Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/19 23:56:42
Subject: Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
@MGS: It seems like you're answering a question no one is asking. IG can take a Leman Russ Battle Squadron of 1 containing a Leman Russ Battle Tank. That's not the same as taking a Leman Russ Battle Tank. No one cares whether it's a "unit" or not, it's not called the same thing.
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/19 23:57:23
Subject: Re:Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:A squadron of one vehicle cannot be a squadron by the very definition of a squadron in the rulebook, the very defining rules that bind squadrons do not apply to individual vehicles.
I think you need to check your rulebook again. As you can see, a Squadron that has 1 vehicle only reverts to the rules for Individual vehicles if it is shot by the enemy. This applies to vehicles that have a Squadron size of 1 at the start, because they are still a squadron of potentially 1-# models. Not to mention the Unit name is "Leman Russ Squadron" not "Leman Russ Squadron unless you only have one then I guess we could change the name to something else".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/19 23:57:38
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/19 23:57:30
Subject: Re:Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:A squadron of one vehicle cannot be a squadron by the very definition of a squadron in the rulebook, the very defining rules that bind squadrons do not apply to individual vehicles.
Sure they do. BRB - "If a squadron consists of a single vehicle..." That's clearly stating that a squadron can consist of a single vehicle. Where is the disconnect? DoW EDIT: Rats. It appears that Gwar! is just too fast.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/19 23:59:23
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/20 00:08:31
Subject: Re:Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:But does it form it's own unit called "Leman Russ Battle Tank"?
No, it does not. It forms a 1 Vehicle Squadron Called "Leman Russ Squadron" that consists of a Leman Russ Battle Tank and remains a squadron until such time as the criteria for the removal Squadron status is fulfilled. As such, it does not fufil the criteria laid out in the WH/DH codex. This is a result of the edition changes.
As a Wise man once said:
S*** Happens, deal with it.
If a tactical squad is reduced to one man, it is a tactical marine. It ceases to be a squad when there is only one guy, you refer to it in the singular. A lone tank cannot make a squadron, it can certainly be a unit, but 1 Leman Russ Battle Tank, is not Leman Russ Squadron, it is not subject to the rules as such. The heading you refer to and cite as proof is a catch all heading for the Leman Russ family of tanks, each is defined, each has stats and points that are separate. The unit of 1 Leman Russ Battle Tank is a viable creation from the list provided, it counts under the rules as a Unit, one unit of one Leman Russ Battle Tank. We have already established that differentiating on the subject of the word Squadron is a red herring. Squadron = Unit = 0-1 Unit of Leman Russ Battle Tank.
The choice remains valid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/20 00:11:30
Subject: Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
MGS, I'm afraid I can't agree here. The last marine is still tactical squad.
The argument needs to be that the rules allow for some entity known as a Leman Russ Battle Tank. The Leman Russ Squadron includes that, and as long as a single LRBT is the only element taken, taking a leman russ squadron should be allowed to WH/DH.
The question really comes down to what's more important: the literal wording of the rules or the actual content of those rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/20 00:12:29
Subject: Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Titles of units aren't open to interpretation. They are what they are. I don't know why you would think they could be called anything but what is printed.
Here's a fun way of putting it: Why would GW need to rule it that way for Ard Boyz if it was so obvious?
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/20 00:12:32
Subject: Re:Can I Get a Leman Russ in my Witch/DeamonHunters army?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
MeanGreenStompa wrote:It matters a great deal to me that certain people lord it up around here with the notion that they have some divine link to the writers of this game and can interpret this as 'truth'. I don't like gurus. Especially when they are wrong and especially when they are wrong and don't even have the balls to admit they are wrong.
Leman Russ Battle Tank = one of the choices of leman russ for a squadron (squadron, a type of fething UNIT), also available as a 0-1 tank choice for the owners of DH and WH armies everywhere, subject to Lumbering Behemoth rule, can use the upgrades listed for the leman russ battle tank as listed as one of the leman russ squadron choices.
I cannot accept I technically can't take one since I technically fething can, the WH codex, the imperial guard codex, the daemonhunter codex and the motherloving rulebook clearly state it a viable choice. The dreamed up little prohibitive loophole that has been touted here is total nonsense designed with no further use than wasting peoples time and giving the illusion certain individuals are fonts of all knowledge.
MeanGreenStompa, this thread has been repeatedly reported, and in the judgment of this Moderator, you escalated the disagreement into flames and personal attacks. This is a warning. I know you normally do a better job of avoiding such bad practices, but that does not mean I can overlook this one. I also recognize and appreciate that later in the thread you made a genuine effort to get back on track. Thank you for that.
On a more general note, stick a fork in it, this thread is done. Anyone curious for the outcome should look at DogofWar's lovely summary toward the end, which shows up on page 7 for me.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|