Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 11:46:29
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Came up in our game the other day :
Vulkan Heston was with the remnants of a tactical squad in some cover, facing off against some plague marines also in cover with a small amount of clear terrain between the two features. Heston left the unit and therefore rolled 3d6-- as he reverted to IC status-- as his player was keen to ensure he at least would get the assault off. He moved 6" and we then rolled for the squad. As it happened they also rolled a 6" move and followed after him. Now this took them within 2" of Heston so he had to rejoin the unit or they couldn't move that far/close to him..... right ?
Whilst this seemed correct from the book-- I couldn't find anything that prevents joining and leaving a unit in the same turn-- it seemed a bit "odd"
Opinions or thoughts ?
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 12:51:43
Subject: Re:character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Spawn of Chaos
Birmingham, England.
|
While it may seem odd its how the rules work for IC's.
If you are an IC within 2" of a unit at the end of the movement phase then you have joined that unit.
GMort.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 15:46:08
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Are you sure? I believe the rules say that if your IC is within 2" of a friendly unit you have to declare whether or not the IC is joining that unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 15:58:13
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You need to reread the rules. GMort is correct.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 18:06:40
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Plus, Heston would not get 3d6, he was still part of the unit until *after* he moves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 22:00:22
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
Maybe I'm missing something but why would Vulkan get 3d6? I thought difficult terrian was 2d6?
|
Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/21 22:09:52
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Independent Characters get the Move Through Cover universal special rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/22 04:30:42
Subject: character's joining and leaving units..
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
|
Good to also remember that if an Ic "Joins" a unit by ending its move within 2" of the unit, that unit may move no further that turn. This part often gets overlooked. Though those that overlook it usually don't try to move the IC again, so it is generally a moot point.
Meph
|
|
|
 |
 |
|