Switch Theme:

Stormraven blind spot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"Years"? It was released during the rules development for 6th. 6th didnt just drop from nowhere.
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

Perhaps I have missed something but there is no 3D shooting in 40k. Its all done on a 2D plane.

Technically the assualt cannon/plasma cannon/lascannon turret is a turret so is governed by the arcs for shooting as outline in the BRB so it has a 360 degree arc. Now we've established that, it needs to draw los but has it been established what blocks los in the rules? I'm on my lunch hour at work so don't have my rulebook but this topic interests me.

4000
WIP  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




WhoopieMonster wrote:Perhaps I have missed something but there is no 3D shooting in 40k. Its all done on a 2D plane.

Technically the assualt cannon/plasma cannon/lascannon turret is a turret so is governed by the arcs for shooting as outline in the BRB so it has a 360 degree arc. Now we've established that, it needs to draw los but has it been established what blocks los in the rules? I'm on my lunch hour at work so don't have my rulebook but this topic interests me.



Shooting isn't done in 2D. There are rules for a guns vertical arc in the rule book.

Isn't the main cannon on the thunderhawk an ordinance weapon and thus doesn't need LOS? I don't have the rules handy but I think it is. I also think the Storm eagles missile racks are ordinance large blast as well.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






WhoopieMonster wrote:Perhaps I have missed something but there is no 3D shooting in 40k. Its all done on a 2D plane.


So not right. There are horizontal arcs to all vehicle weapons...

Blind spots are reality... A storm raven can shoot the ground, just not stuff basically under it. It is not designed to shoot stuff under it. Lern2Maneuver.


My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






nkelsch wrote:
WhoopieMonster wrote:Perhaps I have missed something but there is no 3D shooting in 40k. Its all done on a 2D plane.


So not right. There are horizontal arcs to all vehicle weapons...

Blind spots are reality... A storm raven can shoot the ground, just not stuff basically under it. It is not designed to shoot stuff under it. Lern2Maneuver.



I was unaware that a 12" blind spot in all directions counted as stuff under it.

Hell, with it tilted down like I've modeled it, the blind spot STILL EXISTS, its just like 3"-4", which I agree, it probably shouldn't be able to hit.
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

nkelsch wrote:
WhoopieMonster wrote:Perhaps I have missed something but there is no 3D shooting in 40k. Its all done on a 2D plane.


So not right. There are horizontal arcs to all vehicle weapons...

Blind spots are reality... A storm raven can shoot the ground, just not stuff basically under it. It is not designed to shoot stuff under it. Lern2Maneuver.



The guy above you already pointed that out in a less troll like manner. I didn't say blind spots didn't exsist nor did I allued to having horrible problems with my Stormraven and placing it appropriately on the battlefield. But you didn't answer my second question. Which is what can block line of sight? Several people have stated a vehicle cannot shoot through its own hull. As daft as my question appears, does the BRB state that. The gun arcs generally prevent you from doing so, but obviously they failed to consider several units when coming up with them.

4000
WIP  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






WhoopieMonster wrote: The gun arcs generally prevent you from doing so, but obviously they failed to consider several units when coming up with them.


Yes... you cannot shoot through your own hull and there is a full page of about 6 color diagrams showing this fact. They show how many weapons stop being able to see LOS when they reach the edge of the hull.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





WhoopieMonster wrote: Now we've established that, it needs to draw los but has it been established what blocks los in the rules?

Yes, it's an established fact in the rules that you cannot draw LoS through your own hull.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






rigeld2 wrote:
WhoopieMonster wrote: Now we've established that, it needs to draw los but has it been established what blocks los in the rules?

Yes, it's an established fact in the rules that you cannot draw LoS through your own hull.


Established by what rule.
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

nkelsch, stop posting idiotic remarks and actually quote me a page that says I cannot shot through my own hull.

Those diagrams show your firing arc based on the type of weapon mount it is. The top weapon mount on the Stormraven is a turret, ergo it has a 360 degree weapon arc. So again please point out where it says I cannot shoot through my own hull.

4000
WIP  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Page 72, fairly easy to find in the rulebook.

So, again: it is tough that the SR top mounted gun cannot shoot directly in front at models on the ground.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






nosferatu1001 wrote:Page 72, fairly easy to find in the rulebook.

So, again: it is tough that the SR top mounted gun cannot shoot directly in front at models on the ground.


And the diagrams show that sponsons have MORE than 180 degree range, but are limited by where the hull actually stops the gun being able to see. You have the range of motion based upon how the mount can move and what it can see. The hull blocks this range of motion and range of vision.

This rule did not change since 5th edition. It is the same in 6th edition.

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Exactly. Nothing has changed since 5th and 6th in this regards.

The storm chicken can now shoot flyers, and Hurricane Bolters are now pretty good additional weapons, especially on GK vehicles.
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

Its not a sponson, its a turret.

The arc for turrets clearly depics that the Tank can happily shoot with its turret at models that are stood up close to its rear tracks without issue. The only no-fire zone for the turret weapon is clearly based on the length of its barrel, as you need to be able to draw line of sight (a straight line) to the unit you are shooting. So what blocks line of sight:

According to PG 8, the only thing exempt from blocking line of sight is its own unit. "Firing models can always draw line of sight through members of their own unit just as if they were not there". So a tank can shoot through its own hull, as it is a unit consisting of one model.

So unless you can find something that states I cannot shoot through my hull, I'm following the rules as depicted in the diagrams and as written on the pages.

Edit: A point to further back up my arguement, just take a look at pintle-mounted weapons. It has line of sight no matter what position the enemy models are in. I could position my troops behind the rear hatch of the rhino and according to that diagram it can still see me, thus it can still shoot me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 15:54:00


4000
WIP  
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Look at the picture for the turret mounted weapon again.

The gun can fire 360 degrees, but that unshaded area near the tank is a blind spot. They can't shoot in that area due to inability to hit it with the turret weapon.

that wouldn't exist if you could depress the gun through your own hull to fire through the side of the tank

By the logic that any gun capable of 360'' swivel being able to shoot through the hull, a LR lascannon sponson should be able to also.. Thay can't, as you can't draw LOS through your own hull, as shown in the diagrams.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:05:20


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

I see your point but that doesn't change the fact the un-shaded area its still the exact length of the gun barrel.

I will also repeat my point about pintle-mounted weapons as it was an edit.

A point to further back up my arguement, just take a look at pintle-mounted weapons. It has line of sight no matter what position the enemy models are in. I could position my troops behind the rear hatch of the rhino and according to that diagram it can still see me, thus it can still shoot me.

Let me make one thing clear, I do not and will not ever attempt to fire my tanks/flyers weapons through their hull. Its not in the spirit of the game. I'm just playing devils advocate here as I think there is room for abuse currently and I feel it needs more clarity is required.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:01:49


4000
WIP  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Whoopie - so despite the rules stating otherwise, you still think you can shoot through your own hull?

Fine, houserule if you want. That isnt the rules.

The Predator Sponson can physically rotate through more than 180 degrees, but it has significantly less than that in actuality.
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

The arc for a sponson is clearly defined as is the arc for a turret. The two are different. It clearly states where the arc for a sponson starts and ends, which prevents you from shooting through your own hull.

It does not however do that for turret-mounted or pintle-mounted weapons.

Nos, where does it actually state "Vehicles cannot shoot through any part of their own model." or words to that effect?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:02:54


4000
WIP  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

sudojoe wrote:So how do you guys play missles and rockets? air only? I'm kind of wondering about the Thunderhawk model as well then.




Totally Fethed cannon? You'll never get to shoot at anything other than another flier with a blast template?


Generally you're shooting that cannon at Super Heavies accross the table and shooting everything else and other stuff(super heavies can split fire)


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Considering that vehicles can shoot through members of their own squadron, it would be odd if they couldn't also shoot through themselves.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in gb
Assassin with Black Lotus Poison





Bristol

Surely if you shoot through your own hull you should immediately roll on the Vehicle Damage table?

Those shots you're happily blasting through your own vehicle have to be penetrating the armour after all, otherwise they wouldn't be able to carry on to hit the unit you're shooting them at.

The Laws of Thermodynamics:
1) You cannot win. 2) You cannot break even. 3) You cannot stop playing the game.

Colonel Flagg wrote:You think you're real smart. But you're not smart; you're dumb. Very dumb. But you've met your match in me.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"blocked by terrain or models"

Whoopie - reread page 72. Note "Arc of Sight". This is NOT the same thing as "Line of Sight"

The ONLY diagram which talks about Line of Sight is the classic predator diagram, which clearly shows the hull blocks LOS.

You can disagree if you want, but given you are required to draw LOS along the barrel, when you look and find you cannot see the enemy model you are stuffed.
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

The reasoning for which is that the rest of the squad moves out of the lascannon's way (or whatever) to allow for his shot.

Hull plates don't

This was specifically ruled against in previous editions for what little that's worth. Most players will realise that trying to shoot your left-hand sponson through the crew compartment at an enemt they can't see on the right of the tank is not a viable option, even if they don't put it in 4pt bold type and underline it


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Testify wrote:Considering that vehicles can shoot through members of their own squadron, it would be odd if they couldn't also shoot through themselves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:09:19


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

Good points well presented nosferatu1001. Thanks for being patient. As I stated I never intended to make use of my perceptions of the rule, it just looked to me like there was a potential loop hole to use.

I'm now on your side of the fence

Ascalam, I never denied its was idiotic notion, I just over looked the titling on the diagrams and mistook Arc of Sight to grant Line of Sight, leading to my misinterpretation of the rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:24:43


4000
WIP  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, as the Line of Sight diagram clearly shows

Sponsons can move more than 180 degrees. When attached to the model they cannot fire their full amount
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

You are correct, I was in the process of editing my previous post to reflect that when you obviously made your post.

4000
WIP  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





A vehicle "shoots like any other unit", except you draw LOS from gun barrels rather than a model's eye view. In the rules for LOS, does it say that a unit is considered to have LOS through itself?

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

It doesn't say they don't but as stated by nos, There is a diagram titled "Vehicle Weapons and Line of Sight" (PG 72) which explains how los works with vehicles.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/16 16:34:57


4000
WIP  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





WhoopieMonster wrote:It doesn't say they don't but as stated by nos, There is a diagram titled "Vehicle Weapons and Line of Sight" (PG 72) which explains how los works with vehicles.

It explains how you draw line of sight from the weapons, nothing about not being able to shoot through your own hull.
It actually explicitly states what does block line of sight - "terrain or models". The vehicle's hull is neither of these.

Pretty sure the shooting rules explicitly allow you to shoot through your own unit as though it wasn't there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/16 17:37:27


Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in gb
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries



England

If you could shoot through your own hull do you not think that left sponson would be able to draw los?

4000
WIP  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: