Switch Theme:

Can someone ezplain teleport homers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





how exactly do they work. it says the model with the homer must be on the board at the start of the turn.

So my opponent is playing greyknights, and he has a unit in reserves the leader of that unit has a teleport homer. He says he can just place them anywhere he wants because there leader has a teleport homer, i asked how does he get onto the board without himself homing onto someone? he says he just teleports onto the board and his squad follows, because of the homer.

so he wants to bring them on the board via teleporting... does the leader have to drop pod in? and then scatter as normal or does he just teleport onto the map with his squad around him and dosnt scatter?
   
Made in us
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot



Whitebear lake Minnesota.

your opponent is either dumb or cant read. to use a teleport homer that leader has to be on the table already not teleport in with his squad. if hes on the table already then yes they poop down by him but if hes not on the table the squad will have to role 2d6(i think) plus scatter die.

2500-3000pts
1500pts
750pts

2500pts Bretonnians 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Thats what i thought but im not one to argue a rule for 20 minutes while hte games at a stand still.

So just to clear this up he has a unit in reserves with a teleport homer on there leader... this does nothing at all because the leader isnt on the board and is attempting to teleport in with them. They would have to drop pod in as normal if its available for them, and then scatter as normal.
   
Made in us
Uhlan





My gut reaction is no, of course not, that's just silly, you must roll for scatter unless DSing in range of a pre exsisting homer.
But, Codex: DH pg 18 "Teleport homers produce a signal that can be locked onto by teleporting troops. If the template used by the teleporting Grey Knights to make the Deep Strike is centered on the model with the homer, then they won't scatter. Note that the homer only works for the units who are teleporting. not for entering play using jump packs, drop pods or any other means of transport. Also note the homer must be on the table at the start of the turn it is used."

Ok, I'm not old skool enough to remember the template style drop, but didn't the first model need to be in the center of the template? If so that part of the rule doesn't jive with the must already be on the board.

I think that the home should use the 6" rule that the current homes do, since the template drop is no more. If that's the case, No the homer must be in postion before the start of the turn which would be before reserves are rolled for at the start of the turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/21 19:57:06


I play +  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





im agreeing with you both completely as i said i just didnt wanna argue about it in the middle of a 4k pt game. thats all. And i just wantd to make sure and have a reference from other players so i can have him get online and read this thread himself.



btw i appreciate the responses and the time taken to give them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/21 20:15:27


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I think the large blast template version of deep striking comes from 3rd edition. The requirement as simply to place the large blast template and then position the models in the area covered by the template. Note that models which cannot be placed under the template and atleast 1" from an enemy model would be considered destroyed. It's only a minor handicap that the template has to be centered on a specific model, although it may be incredibly ackward to do with a large squad

If he doesn't want to have a unit home in on the teleport homer then it's just the 5th edition deep strike rules as normal.

Whether you want to be charitable and allow your opponent to use a more recent version of teleport homer is a different matter all together.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





solkan wrote:I think the large blast template version of deep striking comes from 3rd edition. The requirement as simply to place the large blast template and then position the models in the area covered by the template. Note that models which cannot be placed under the template and atleast 1" from an enemy model would be considered destroyed. It's only a minor handicap that the template has to be centered on a specific model, although it may be incredibly ackward to do with a large squad

If he doesn't want to have a unit home in on the teleport homer then it's just the 5th edition deep strike rules as normal.

Whether you want to be charitable and allow your opponent to use a more recent version of teleport homer is a different matter all together.


well thats not what im asking

what im asking is the squad hes trying to teleport onto the table has a squad leader, that guy has the teleport homer, no one else on the board did, what im wondering is does the leader have to scatter as normal? and then the squad just lands on him, because he had no way of homing onto anything? or does he just show up and his squad teleports onto him? seems like mixed results so far hopefully someone will see it and chime in whos forsure.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

Yeah...
So there's no Homers on the table.

If the's Leader is attached to the Retinue then when they become available they all DeepStrike via normal DS rules (they're either ontarget or scatters 2D6.)

If the Leader and Squad are two separate units and both become available during the same reserves roll:
When you deploy the Leader Via DeepStrike he enters via normal DS rules (he's either ontarget or scatters 2D6.)
The Squad Can NOT use his homer and they enter via normal DS rules (they're either ontarget or scatters 2D6.)

The Leaders now on the board carrying his homer and Future DS units can use that homer from next turn.

You can only use a homer that's been on the table before the turn starts.
the idea is that all the squads appear at the same time, not one after another as we see during the game.
This applies to all homers and Icons etc...

PaniC...

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





thanks panic i appreciate it.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





Real quick addition:

I remember a debate regarding vehicles and TH, but what sure the outcome.

Can you benefit from TH if your carrier is in a transport, or does the model need to physically be on the table?

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





hrmm thats a good question i dont know.

id say hed have to be disembarked and moved away from the transport so they could all DS via the template rules. But im no expert yet.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





That wouldn't happen in the same turn then, obviously.

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

yeah,
I'm not 100% on this:
but i think it's ruled the same as the chaos icons, which say it counts as being on the table when it's in the transport, and the squad can be placed within 6" of the transports edges.

PAniC..

   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





I would think that it is 'figurative location' - and that would make sense - but how is it actually played?

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






According to the 5th edition rulebook, if you need to measure the range for anything dealing with passengers embarked in a transport (other than shooting) you measure from the vehicle's hull. This implies a Teleport Homer belonging to an embarked model in a transport can be used, measuring six inches from the hull of the transport.

"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





wow... easy peasy.

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Does this mean that ive done it all wrong by having a homer on my Grey Knight Justicar and Teleporting in my Termies next to him :O


Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





If he is physically/figuratively(in a vehicle) on the table before you test, you can utilize the homer... otherwise no

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
Made in se
Preceptor






a ghost town in Sweden

Harkainos wrote:If he is physically/figuratively(in a vehicle) on the table before you test, you can utilize the homer... otherwise no


I usually disembark him at their lines, then i deepstrike in the termies next round (if he's still alive that is)


Purge the Unclean! 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




I ask gw a few stupid Q's about these not long ago.
The teleport homer MUST be on the table at the start of the turn.
Having a pileof unit in reserve with them and one on the table does not let you use the homer on the unit to come in then use it's homer for the second unit and so on to make a conga line of squads.

May seem obvious but does not hurt to check what they mean by start of turn, which seems to mean the end of your opponents turn.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

Yeah,
It say you DS during the movement phase before you move any models.
So you can't move the guy outta a rhino and then DS a squad within 6" of his new location that way you just gained (stolen) inches on the enemy...

Only Homers that are on the Table on your turn before the movement phase even started count as active homers.
Homers that come down in the DS will not count this turn, but will be vaild from the next turn.

Panic.

   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine





So... being in a vehicle does or does not count?

Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...




"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: