Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:25:10
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
Alexandria, VA
|
wowsmash wrote:Unless its a special character then. Well that stinks I figured they would fix that but I also figured they would let us choose a nob to be a "Sargent" type nob for the squad.
Did you miss part of the FAQ?
Designers Note: Wolf Guard, Nobz, Nobz Warbikers, and Crisis
Shas’vre that lead a unit (for example an Ork Nob leading Ork
Boyz, a Wolf Guard leading Grey Hunters) have the unit type
Infantry (Character).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:29:11
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
So, it looks like the Doom Scythe is pretty bad at AA, since you can only shoot the destructor and can't do anything with the death ray. Kinda sad since this was its primary roll in my army list, since anti tank is covered by guass and it only does 1 wound max to a monstrous creature. I guess its ok against terminators though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:29:30
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
|
reps0l wrote: wowsmash wrote:Unless its a special character then. Well that stinks I figured they would fix that but I also figured they would let us choose a nob to be a "Sargent" type nob for the squad.
Did you miss part of the FAQ?
Designers Note: Wolf Guard, Nobz, Nobz Warbikers, and Crisis
Shas’vre that lead a unit (for example an Ork Nob leading Ork
Boyz, a Wolf Guard leading Grey Hunters) have the unit type
Infantry (Character).
I think he means that one nob could lead a unit of nobs.
On the plus side, you can't challenge anyone in these full squads anymore.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:29:41
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ah but that address nobs leading boys not nobs leading other nobs.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:30:36
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Right, but where in the Nob squad entry does it have any model that has the Character subtype? It doesn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:32:07
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Yea now a unit of nobs cant protect your characters from challenges anymore. Looks like I have to up the size of my nob bikers now. Then again painboys are still characters I guess so that is something.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:34:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:37:22
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
Central Coast, California USA
|
Brometheus wrote: Rivet wrote:DE Incubi weapons are now AP2 as are Huskblades.
Didn't someone who interviewed Phil Kelly say that he said "Husk blade users will be very happy soon", when 6th came out and people complained?
That's my boy. Hope he does the CSM book justice.
Yeah that's because the DE players who are complaining wanted an AP2 option. Specifically there was a large body of voices who wanted agonizers to have the AP2 so their wyches could mow down Terminators. Instead GW upped the Huskblade option and the Incubi weapons. Problem solved IMO, but I'm sure you'll stll find a storm of tears if you look for it.
|
THE FUN HAS BEEN DOUBLED!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:38:07
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
Mmmmmm, Demolisher Heavy Flamer BBQ
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:38:53
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
morgendonner wrote:So am I right in understanding that tesla no longer arcs to flyers since only things that roll to hit work now?
It was really fun to shoot fateweaver and just arc to the entire rest of the army :/
I suppose so, since the CCB can't sweep attack a flyer either. The big question would be can you arc from a flyer to ground units. Heh. And why would it work one way and not the other.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:39:56
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Painting Within the Lines
|
Some of these are funny.
Q: Do hits by Tau markerlights, or other items of wargear that cause
hits but do not inflict damage, require a Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creature to take a Grounded test. (p49)
A: Yes.
Shoot it in the eye to blind it!
I wish they would have clarified if Seeker missiles hit fliers at BS5 from markerlights or still BS1
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:41:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:41:06
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Isn't the demolisher an ordnance weapon? So you'd still have to snap shot other weapons anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:49:56
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
crazyK wrote:Some of these are funny.
Q: Do hits by Tau markerlights, or other items of wargear that cause
hits but do not inflict damage, require a Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creature to take a Grounded test. (p49)
A: Yes !
That's asinine. There are no other words to cover how stupid that is.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:50:33
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:53:34
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
timetowaste85 wrote: crazyK wrote:Some of these are funny.
Q: Do hits by Tau markerlights, or other items of wargear that cause
hits but do not inflict damage, require a Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creature to take a Grounded test. (p49)
A: Yes !
That's asinine. There are no other words to cover how stupid that is.
You mean 'That's asinine' doesn't cover it.
As I said earlier, blinding pilots is a real problem in real life, not sure why it wouldn't be a problem with flying monsters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:54:22
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
MightyGodzilla wrote:
Yeah that's because the DE players who are complaining wanted an AP2 option. Specifically there was a large body of voices who wanted agonizers to have the AP2 so their wyches could mow down Terminators. Instead GW upped the Huskblade option and the Incubi weapons. Problem solved IMO, but I'm sure you'll stll find a storm of tears if you look for it.
This is the best option in that HQ characters get an ap2 at initiative choice that costs alot of points and additionally there is a dedicated unit that both visually and fluffwise should be able to take on terminators (with the added benefit being that the unit was rarely taken before). I'm glad that GW opted to side with reason and not the chicken little wailing that went on in that thread calling for a ubiquitous weapon to be ap2 for no reason other than they wanted every character to kill terminators and everything else with a one-size-fits-all weapon. Automatically Appended Next Post: timetowaste85 wrote: crazyK wrote:Some of these are funny.
Q: Do hits by Tau markerlights, or other items of wargear that cause
hits but do not inflict damage, require a Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creature to take a Grounded test. (p49)
A: Yes !
That's asinine. There are no other words to cover how stupid that is.
You haven't read the reports of teens/terrorists trying to distract/down airliners with handheld lasers? Automatically Appended Next Post: pretre wrote:As I said earlier, blinding pilots is a real problem in real life, not sure why it wouldn't be a problem with flying monsters.
Suspension of disbelief similar to how the proper way of killing a giant vehicle is by running at it and swinging a chainsaw at it with the oldest and most experience officer you have as opposed to pressing a button and killing it from 2,000ft away. I always attribute decisions like this to the fi part of scifi.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:58:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:02:04
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
Necronic Angel wrote:Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Is it just me or do these 2 FAQ's contradict each other? The first says auto-hit weapons auto-hit on snap shots, the second says auto-hit weapons can't be snap shot.
I agree that they do contradict one another.
I think what they are trying to do is differentiate between weapons that use the hit mechanic but just always pass the test and weapons that just don't use the normal hit mechanic (or explicitly can't be used as snap shots). Unfortunately that's not at all what they wrote.
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:02:53
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
They don't conflict. The first one doesn't give the ability to use snap shots to weapons that hit automatically, it just says that if an auto-hit weapon can snap shot it can still hit automatically.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:05:10
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator
|
ArtfcllyFlvrd wrote:Necronic Angel wrote:Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Is it just me or do these 2 FAQ's contradict each other? The first says auto-hit weapons auto-hit on snap shots, the second says auto-hit weapons can't be snap shot.
I agree that they do contradict one another.
I think what they are trying to do is differentiate between weapons that use the hit mechanic but just always pass the test and weapons that just don't use the normal hit mechanic (or explicitly can't be used as snap shots). Unfortunately that's not at all what they wrote.
They don't conflict because not all Snap Shots are directed at flyers. If a Vehicle Cruises and you Snap Shot from the fire point with an auto-hit weapon, you still auto-hit.
|
One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade forged in defiance of fate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:06:32
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
Kevin949 wrote:
Isn't the demolisher an ordnance weapon? So you'd still have to snap shot other weapons anyway.
SHOOTING WITH HEAVY VEHICLES: For the purposes of determining which weapons a Heavy vehicle can fire (and at what BallisticSkill),Heavyvehicles are
always treated as having remained Stationary.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:06:55
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
And the second one is direct relation to flyers and nothing else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:07:39
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
pretre wrote:They don't conflict. The first one doesn't give the ability to use snap shots to weapons that hit automatically, it just says that if an auto-hit weapon can snap shot it can still hit automatically.
So if the first statement doesn't imply that auto hit weapons can snap shoot, and then the second implies that they cannot snap shot, the first statement would be totally worthless. I think your interpretation doesn't make sense because it makes the first statement comepletely irrelevant.
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:08:02
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Anpu42 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
Isn't the demolisher an ordnance weapon? So you'd still have to snap shot other weapons anyway.
SHOOTING WITH HEAVY VEHICLES: For the purposes of determining which weapons a Heavy vehicle can fire (and at what BallisticSkill),Heavyvehicles are
always treated as having remained Stationary.
And ordnance weapons always require you to snap shot other weapons, it doesn't matter if you move or not. Trust me, I've gone over this with my monolith a bunch because I was so pissed that heavy didn't matter for it (in a substantial way, it does allow you to shoot all the gauss flux arcs if you move...whoopie!)
Here's what will really get you though, Vehicles have relentless...which means you count as stationary when shooting Heavy, salvo or ordnance weapons. But heavy does the same thing except it limits your movement speed. Kinda redundant...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 17:17:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:09:20
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
Ok, can someone clarify this for me;
"Page 15--Shooting Phase, Mixed Saves
Change subheader to "Mixed Saves and Characters".
Change the first sentence to read "If the target unit contains several different saving throws, or at least one character..."
So previously, if I had a SM Chaplain running around with an Assault Squad (All 3+ saves) and he was the front guy I would;
Make all the saves together
Use LOS to dump off failed saves to anyone within 6"
Now, from my reading of that change--it doesn't matter if they have the same save--as it states "or at least one character". So now I need to LOS before saves are made--even if they share armor?
Night Scythe got even better. So, it will show up--suck up a unit that is about to get charged--shoot you--then if you destroy it, they go back into reserves. Heh.
|
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:09:58
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
GreyHamster wrote:They don't conflict because not all Snap Shots are directed at flyers. If a Vehicle Cruises and you Snap Shot from the fire point with an auto-hit weapon, you still auto-hit.
The reason you can't use those other listed attacks against flyers is because they can't snap shot. If auto hit weapons can snap shot in every other instance why wouldn't they be able to against flyers?
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:14:20
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
Alexandria, VA
|
ArtfcllyFlvrd wrote: pretre wrote:They don't conflict. The first one doesn't give the ability to use snap shots to weapons that hit automatically, it just says that if an auto-hit weapon can snap shot it can still hit automatically.
So if the first statement doesn't imply that auto hit weapons can snap shoot, and then the second implies that they cannot snap shot, the first statement would be totally worthless. I think your interpretation doesn't make sense because it makes the first statement comepletely irrelevant.
You have to use a BS to fire a snap shot. If you can do this and you can auto-hit, your snap shot auto-hits.
There are psychic shooting powers that auto-hit, but have no BS and therefore cannot snap shot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:15:02
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
ArtfcllyFlvrd wrote: pretre wrote:They don't conflict. The first one doesn't give the ability to use snap shots to weapons that hit automatically, it just says that if an auto-hit weapon can snap shot it can still hit automatically.
So if the first statement doesn't imply that auto hit weapons can snap shoot, and then the second implies that they cannot snap shot, the first statement would be totally worthless. I think your interpretation doesn't make sense because it makes the first statement comepletely irrelevant.
It doesn't make it irrelevant if there are some specific exemptions that allow some auto-hits to be used as snap fire. Wall of Death for example.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:19:06
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
Los Angeles
|
Kevin949 wrote: Anpu42 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
Isn't the demolisher an ordnance weapon? So you'd still have to snap shot other weapons anyway.
SHOOTING WITH HEAVY VEHICLES: For the purposes of determining which weapons a Heavy vehicle can fire (and at what BallisticSkill),Heavyvehicles are
always treated as having remained Stationary.
And ordnance weapons always require you to snap shot other weapons, it doesn't matter if you move or not. Trust me, I've gone over this with my monolith a bunch because I was so pissed that heavy didn't matter for it.
So it's a win for the Executioner and Exterminator most of all, and a smallish boost to the Punisher. Adding Pask and 3 HB to a Punisher gives you 29 shots at BS4. Expensive, but interesting.
|
5000
2000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:20:31
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Kevin949 wrote:...I suppose so, since the CCB can't sweep attack a flyer either...
Am I missing something, what disallows them from doing so?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:22:24
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
pretre wrote:
It doesn't make it irrelevant if there are some specific exemptions that allow some auto-hits to be used as snap fire. Wall of Death for example.
I guess, but there are already very clear rules around that exception. And flamers are template weapons which have their own rules to hit, they are not normal shooting attacks that automatically hit.
I can't think of any other exceptinos in the rules, in codices or other FAQs where it explicitly says whether a weapon that auto hits can or can't be used as a snap shot. And the rulebook explicitly states the things that cannot be used as snap shots and IIRC it says nothing about auto hit weapons. So then the first statement only makes sense to me if they can actually snap shoot. But then that doesn't fit with the second statement which excludes all of those attacks because they can't be used as snap shots.
I don't know what the true intent was, but I don't think it's clear at all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 17:24:53
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:32:06
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
I wanna go back to New Jersey
|
Target Lock's back online.
|
bonbaonbardlements |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:32:17
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Since I'm one of the few templars players.
Q: Must the ‘Consolidate move’ towards the enemy for Righteous Zeal
be made in full? (p23)
A: Yes.
Q: Is the Abhor the Witch, Destroy the Witch vow taken instead of
normal Deny the Witch rolls? (p25)
A: Yes
Blarg...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|