Switch Theme:

Does a vehicle Destroyed - Exploded result affect embarked troops in a nearby transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Demogerg wrote:RAW I would say no, SL is not a shooting attack, and IMO by RAW you can only claim cover saves vs shooting.

HWIPI Sure, take a cover save, its a game, and if im playing doom its probly not a competitve one in a tournament where it makes any difference.


visavismeyou wrote:
Per our PMs Zain, you already know my response, but I'll just respond for its own sake. As I understand it, if the squad is within 6 inches of the DoM then RAW dictates they take wounds with no cover saves.

HWIPI: If it was my DoM and my opponent flips out, I'd yield and give a 4+ cover save, but I would make sure to explain that the there is no precedence in the RAW to justify that save; since I dont own a single tyranid model, if my opponent egg drops a DoM next to my LRC I would play it with no cover save.



Well, by the RAW Spirit Leech causes wounds to a unit and the rules don't tell us what to do with wounds that are caused to a unit outside of the normal process of shooting or assault.


So if we can make the leap to use the shooting casualty wounds to resolve Spirit Leech wounds against a unit it doesn't seem like such a bizarre compromise in the case of Spirit Leech to replace "firer" with "freaky creature causing magic wounds on enemy units" when it comes to determining if a unit being affected gets a cover save or not in the rules for cover saves.


Or if someone wants to be a stickler about playing with the 'RAW' in this case then Spirit Leech causes wounds on enemy units and...

...nothing happens to the units, as there are no rules for what to do with these wounds.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Well, by the RAW Spirit Leech causes wounds to a unit and the rules don't tell us what to do with wounds that are caused to a unit outside of the normal process of shooting or assault.


So if we can make the leap to use the shooting casualty wounds to resolve Spirit Leech wounds against a unit it doesn't seem like such a bizarre compromise in the case of Spirit Leech to replace "firer" with "freaky creature causing magic wounds on enemy units" when it comes to determining if a unit being affected gets a cover save or not in the rules for cover saves.


Or if someone wants to be a stickler about playing with the 'RAW' in this case then Spirit Leech causes wounds on enemy units and...

...nothing happens to the units, as there are no rules for what to do with these wounds.


I know that SL is said to be the first ability to cause wounds indiscriminately to 'units' within a range. That caused the vehicle-borne unit controversy. That lead to the leap you are referring to in the INAT FAQ that vehicle borne troops get saves. If that leap is being made, it made me wonder why the folks involved in that decision hadn't made the same with 'out of LOS' targets with the PSA/shooting wound resolution that's being used.

Personally, I would have thought the embarked troops getting hit would use the same rules as non-embarked in a similar situation (armor in the way)

I understand the potential paradox or rules hole that you folks were attempting to address by using shooting wound resolution rules.

Thanks for the response Yakface.

Zain~

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/10 22:51:38


Zain~

http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




yakface wrote:Well, by the RAW Spirit Leech causes wounds to a unit and the rules don't tell us what to do with wounds that are caused to a unit outside of the normal process of shooting or assault.


So if we can make the leap to use the shooting casualty wounds to resolve Spirit Leech wounds against a unit it doesn't seem like such a bizarre compromise in the case of Spirit Leech to replace "firer" with "freaky creature causing magic wounds on enemy units" when it comes to determining if a unit being affected gets a cover save or not in the rules for cover saves.


Or if someone wants to be a stickler about playing with the 'RAW' in this case then Spirit Leech causes wounds on enemy units and...

...nothing happens to the units, as there are no rules for what to do with these wounds.


Up until this point Yak I've read everything you have said on this thread and been in complete agreement. I would like to identify two relevant points: 1) If the paradox that you describe actually exists then I think there would be a better way to resolve this apparent paradox, to be described below; 2) if there is in fact no paradox and it only appears to be a paradox, then we ought to play as if there is no paradox and follow the rules as written.

Preface: How I prefer to look at rules in order to understand them more clearly is to think of them as the lines of a program. I know this doesn't work for everyone, but this is how I see them. When there is a sufficiently devastating error in the code the program fails or does not compute properly and has an unexpected result.

1) If the paradox does exist then we need to deal with it properly. The first step in dealing with a paradox is to identify exactly what that paradox is. What I see as your proposed paradox is that Spirit Leech is an ability which mirrors every step of the rules the same as many other abilities but then instead of looking at a model in range to wound it looks for a unit in range to wound and every other ability which could act as a precedent to help us understand how to resolve these wounds requires the wound-recipient be in line of sight or otherwise receive a cover save. Since this ability commits wounds on every non-vehicle enemy unit in range it would appear that these units would not receive cover saves irrespective of traditional line of sight rules, however, every ability which is a close cousin of this ability all grant cover saves; since this ability cannot both grant cover saves and not grant cover saves, it is unresolvable and we must make a leap to the closest reasonable resolution.

You have identified that the 'closest reasonable resolution' is to grant them a cover save and call it a day; I think that it would be more reasonable to abide by the principle that adding conditions to the existing codex entry requires a large burden of proof and simply resolving the entry 'as is' to its closest logical resolution ought to be the default step. Thus, if you think that a paradox does exist, you ought to use the default reading of the relevant rules instead of creating and adding conditions.

2) I, however, would like to posit that there is no paradox. I see this as only a suspected paradox and that a closer analysis of the word, "every" clears the air. In the DoM codex entry it states: "every... unit within 6 inches". The universal quantifier used here quite clearly states that "all units that pass certain conditions take wounds". If the unit passes the following conditions, it receives x number of wounds:

a) Within 6 inches
b) Non-Vehicular (id est, actually have the 'wound' characteristic) unit
c) Failed 3d6 Leadership test
d) Enemy to the DoM's controller

Since the "all" quantifier was used, we would have to see that no cover save applies as there is no sufficient condition to require LoS in order to resolve this ability and this is not an exception or hole in the rules but instead is simply a rule unto itself and we must abide by this rule's 4 conditions when attempting to resolve the wounds. If the entry stated: "All units within line of sight" then I think it would be clear that they would receive a cover save, if it had some other verbiage that implied that line of sight was needed then I would concede, I, however, do not see such verbiage.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Vis,

I believe your post says all of why I was confused about the cover saves better than I was able to 2 pages ago in the thread.

I now believe that Yak and others weren't, by giving cover saves in the INAT, trying to make SL a PSA. However, the effect is the same if you resolve it in every other way like a PSA (except doing it during the shooting phase I suppose).

I think the potential paradox was less threatening to the fabric of the game then going down the cover save while embarked rabbit hole. EDIT: that is... if that paradox exists that is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/11 02:05:23


Zain~

http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Zain60 wrote:Vis,

I believe your post says all of why I was confused about the cover saves better than I was able to 2 pages ago in the thread.

I now believe that Yak and others weren't, by giving cover saves in the INAT, trying to make SL a PSA. However, the effect is the same if you resolve it in every other way like a PSA (except doing it during the shooting phase I suppose).

I think the potential paradox was less threatening to the fabric of the game then going down the cover save while embarked rabbit hole. EDIT: that is... if that paradox exists that is.



Thanks, this whole time we've been arguing in this thread, I was under the impression that the majority of people who thought that SL committed wounds on embarked units also thought that the unit did not get a cover save.
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





I'm glad you got some sort of resolution! I'm still trying to wrap my head around the cover saves, but I think GW will address it sooner than we'll have all of Dakka on the same page.

Zain~

http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: