Switch Theme:

Drop Pods versus Mystics  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
If I had an Inquisitor with Mystics next to a Devastator Squad with 2 plasma cannons and 2 lascannons, I would:
Allow the unit to shoot once at the drop pod
Allow the unit to shoot once at the squad disembarked
Allow the unit to shoot once at the drop pod and a second time at the squad disembarked
Allow the unit to split shots between the drop pod and the squad
Something else entirely that I will explain in length in my post

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dominar






How do you interpret the following scenario?

A drop pod falls within 4d6 inches of a Daemonhunter Inquisitor with a Mystical retinue that is standing next to a Devastator Squad armed with lascannons and plasmacannons. Based on the rule for a Mystical retinue, the Devastators can be nominated to take a "free shot" at the deep striking unit.

Rules for Drop Pod Assault (ellipsed):

"Drop Pods always enter play using the deep strike urles from the Mission Special Rules section of the Warhammer 40k0000 rulebook...A unit that Deep Strikes via Drop Pod may not assault in the turn it arrives."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/21 00:20:02


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




St. George, UT

The devistators can shoot at either the drop pod or the unit inside, but not both. It says that somewhere in a FAQ IIRC,

See pics of my Orks, Tau, Emperor's Children, Necrons, Space Wolves, and Dark Eldar here:


 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Oh really? well that'll simplify things nicely. Now, does the unit inside still count as deep striking?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

i would say once at the pod, simply as it is the pod that is deepstriking, the unit inside is pretty much cargo.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

This is YMDC?

Let them shoot at the Pod when it hits the ground, *then* let them shoot when the models disembark!

Also, your example is weak. You should assume a Guard army with at least 2 Demolishers supporting the Inquisitor.

   
Made in us
Dominar






Jayden63 wrote:The devistators can shoot at either the drop pod or the unit inside, but not both. It says that somewhere in a FAQ IIRC,


I could not find the FAQ you referenced. Could you please provide a link?

Thank you.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It's in the daemonhunters FAQ, It clearly says, 1 shot at either the drop pod OR the contents of said pod.

Q. Do Inquisitorial Mystics allow “free shots” at
units arriving by Drop Pod?
A. Yes. The shooting is resolved after the Drop
Pod lands and the passengers have disembarked.
Either the Drop Pod or the disembarked unit may
be the targeted, but not both.

Also the unit inside does count as deepstriking per the core rules which state under the deepstrike rules "In the movement phase when they arrive, these units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking transport vehicle" so the deep strike rules include the cargo.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






SoCal, USA!

Should still be double-pie per pod!

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Long Beach, CA

WOW this one is all over the place.

"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

2 mystics allow you to designate 1 unit to fire per 1 deep strike within range.

The drop pod deepstriked as did the squad. By the letter, I would allow the mystic to designate a shooter at each. That of course would be assuming the mystic made the 4d6 roll for each.

Now what makes sense to me... would be to have the drop pod fall and before the cargo gets out, let
the mystic activate and target the pod... if it blows up, take the exploding effects, the squad takes the
resulting casualties and pin test as it is forced to deploy rather than two shots.

The question is what happens first?

1. Drop pod lands.
2. Mystic roll and resulting fire.
3. Squad deploys.
4. Mystic rolls again and opens up on the squad.
5. Squad removes casualties.

or

As above but drop 4-5 because the squad deployed after the drop pod deepstriked.

or

1. Drop pod lands.
2. Troops deploy.
3. Mystic rolls and chooses which one he orders them to fire at.


2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

DAaddict wrote:
1. Drop pod lands.
2. Troops deploy.
3. Mystic rolls and chooses which one he orders them to fire at.



Per the FAQ(quoted by Drunkspleen), this is the correct order.

You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Not much left to argue since the FAQ covers it!

Amazingly this is how I have been playing it with my Guard. Albeit with two Inqs and two Demolishers!! Bwahahahahha!

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Wasn't the FAQ released prior to 5e? Still it is a good place to start.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


This situation is clearly covered in the FAQ. There is absolutely no need to even discuss it.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: