| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/03 06:12:51
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Human Auxiliary to the Empire
|
With 'Ardboyz coming soon, some more Tau questions have popped up that I do not really have answers for. So I was hoping that once again you all could help me out.
1. Can a non-walker vehical win an assault? Tau vehicals can buy Flechette Dischargers. Their rule reads "Any model atacking the vehical in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of a 4+, with saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." So if a unit attacks a devilfish with flechettes and the devilfish causes more wounds does it win combat and force a moral check? On a related question, what if a squad of firewarriors and the devilfish are assaulted and the flechettes cuase enough wounds for the Tau to win combat? Are the flechette wounds counted? Are the disregarded?
2. Firing blast templates at stealth suits. Their Stealth Field Generator rule reads "Enemy models attempting to fire at a unit wholly equipped with stealth field generators must roll to check their spotting distance by rolling 2D6x3 as if firing at night" further more it stats that "Barrage weapons roll an additional D6 for scatter when targeting a model equipped with a stealth field generator." Now the questions: do barrage or indirect fire models have to roll for spotting distance to fire at stealth suits? Furthermore if the night fight rule is in play barrage weapons must scatter an additional D6 per the 40k Rulebook, does this mean a barrage weaopn fired during night fight at a stealth suit unit scatters 4D6?
3. Commander Farsight. His Dawnblade states "No Armor Saves may be taken from hits caused by the Dawnblade and O'Shovah (that's his Tau name)* rolls 2D6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armor of a vehical." How does this interact with the Necron Monolith's Living Metal Rule? Does one override the other? Second his Ork Fighter rule.
It states "Fire caste warriors of the Farsight Enclave train heavily in hand to hand combat and any Tau model in an army led by O'Shavah counts as having the Preferred Enemy special rule when fighting Orks." Does this apply to drones? They are Tau models the same way as gretchin are ork models in an Ork army, but they are not Tau in the same way that kroot are not tau for the etherial's rule.
Thanks in advance for your help with these. Also since these could come up during 'Ardboyz any page referances would be most helpful. I have my Tau codex, but my 40k Rule book seems to have wandered off, I will have to spend some time searching for it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/03 07:48:54
Subject: Re:More Tau Questions
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Zacarius wrote:With 'Ardboyz coming soon, some more Tau questions have popped up that I do not really have answers for. So I was hoping that once again you all could help me out. 1. Can a non-walker vehical win an assault? Tau vehicals can buy Flechette Dischargers. Their rule reads "Any model atacking the vehical in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of a 4+, with saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." So if a unit attacks a devilfish with flechettes and the devilfish causes more wounds does it win combat and force a moral check? On a related question, what if a squad of firewarriors and the devilfish are assaulted and the flechettes cuase enough wounds for the Tau to win combat? Are the flechette wounds counted? Are the disregarded? The rulebook is clear (p63) that there is no combat resolution when fighting against a non-walker vehicle. However, if the enemy unit charged both the vehicle with the flechette dischargers and a regular unit at the same time they could absolutely lose combat and there isn't any reason why the wounds caused by the vehicle wouldn't count wounds inflicted against the unit in combat. 2. Firing blast templates at stealth suits. Their Stealth Field Generator rule reads "Enemy models attempting to fire at a unit wholly equipped with stealth field generators must roll to check their spotting distance by rolling 2D6x3 as if firing at night" further more it stats that "Barrage weapons roll an additional D6 for scatter when targeting a model equipped with a stealth field generator." Now the questions: do barrage or indirect fire models have to roll for spotting distance to fire at stealth suits? Furthermore if the night fight rule is in play barrage weapons must scatter an additional D6 per the 40k Rulebook, does this mean a barrage weaopn fired during night fight at a stealth suit unit scatters 4D6? As written, barrage weapons still need to roll for spotting distance and if they fail they are not allowed to fire at the Stealths. If they roll enough to spot them, they still have to add an extra D6" to their scatter. I believe the intention may have been that the barrage weapons were supposed to be able to fire at the Stealth Team regardless of a spotting roll but had to add an extra D6" as the penalty for this freedom. As it stands now that's not what the rules say. As for when the actual Night Fighting rules are being used, the Stealth Generator rules state that no further effect is gained in this case so you'd just follow the Night Fighting rules instead. 3. Commander Farsight. His Dawnblade states "No Armor Saves may be taken from hits caused by the Dawnblade and O'Shovah (that's his Tau name)* rolls 2D6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armor of a vehicle." How does this interact with the Necron Monolith's Living Metal Rule? Does one override the other? Second his Ork Fighter rule. It states "Fire caste warriors of the Farsight Enclave train heavily in hand to hand combat and any Tau model in an army led by O'Shavah counts as having the Preferred Enemy special rule when fighting Orks." Does this apply to drones? They are Tau models the same way as gretchin are ork models in an Ork army, but they are not Tau in the same way that kroot are not tau for the etherial's rule. The Monolith's living metal rule does not allow additional penentration dice, so He would get 1D6+5 against the Monolith. This one seems pretty darn clear from what I can tell. The Ork Fighter question doesn't have a clear answer since GW didn't clearly define which units are 'Tau' in the codex (so the answer is it needs to be FAQ'd). I think most players and judges would play that Drones do *not* count as Tau models though.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/03 07:50:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/03 08:07:20
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
<Devil's Advocate>
Can you charge two units at once?
Is rolling 2D6+5 the same thing as getting addtional dice? Just because he's got more than one dice? it's not really additional if it's what he gets all the time. not like a meltagun where the extra d6 is a bonus.
I'd say Drones are tau 'models'...
</Devil's Advocate>
PAnic...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/03 08:38:30
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Panic wrote:yeah,
<Devil's Advocate>
Can you charge two units at once?
Yes you can, check the assault rules.
Is rolling 2D6+5 the same thing as getting addtional dice? Just because he's got more than one dice? it's not really additional if it's what he gets all the time. not like a meltagun where the extra d6 is a bonus.
Yes, If you read the Living Metal rule it is clear that you only ever get to roll one D6 for penetration against it.
I'd say Drones are tau 'models'...
</Devil's Advocate>
PAnic...
Like I said, this cannot be proven or disproven but do keep in mind that O'Shovah's special army rules prohibits Kroot and Vespid from being taken in the first place so it seems like the only reason for them to word the rule this way would be to exclude Drones.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/09 10:58:54
Subject: Re:More Tau Questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
yakface wrote:As written, barrage weapons still need to roll for spotting distance and if they fail they are not allowed to fire at the Stealths. If they roll enough to spot them, they still have to add an extra D6" to their scatter.
I believe the intention may have been that the barrage weapons were supposed to be able to fire at the Stealth Team regardless of a spotting roll but had to add an extra D6" as the penalty for this freedom. As it stands now that's not what the rules say.
Can you please explain to me very slowly how "as the rules are written" a basilisk can't fire at my stealths if he fails to spot them?
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/11 03:01:48
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
Ok I waited over 24 hours. So I'm bumping the question.
Enemy models attempting to fire at a unit wholly equipped with stealth field generators must roll to check their spotting distance by rolling 2D6x3 as if firing at night. If the models are not within spotting range, the firer may not choose to fire at a different target. Barrage weapons roll an additional D6 for scatter when targeting a model equipped with a stealth field generator.
Night Fighting
Roll 2D6 and multiply the result by 3, then measure the distance between the two units. If the distance between the firing unit and their target is higher than the total rolled, the unit cannot fire at all in this Shooting phase. Barrage weapons can still fire at targets in the dark, but if they do and fail to roll a hit, they add an extra D6" to the distance scattered.
Barrage weapons can fire at a target they cannot see, but if they do this, the BS of the firer makes no difference the the blast marker scatters a full D26" if an arrow is rolled on the scatter dice.
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/11 03:15:40
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
St. George, UT
|
The thing is as I understand it stealth generators are not night fighting, though I might be wrong. They have similar rules but if you fail to spot stealth suits you cannot shoot at them. Even with barrage weapons. Unlike the nightfighting rules that let you shoot anyway if the weapon is barrage, their is no condition in the stealth generator rules. The extra D6 mentioned for barrage weapons in the stealth generator rules is for when the unit has been spotted and you shoot at them. The extra D6 is tacked on to the scatter no matter what.
In short, as I understand it.
Unit is further away than spot distance:
Stealth generator - cant be fired at.
night fighting - Cant be fired at.
Unit is further away than spot distance shooting barrage:
Steath generator - Unit can't be fired at.
Night fighting - Unit is shot at, using full scatter distance of 2D6.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/09/11 03:19:39
See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:

|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/11 05:19:41
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sorry, I've been quite busy at work since I got back from Vegas.
Jayden seems to have it correct, the Stealth rules are similar to the night fighting rules but they are different.
The stealth rules state that if a unit doesn't roll enough distance on their spotting roll then they cannot fire at the Stealth unit. Although the Stealth rule has an additional penalty for barrage weapons (additional D6 scatter) the rules do not state that barrage weapons ignore the basic Stealth rule about needing to roll to spot them in order to fire at them.
So if a barrage weapon fires at a Stealth unit by the RAW it must roll enough distance to spot them in order to fire at them.
And also by the RAW even if the barrage weapon does roll enough spotting distance to fire at them the scatter receives an additional D6".
Like I said before, I do think the intent was that barrage weapons didn't have to roll to spot Stealth units but received the extra D6 scatter as the 'penalty' for this ability, but that isn't what the rules actually say.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/11 21:30:53
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
its a bit off topic but none the less it is a tau question. when can the drones from a devil fish detach?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/11 21:36:08
Subject: More Tau Questions
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Bradmammajamma wrote:its a bit off topic but none the less it is a tau question. when can the drones from a devil fish detach?
They can detatch during the movement phase.
|
Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|