disembark from a vehicle that has moved at combat/cruising speed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/21 12:54:53


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I'm guessing that "turn" was changed to "movement phase" because there are very. very.very few ways to blow up your vehicle in your shooting phase (I can think of 2, Chaos Dreadnought 'frenzy', and Karamazov, although I don't know what Karamazov's rule actually is, I'm going off what is in this thread.).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

'Fast Transport Vehicles' BRB P.70 "Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase."

If the vehicle moved flat out, Passengers may not embark or disembark.

I do not see how that is not clear.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

The old (now irrelevant) Vindicare could shoot down a friendly flier in the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

DeathReaper wrote:'Fast Transport Vehicles' BRB P.70 "Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase."

If the vehicle moved flat out, Passengers may not embark or disembark.

I do not see how that is not clear.


Right, but the last two words in that rule state that they cannot disembark in that movement phase. It does not say anything about the shooting phase. If the rule did not have "in that movement phase" then one can assume that you can never disembark. However with the last two words referencing that movement phase, you can conclude that the units can disembark as long as it isn't in the same phase that you moved flat out.

Of course it could also have meant to be read from only the players perspective, not accounting the chance that the vehicle may be destroyed. Just refering to what the player may do with his units.
   
Made in us
Sergeant Major






In the dark recesses of your mind...

This is taken from page 67 of the 5th edition rulebook: Emergency disembarkation - the models are deployed anywhere within two inches of the vehicle's hull, but the unit can't do anything else for the rest of the turn. If even this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark.

Page 70, 5th edition rulebook: Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase.

From the FAQ: Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to any embarked models, as passengers may not disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.

The storm raven is the OP's post is destroyed in the shooting phase. The FAQ and the rule from page 70 do not apply in this situation, since they explicitly mention something that happens in the movement phase. The rule from page 67 clarifies the issue in my opinion, but it seems to be where some of the posters are getting hung up. Some people are reading, "...If even this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark," and applying it to both the rule from page 70 and the FAQ, neither of which apply here because the storm raven is not being destroyed in the movement phase, but rather in the following shooting phase.

I think that the only thing that this, "If even this disembarkation is impossible, they can't disembark," is referring to is this, "the models are deployed anywhere within two inches of the vehicle's hull." If the models can not be deployed within two inches of the hull, because of impassable terrain or the hull being surrounded by enemy models/other vehicles, then they are destroyed. It has nothing to do with the flat-out rules.

As long as there is space to deploy those troops, and the vehicle was not destroyed in the movement phase, then the troops should be able to disembark via the emergency disembarkation rules.



A Town Called Malus wrote:Just because it is called "The Executioners Axe" doesn't mean it is an axe...


azreal13 wrote:Dude, each to their own and all that, but frankly, if Dakka's interplanetary flame cannon of death goes off point blank in your nads you've nobody to blame but yourself!


 
   
Made in gb
Zealous Shaolin




Happyjew wrote:I'm guessing that "turn" was changed to "movement phase" because there are very. very.very few ways to blow up your vehicle in your shooting phase (I can think of 2, Chaos Dreadnought 'frenzy', and Karamazov, although I don't know what Karamazov's rule actually is, I'm going off what is in this thread.).


An unlucky scatter result for a friendly blast/large blast will also do it
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Ignatius wrote:
Right, but the last two words in that rule state that they cannot disembark in that movement phase. It does not say anything about the shooting phase. If the rule did not have "in that movement phase" then one can assume that you can never disembark. However with the last two words referencing that movement phase, you can conclude that the units can disembark as long as it isn't in the same phase that you moved flat out.


Uh. . . no. It says that they cannot disembark if the vehicle MOVED flat-out in that movement phase; meaning, the movement phase of that turn. Nowhere does it restrict the 'cannot disembark' to ONLY the Movement phase; if they are somehow unfortunately forced to disembark in the Shooting phase of that same turn, they still cannot disembark and are still destroyed.


 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

BeRzErKeR wrote:

Uh. . . no. It says that they cannot disembark if the vehicle MOVED flat-out in that movement phase; meaning, the movement phase of that turn. Nowhere does it restrict the 'cannot disembark' to ONLY the Movement phase; if they are somehow unfortunately forced to disembark in the Shooting phase of that same turn, they still cannot disembark and are still destroyed.



Fair enough. My mind has fully processed the rule in question. I had read it in a different light. It literally states that a unit cannot disembark during any following phase if it has moved flat out in the movement phase. I had comprehended it as limiting to the movement phase. In effect, if it moved flat out, they will never disembark.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Ja.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

BeRzErKeR wrote:
Uh. . . no. It says that they cannot disembark if the vehicle MOVED flat-out in that movement phase; meaning, the movement phase of that turn. Nowhere does it restrict the 'cannot disembark' to ONLY the Movement phase; if they are somehow unfortunately forced to disembark in the Shooting phase of that same turn, they still cannot disembark and are still destroyed.


No, they changed to wording from destroyed that turn to destroyed in a movement phase.
There is no mention of the turn, the FAQ now is in line with the BRB (page70) the only restriction to (dis)embarking is in the movement phase.
BRB FAQ
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement
phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to
any embarked models, as passengers may not
disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in
that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/21 20:30:34


Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

SeattleDV8 wrote: the FAQ now is in line with the BRB (page70) the only restriction to (dis)embarking is in the movement phase.
BRB FAQ
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in a Movement
phase in which it has moved flat out, what happens to
any embarked models, as passengers may not
disembark from a vehicle that has moved flat out in
that Movement phase? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.


The underlined is not true.

There is a restriction on disembarking If the vehicle has moved flat out in that movement phase.

Look at Page 70 again, it says X may not happen IF Y has or is going to happen in that movement phase.

Lets break down the rule. It gives us a restriction on disembarking (Passengers may not disembark). It gives us a type of vehicle the restriction applies to (from a fast vehicle). It gives a condition on the restriction (if it has moved flat out in that movement phase).

So if It (The fast vehicle) has moved flat out in that movement phase, then Passengers may not disembark.

'Fast Transport Vehicles' BRB P.70 "Passengers may not embark or disembark from a fast vehicle if it has moved (Or is going to move) flat out in that movement phase."




"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Fort Benning, Georgia

Essentially, if the transport moves flat out in the movement phase, then the rule is saying that at no time during the rest of your turn, and the opposing players turn may the unit become disembarked
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

Really? sorry gents but that was the old FAQ that stopped disembarking in the whole turn.
The only part of the turn mentioned in the new FAQ is the Movement phase.
The only part of the turn mentioned on page 70 is the Movement phase.
It fact the FAQ is only concerned with a transport being destroyed in it's movement phase if it also was moving Flat Out.
There is nothing that even hints that the entire turn has a restriction now.
Let the old FAQ go, it has no standing .
The term 'turn' (game or player) is not used and as such the rule only applies in the phase that is used, the movement phase.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

SeattleDV8 wrote:The only part of the turn mentioned on page 70 is the Movement phase.
The term 'turn' (game or player) is not used and as such the rule only applies in the phase that is used, the movement phase.


Again, read the breakdown.

The line that says "if it has moved flat out in that movement phase" It refers to the vehicle that has moved flat out in that movement phase and nothing more.

So if a fast vehicle has moved flat out in that movement phase, then the Passengers may not disembark.


The FaQ says passengers can not assault if you wreck your vehicle in the movement phase.

No reason to think otherwise about the shooting phase.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Juggernaut





Australia

Why would you try to blow up your storm raven anyway?

That alot of pts to waste.

Dark Eldar- 1500pts Completed
Grey Knights- 1500pts 1 Guy done
Chaos Daemons- Approx 5000pts
Slaanesh Daemons- 1500pts, in progress
Khorne Daemons- 1500pts, in progress
Death Korps of Krieg- Plans being formulated.
---------------------------------------------------
High Elves- Approx 2000pts
Vampire Counts- Raising the dead once more 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DR has the correct breakdown

Of course you have to add a subliminal "that turn" into the BRB, as otherwise technically you cannot ever disembark....
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

But, nos, if you do, what's to prevent me from thinking the "subliminal" part applies to the entire game? You're just interpreting the rule and adding an arbitrary timeframe to what it says.

Now I know for certain that the assault part doesn't work, but moving 24" with a unit of pallies isn't that bad. Given that they will likely be able to shoot in that shooting phase, the question is still relevant. It's also relevant to scattering weapons that can potentially hit your own units.

As to why you would use this tactic, I think the benefits of positioning are fairly obvious. If this is used in a later turn to grab an objective by transporting a scoring unit, the scoring unit can also fire on whatever other unit is sitting on said objective.

Just because an old edition of the rules said one thing does not mean that the same rule applies. For whatever reason, they changed the FAQ. A change to the rulebook is not really that much different. I don't make the argument that I can use the old vehicle damage table system from 3rd ed or 4th ed just because the rules used to work that way.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

nosferatu1001 wrote:DR has the correct breakdown

Of course you have to add a subliminal "that turn" into the BRB, as otherwise technically you cannot ever disembark....

No, you do not add things to the rules willy nilly,
Especially when there is a timing stated.
The FAQ states when the unit is removed as casualties.
That is when the vehicle " is destroyed in a Movement
phase
in which it has moved flat out"
The rule now only is triggered 'in the movement phase'.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: