Switch Theme:

Another Land Raider question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Despised Traitorous Cultist





I am playing Chaos space marines and want to use the Land Raider to cart around my unit of Khorne Berzerkers.
If I take the LR as one of my heavy support choices (not as a dedicated transport) could I choose to deploy the unit of berzerkers inside the LR?

My understanding of this is as follows:

A dedicated transport can ONLY be deployed with the unit for which it was bought, but because I am taking the LR as a heavy choice I would be able to have ANY legal unit (chaos marines, noise marines, 1k sons, death guard, chosen, but NOT oblits, bikes, raptors etc..) be deployed inside of it.

What do you think??

Armies



 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Yes, you could deploy the Berzerkers in a Heavy Support Land Raider.
   
Made in de
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





Thats right, its not a dedicated transport so theres no extra limits on what starts inside it.


If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






There are no rules to support this however most people will allow it.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Drunkspleen wrote:There are no rules to support this however most people will allow it.

What do you mean that there are 'no rules' to support this? The rules for transport vehicles on page 66 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook support it quite thoroughly.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Ghaz wrote:The rules for transport vehicles on page 66 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook support it quite thoroughly.


Really?

Can you please post the rule that states that a unit can be deployed into a Transport?


Because as far as I've been able to find, we're given rules for embarking during the Movement phase, and for counting a unit as being embarked when kept in Reserve... but nothing at all that actually allows units to embark during regular Deployment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/15 08:52:21


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Insaniak has hit it on the head, the rulebook is unfortunately never explicitly allows deployment in a transport, dedicated or otherwhise. They only disallow deployment in a dedicated transport belonging to another unit.

This rules system requires something to be explicitly allowed for you to do it, but in this case it seems such a blatant oversight on GWs part that nobody would really attempt to enforce it and deny you the right to deploy units within transports.

Indeed GW even gives deployment examples of units being inside vehicles.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in de
Average Orc Boy





Would it handicap you in any way if you cant deploy units in a transport on the table?

You´ve won the 1st turn = put your stuff on the table and in your first turn put the units inside the transport and move the vehicle where you want it.

You´ve lost the 1st turn. After your opponent did his stuff, put your units into the transport and move the vehicle where you want it.

I cant see a disadvantage for you in both examples. Maybe even a little advantage for you. Because if you deploy your units behind the transport they cant be shot at in first turn and just the LoS blocking vehicle is in danger. So no one should argue against employing units in vehicles on the table. Except you want to use dedicated transports for units without dedicated transport option. But that wouldnt matter because of those examples above.
But maybe I´ve overlooked sth so if there is a mistake in my thinking let me know.

You see the morbid horror flicker in my eyes But rest assured, Im gonna help to ease your pain.
I'm gonna put a thousand tiny implants in your brain
I'm your boy, I'll make you undulate with joy
Cos I'm the Doctor  
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






DaDok: it's not exactly easy to hide all models behind their transports any more, unless they're all in Land Raiders. As soon as the enemy can draw a bead on any model's head, body, arm, etc, the whole squad can be shot. Then there are blast weapons to worry about (either scattering blasts or Ordnance blasts large enough to hit the models behind the targetted transport).

Being deployed inside the transport would give you at least a limited defence against those things, but you also risk taking casualties and/or being pinned if your transport gets destroyed.

*Shrugs* Looks like the advantages/disadvantages are about equal, to me.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






don't forget that if you can't start in your transport you can't get out and shoot / assault (assuming open topped) on the first turn.

Normally this wouldn't mean much but there are times where it will make a huge difference.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

DaDok wrote:Would it handicap you in any way if you cant deploy units in a transport on the table?

You´ve won the 1st turn = put your stuff on the table and in your first turn put the units inside the transport and move the vehicle where you want it.

You´ve lost the 1st turn. After your opponent did his stuff, put your units into the transport and move the vehicle where you want it.

I cant see a disadvantage for you in both examples. Maybe even a little advantage for you. Because if you deploy your units behind the transport they cant be shot at in first turn and just the LoS blocking vehicle is in danger. So no one should argue against employing units in vehicles on the table. Except you want to use dedicated transports for units without dedicated transport option. But that wouldnt matter because of those examples above.
But maybe I´ve overlooked sth so if there is a mistake in my thinking let me know.


Yes, it could handicap you. Example: Eldar Falcon. If you have to wait and get in then the Falcon cannot move over 12" during the movement phase.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

yeah,
It can also disadvantage you if you want to rank up your tanks, with no gaps...

Panic...

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

My bad. Missed the 'deploy' reference in the original post.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: